How often do you pump air for tyres?

Quantum

How offen do you pump air for tyres?  

356 members have voted

1. 1. How offen do you pump air for tyres?

• weekly
    • weekly to monthly
    • monthly
    • monthly to half year
    • more than half year

FYI: Autobacs is having a sale of the Crimestopper TPMS at $249, which I bought.

There are different types of TPMS, some require you to remount the tires as it has to be inserted insert the wheel.

The Crimestopper one is only at the valve with a small monitor which is powered by the ciggerate lighter. Its a small and light monitor which cycles through the 4 tires reading the pressure, so it only displays one tires' pressure at any time. Ok for the price and works well.

  On 7/4/2013 at 3:22 AM, Toothiewabbit said:

I was impressed with your lasting tyre pressure until I came to "nitrogen" tongue.gif

yeah... me too.

i was thinking, wah... what tires he using... so solid~! [laugh]

then the word nitrogen popped out~!

On 7/4/2013 at 3:34 AM, Kangadrool said:

If I don't drive for 5 days in a row, the air pressure sure drop. So, have to pump. If drive everyday, 3 months pump once also can.

Hi saw your response. I have this issue as well and has been wondering why. If you do not drive, tyre pressure do not reduce. Anyone can share the answer.

Depends, but normally within 2 months, & when I need to travel long distance. I do have the habit of checking my tires before moving off.

Its always good to have pre-drive visual checks on your ride before starting your day.

Usually i would check all 4 rubbers before starting my ride (i dun wanna tarik fumes).

Once in a while (perhaps weekly) i would pop the bonnett and use a torch light to check for any leaks and oils. Then will be a quick check under the chasis before starting my ride.

Sounds extreme and my neighbours gimme that "crazy fella" look but i dun bother.

I believe that if u take care of your ride, the ride will take care of your wallet.

I am poor man. I depend on my ride to make a living.

我靠它吃饭的...

On 7/4/2013 at 3:11 AM, Quantum said:

mine last 10 months

pressure 34psi dropped to 32psi,

nitrogen tongue.gif

I also pump with Nitrogen, 75% of it.

  On 8/1/2014 at 3:15 PM, Storm88 said:

Hi saw your response. I have this issue as well and has been wondering why. If you do not drive, tyre pressure do not reduce. Anyone can share the answer.

If you do not drive, tyre pressure would still reduce.

On 8/1/2014 at 5:15 PM, Daniellica said:

Its always good to have pre-drive visual checks on your ride before starting your day.

Usually i would check all 4 rubbers before starting my ride (i dun wanna tarik fumes).

Once in a while (perhaps weekly) i would pop the bonnett and use a torch light to check for any leaks and oils. Then will be a quick check under the chasis before starting my ride.

Sounds extreme and my neighbours gimme that "crazy fella" look but i dun bother.

I believe that if u take care of your ride, the ride will take care of your wallet.

我靠它吃饭的...

That makes 2 of us.

I also do what you do, bend down n use torchlight to shine below.....I know got passer-by looked at me, but I bo chap them lah. :D

我靠它吃饭的...

I do same way, no matter what brand of car, just because we love our car.

On 8/27/2014 at 4:53 PM, Lexuslover said:

Nitrogen & normal gas got different meh?

They're about 21% different, but who's counting?

On 8/28/2014 at 6:10 AM, Forte3737 said:

Nitro last longer than normal air.but most cars in spore use air because it's free

If the tyres are long lasting and requires frequent pumping of air, do that enough times, it will be mostly nitrogen inside.

Depending on application, nitrogen may not be suitable, even if it is free.

Usually i would check all 4 rubbers before starting my ride

I do not know why on and off I still do visual checks on my tyres though I experienced that an under inflated tyre (because of a nail) looks the same as the other. [cool]

  On 8/28/2014 at 8:59 AM, Kklee said:

I do not know why on and off I still do visual checks on my tyres though I experienced that an under inflated tyre (because of a nail) looks the same as the other. [cool]

Visual check is to spot if the tyres are almost flat, or totally flat. If so, got to change to spare below can drive again.

Yes. An under inflated (or over inflated) tyre will look the same as the rest. Only inserting a tyre gauge will let you know the difference.

  On 8/28/2014 at 10:50 AM, TVT said:

Visual check is to spot if the tyres are almost flat, or totally flat. If so, got to change to spare below can drive again.

Yes. An under inflated (or over inflated) tyre will look the same as the rest. Only inserting a tyre gauge will let you know the difference.

Under inflated tire should be easy to spot right? I see a few of my neighbors cars' tires under inflated. Very obvious as you can see the sidewalls bulging out and when they go over the hump the whole tire can compress.

  On 8/28/2014 at 11:38 AM, Nzy said:

Under inflated tire should be easy to spot right? I see a few of my neighbors cars' tires under inflated. Very obvious as you can see the sidewalls bulging out and when they go over the hump the whole tire can compress.

No lah.... below side bulge out does not necessarily means it is under inflated. Visually you can't tell one, must use a gauge to check it.

You can go pump your tyres to the correct pressure and see if the bulging is still there or not. For my tyres, it remains there.

And did you also observe the front 2 tyres are bulge out more than the rear ones?