How often do you pump air for tyres?

Quantum

How offen do you pump air for tyres?  

356 members have voted

1. 1. How offen do you pump air for tyres?

• weekly
    • weekly to monthly
    • monthly
    • monthly to half year
    • more than half year

Had been driving with run flat tyres for more than 3 months and tyres still ok. is this normal?

4th Gear

Driving pattern plays a part.

If always chiong over humps and pot holes esp in boleh land , air escapes. Just over 1 day a drop from 35 to 31 was experienced. On normal travelling, going over humps gently, only 1 point drop over 2 weeks. This is my case.

have a safe journey

4th Gear

OTOT,

your flat tyre means having insufficient air or totally no air?

Driving with under inflated tyres is dangerous if you go high speed, and cornerings.

your petrol consumption goes up too.

Had been driving with run flat tyres for more than 3 months and tyres still ok. is this normal?

Should be normal. I tried 6 months and still ok.

once u have a TPMS, u will see the fluctuation of temperature vs pressure vs time on the road

conclusion: the pressure is always different depending on so many factors.

so how?:

set a point of reference and follow it diligently, eg: Sunday morning before breakfast.

your car should be cold from the night rest. then pump according to the required, eg: 230, 240 and etc.

then next Sunday, go back to the station, pump the same pressure and notice the drop at the initial pumping.

my 2 cents

you mean you have not pump air to your tyres for 6 months, and the tyre pressure still ok?

once u have a TPMS, u will see the fluctuation of temperature vs pressure vs time on the road

conclusion: the pressure is always different depending on so many factors.

so how?:

set a point of reference and follow it diligently, eg: Sunday morning before breakfast.

your car should be cold from the night rest. then pump according to the required, eg: 230, 240 and etc.

then next Sunday, go back to the station, pump the same pressure and notice the drop at the initial pumping.

my 2 cents

Agree, although the "point of reference" is not for us to set. The manufacturers' recommendation is for cold tyres. So this is the minimum pressure that your tyres should have.

depend how you drive???

my dad never pump air into his tyres.....it was done only during servicing 6 monthly. Never had a problem...when i start driving his car, pump almost every month

Agree, although the "point of reference" is not for us to set. The manufacturers' recommendation is for cold tyres. So this is the minimum pressure that your tyres should have.

a numerical example,

when I start my car, all 4 tyres can be 235 kpa.

say I drive to airport, 20-25 minutes later, hit 260 easily.

you mean you have not pump air to your tyres for 6 months, and the tyre pressure still ok?

Yes. Went a few times to petrol station to pump but each time the pressure ok. So 6 months never really pump

i do it once a week....probably dun need to do tat....but it's a habit for so long liao, i juz continue....afterall, the petrol station is on my way to work, very convenient [;)]

wait till they start charging us for 'AIR' by cubic volume....see it that will help kill your old habit... [laugh]

once a mth is probably more then good enough....if driven daily, it does not need to be pump too often..

a numerical example,

when I start my car, all 4 tyres can be 235 kpa.

say I drive to airport, 20-25 minutes later, hit 260 easily.

Yep. That could be right, assuming the manufacturer's recommendation is 235kpa, or unless you know what you're doing and use something else.

BTW, the recommendation for front-heavy cars (e.g. FWD) is usually a higher pressure up front.

try my best to check every week.

on a side note, saw a 335i badly puncture rear right this morning. and still going at least 100km/h on lane 1 at PIE.

nowadays BMW must be really comfortable. [cool]

Never pump at all. Service my car every 6 months. presume they will check air pressure for me. Initially, I check my air pressure every month, then increase to 2 months, 3 months, later never check. Note: I still do visual check regularly.

My experience on my previous car also the same. With good tyres and rims, do not to need pump at all. I use normal air.

After reading your post, I feel better! Haha... I m not alone!!!

But normally my servicing is 4 mths once, thus do tyre rotation at the same time they will

Help me pump air.