LTA focus group discussion

Wind30

Dont be silly , Silly!

And dont turn it into some rich poor rivalry.

The system is far far far from a 5/95 situation.

Can head that way, darling :D

My company has offices in Tokyo. It's social conditioning. One does not upstage one's superior at work. Only the MD or chairman gets car and opts to use it to get to work. So if your middle manager does not drive to work, you jolly well don't. Office buildings don't have many parking lots too.

Weekend parking at city shopping areas is much higher than weekdays. Can be about S$10 per half hour.

Personal cars remain in the suburbs which the wives use to haul groceries or transport husband to and from train station. Cars not expensive to buy. But petrol, parking and inspection costs add up very quickly.

So compare this with the Singapore situation where the wannabes continually have to signal their progress in life with a new toy, or a flashy car. We have been dumbed down with the notion that conti is good. We must show-off our status, gain instant 'success' with a big loan.

Singapore is possibly the only place where conti cars can make profit of S$35k per unit despite slowing sales in the rest of the developed world.

OIC, that makes sense.

Re sporeans' love affair with conti as status symbol, well, they do it with open eyes, nobody point a knife to their head at the car showroom.... [:)]

What are the key objectives of this focus group session organised by LTA in 2013?

3 years down the road in 2016, what revamps have been made to the COE system?

Otherwise, it's just another wayang session and absolute waste of time and resources.

I was at a similar focus group a month back and someone asked the director incharge of planning the COE bidding mechanism if he had recently done any mystery shopping or even experienced buying a used car. He admitted he never had!

And he admitted also that the first feedback they seek are usually from the car distributors and used car dealers. Talk about sleeping with the enemy!

He doesn't know that distributors shove you to the back of the queue, and charge you more, if you come in with your own COE.

It seemed difficult for him to understand that allowing a loan to multiply one's COE buying power is the one main reason for the high bids. Most buyers find it difficult to come up with the $10k deposit required when self-bid (which indicates how much the COE can drop if implement pay-as-u-bid with full deposit of bid amount).

This brings up a wonderful point, that is, people should only buy what they can afford. Requiring buyers to pay COE in FULL CASH would no doubt bring down the COE... although the rich may still afford it.

We CAN solve this by not punishing the rich tho. We could categorize people according to their NEEDS.

For example, a rich person who CAN buy many cars(hence congesting the roads), should not be allowed to do so, hence it is neither practical nor considerate. Therefore he should have limits. A not-so-rich person who can't afford a car(under current sky-high COE circumstances) who has dependants(aged relatives, young children, disabled family members) would clearly benefit in life if given the chance to own a car at reasonable prices. It somehow gives hope to the nation la i feel.

Just my two-cents worth.

This brings up a wonderful point, that is, people should only buy what they can afford. Requiring buyers to pay COE in FULL CASH would no doubt bring down the COE... although the rich may still afford it.

We CAN solve this by not punishing the rich tho. We could categorize people according to their NEEDS.

For example, a rich person who CAN buy many cars(hence congesting the roads), should not be allowed to do so, hence it is neither practical nor considerate. Therefore he should have limits. A not-so-rich person who can't afford a car(under current sky-high COE circumstances) who has dependants(aged relatives, young children, disabled family members) would clearly benefit in life if given the chance to own a car at reasonable prices. It somehow gives hope to the nation la i feel.

Just my two-cents worth.

WARPED LOGIC. Our car population is at its lowest in many years now, right? Then why are our roads more badly jammed than ever? All because things like Uber let ppl who previously cannot afford it easy access to cars, so they drive around and clog up our roads!

A rich single man with 6 cars can only drive 1 car at 1 time.. a rich family with 10 cars.. mayb only 2 or 3 cars on the road at any 1 time. Now imagine 10 cars allocated to 10 average ppl. All 10 cars on the road and causing more farking congestion!! If u are one of those who kpkb about traffic jam all the time and yet want a "fairer system" so that more ppl can have cars u are a farking hypocrite.. thumbs down to u!

Cannot afford? There's always second hand. Cannot even afford that? There's leasing. Cannot even afford that? Short term rental as n when u need. And cannot even afford that? Pls don't bloody drive. If the coe system prices u our of the market it is working as intended.. suck it up!!

Families with disabled elderly or small kids have been doing without cars for decades.. Why so spoilt? Ppl these days made of tissue paper issit??

SO many places n transport modes these days are catered to the disabled anyway. Getting around without car is more conconvenient, isn't it? Try getting a disabled person into a car, it takes time and effort. Try taking a bus instead, they're all wheelchair friendly these days and your disabled person dosent even need to get off the wheelchair! Just let the driver cone down and help push it in!! Now tell me how a car is more convenient!

This i''s the sad sorry mentality of the poor who cannot afford a car.. Zzz...

'Nuff said

WARPED LOGIC. Our car population is at its lowest in many years now, right? Then why are our roads more badly jammed than ever? All because things like Uber let ppl who previously cannot afford it easy access to cars, so they drive around and clog up our roads!

A rich single man with 6 cars can only drive 1 car at 1 time.. a rich family with 10 cars.. mayb only 2 or 3 cars on the road at any 1 time. Now imagine 10 cars allocated to 10 average ppl. All 10 cars on the road and causing more farking congestion!! If u are one of those who kpkb about traffic jam all the time and yet want a "fairer system" so that more ppl can have cars u are a farking hypocrite.. thumbs down to u!

Cannot afford? There's always second hand. Cannot even afford that? There's leasing. Cannot even afford that? Short term rental as n when u need. And cannot even afford that? Pls don't bloody drive. If the coe system prices u our of the market it is working as intended.. suck it up!!

Families with disabled elderly or small kids have been doing without cars for decades.. Why so spoilt? Ppl these days made of tissue paper issit??

SO many places n transport modes these days are catered to the disabled anyway. Getting around without car is more conconvenient, isn't it? Try getting a disabled person into a car, it takes time and effort. Try taking a bus instead, they're all wheelchair friendly these days and your disabled person dosent even need to get off the wheelchair! Just let the driver cone down and help push it in!! Now tell me how a car is more convenient!

This i''s the sad sorry mentality of the poor who cannot afford a car.. Zzz...

'Nuff said

Oh dear u need to take a chill pill dude

#whysoserious

I am all for full payment be it coe and car price.

If can't afford full payment than car is a want and not need.

If "need" than one will be able to find ways to satisfy a need.

Seeing so many waiting for coe to drop mean car is a "want" not "need".

Simple theory. Hungry for eat food court. No money go 7eleven buy loti. You won't wait...till loti price to fall.

Edited by Kopites

Cars and COEs aside, I just found out that the whole of Singapore - as long as got road and carpark - is under LTA - even private property !

my workplace (pte company with own compound) just kenah warning for putting goods at the carpark and loading bays !

I am all for full payment be it coe and car price.

If can't afford full payment than car is a want and not need.

If "need" than one will be able to find ways to satisfy a need.

Seeing so many waiting for coe to drop mean car is a "want" not "need".

Simple theory. Hungry for eat food court. No money go 7eleven buy loti. You won't wait...till loti price to fall.

yes i am in for full payment too. no money to buy new buy 2nd hand no money for car buy motorcycle..no money for motorcycle take bus. no money for bus walk..

and someone mention a lot of people no 10k to self bid.. la tons of people got 10k.. its just that either most people are lazy to self bid, dealer pricing which make self bid not worth.. if dont even got 10k cash lying ard then really should not buy car.. even u got disabled parents to fetch, 10000 kids to send to childcare, office at jurong island... there are always other options.. if dont want to consider other options and want a car then find a way to make money to buy car. haha i might sound harsh 

Cars and COEs aside, I just found out that the whole of Singapore - as long as got road and carpark - is under LTA - even private property !

my workplace (pte company with own compound) just kenah warning for putting goods at the carpark and loading bays !

Haha, private property LTA normally boh hui , boh chap, boh quan. Your company must have a whistle blower to have LTA with so little resources come and bug you.

the whole stretch of road at the cargo complex is always jammed with trucks early in the morning ... why don't LTA go and kacheow the Customs Checkpoints instead ... since they always create the jams ??

but instead come and kacheow small fry like us ...

yes i am in for full payment too. no money to buy new buy 2nd hand no money for car buy motorcycle..no money for motorcycle take bus. no money for bus walk..

and someone mention a lot of people no 10k to self bid.. la tons of people got 10k.. its just that either most people are lazy to self bid, dealer pricing which make self bid not worth.. if dont even got 10k cash lying ard then really should not buy car.. even u got disabled parents to fetch, 10000 kids to send to childcare, office at jurong island... there are always other options.. if dont want to consider other options and want a car then find a way to make money to buy car. haha i might sound harsh

Usually ppl wif money like to act like they dun hv.

And ppl wif less money like to act like they hv plenty.

Full cash for COE + car = demand reduced.

COE premium plummets

\/

Budget deficit increases

\/

Pubic servants bonus gets cut

\/

Bank retrench staff

\/

Next GE opposition use as fodder to attack ruling party

\/

Another GRC lost

now.... who else still think that this suggestion is remotely possible? :D

Rather than everything also cash, why not juz implement use Singpass to bid for COE?

Other than open CAT, all other CAT has to use SingPass for bidding.

Rich ppl can always use open CAT.

Rather than everything also cash, why not juz implement use Singpass to bid for COE?

Other than open CAT, all other CAT has to use SingPass for bidding.

Rich ppl can always use open CAT.

dealers will then ask for your Singpass... not a good idea

That's why it is good lor.  Nobody will give SingPass to dealers.

Each individual has to do their own bidding.