Advices before long trip up north?

Loyjwe

Dun inflate but deflate 10kpa on your tyre pressure cause after driving for sometime the type expand dues to

hot air inside.

It depend if go at night inflate better, but at noon normal will do

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

No offense but a trip up north is not treacherous la. Just drive a road worthy car, bring passport and cash, ensure cash card has sufficient value, can liao. No need to prepare until like go battle. [laugh]

Edited by Ingenius

A big NO NO to deflate. You should inflate slightly more instead as a deflated tyre will create more heat buildup when travelling at higher speed over long distances.

Please remember you are travelling on the real highway now, not pseudo highway as in Singapore.

In Singapore I did the reverse inflate to +10kpa on top of the recommended in manual.

When doing a long distance run will send to WS and recommended to deflate.

I usually service my car 2 weeks prior to a long road trip and will inform the mechanic I need the car to be troublefree for next 1 month due to a long driving trip up north.

....bring many many MY$ just in case you need to siam your self from the 'encik" on the road block ..

cause they will just stop your car and said you do over 140km leh.....haiyaaah...

In Singapore I did the reverse inflate to +10kpa on top of the recommended in manual.

time to change workshop....

to deflate is one of the most dangerous advice to heel. Tyres are not balloons. Deflated tyres will bursts if under immense pressure and temperature.

Before my trip up, i inflate to 280kpa(warm tyres)

Why deflate? Pls name that WS so that we all can siam.

As per Hamburger mentioned of danger in doing that, just leave it as it is or +10kpa or 20kpa if you want.

To share, mine is always 250kpa (Front) and 220kpa (Rear) for 195/55/15 tyres on road trips in Msia.

to deflate is one of the most dangerous advice to heel. Tyres are not balloons. Deflated tyres will bursts if under immense pressure and temperature.

280 very bumpy right? I max at 260.

Besides the usual advise like check your cars etc...

If you are a newbie driving up north to Ipoh etc...one important advise.

Take a lot of breaks if necessary. We are not used to drive long distance and after driving a while...it can get quite monotonous...so dun be shy to let your travel partner know that you need a break.

And one last advise...

Since you are driving with Malaysian cars...suggest that you rent the toll tag thingy...like our IU. Most of the Malaysian cars have that...cos dun need to queue up to pay toll. Just drive thru. So if you using TNG...they may end up waiting for you at every toll booth.

Four things

1) Dont always assume the road is always correct as there is always discrepancies even for most updated GPS...try to remember some landmarks which will help in case get lost.

2) Check tyre threads and make sure they are not worn. The weather in NSHW is rain and stop and rain again. So you dont want to be caught in a skidding situation.

3) Check tyre pressure for recommended 240kpa all round before moving off. That is enough as air will expand on long drives it can go up to 260kpa.

4) Check engine oil level is between recommended levels.

Best is pump according to factory spec and when the tyre are cool. Unless anyone can enlighten the pro and cons or over or under inflate tyre

My tyre i think is 215/45/17. Any1 can share the recommended pressure? I am on 245 all round when i pump normally

Tyre pressure is usually car, tyre size/profile & expected car load specific. Check your car user manual. Tyre pressure for various scenario should be clearly stated.

No alcohol the night before trip

Leave early like 5am n go to 7-11 to get coffee and food

Enjoy your drive

I sometimes take a can of Redbull b4 e long drive. [nod]