Ahleon Neutral Newbie June 28, 2013 Share June 28, 2013 Try this Butterfly on Prat. Stayed couple of times last yr doing exhibitions in HK. New, nicely equipped and affordable. http://www.butterflyhk.com/eng/our-hotels/on-prat/index.php ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 28, 2013 Share June 28, 2013 It is on the other side exit. There are three entrances and exit at Metropark Mongkok Hotel. Standing at the lobby, facing the main road, that is the main entrance and exit. On the left will be the dim sum exit and tour buses park. On the right will be the wanton mee exit and to Prince Edward MTR. Next to wanton mee shop also got porridge and you tiao shop for breakfast. But me no like porridge so never recommend. But my wife n in-laws said the porridge was nice. Me only had you tiao and ovaltine. No milo in HK, only ovaltine and its damn diluted. Next to the wanton mee shop, got a small corner provision shop where u can buy ur mineral water cheaply. Its operated by an old man. Mineral water sold at 7/11 is damn expensive. We consume one bottle of mineral water per day. haha.. that's also where I buy the mineral water! didn't know it was supposedly cheaper! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rexxxer Neutral Newbie June 30, 2013 Author Share June 30, 2013 thanks all for the replies. I think will get stanford, Benito, or nathan hotel as choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 this one right outside women's market. heard about it a lot of times from my frens. Sometimes I stay at Stanford hotel. Novotel citygate right outside women's market? Sure bo????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 The Metropark Mongkok hotel room. Size was quite ok for two of us. Paiseh for the messy bed. Last day liao so did not bother to arrange it nicely. you room is messy only ... but my room had strange bedfellows ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 Novotel citygate right outside women's market? Sure bo????? paiseh its supposed to be cityview that's next to women's market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 (edited) Prudential hotel is expensive, sure out of your budget. Try Cityview hotel, it's within yr budget but the room is small Location is good though and got free airport bus straight to the hotel. I stayed there twice. Try these sites for best price: www.agoda.com www.booking.com www.hotels.com www.expedia.com www.hotelscombined.com Edited June 30, 2013 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 Can try booking Kings de Nathan hotel. Just booked it last week @ $129 per night. Location wise really not bad. Situated at Yau ma tei and mongkok. If you have many pax staying together, can try looking at renting apartments thru airbnb.com too. Cheap and able to experience the local way of living in HKG! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 It is on the other side exit. There are three entrances and exit at Metropark Mongkok Hotel. Standing at the lobby, facing the main road, that is the main entrance and exit. On the left will be the dim sum exit and tour buses park. On the right will be the wanton mee exit and to Prince Edward MTR. Next to wanton mee shop also got porridge and you tiao shop for breakfast. But me no like porridge so never recommend. But my wife n in-laws said the porridge was nice. Me only had you tiao and ovaltine. No milo in HK, only ovaltine and its damn diluted. Next to the wanton mee shop, got a small corner provision shop where u can buy ur mineral water cheaply. Its operated by an old man. Mineral water sold at 7/11 is damn expensive. We consume one bottle of mineral water per day. Thanks a lot bro... got it! Along the wanton mee side entrance are the row of hotel shops rite? We didnt venture this side as we mostly went to the dim sum side entrance to goto Mongkok street markets... Did u try the Yee Shun Steamed Milk? Its our favourite! Did you have any fav dim sum restaurants in Mongkok? Care to share? Thanks again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 you room is messy only ... but my room had strange bedfellows ... Yikes! Metropark is really old... think thats why the rooms are bigger too... and with these "long time" small tenants too! I might want to try another newer hotel along Nathan Road... but can't beat the lure of the Mongkok local markets.. good local food and cheaper prices... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 Yikes! Metropark is really old... think thats why the rooms are bigger too... and with these "long time" small tenants too! I might want to try another newer hotel along Nathan Road... but can't beat the lure of the Mongkok local markets.. good local food and cheaper prices... my arm kenah bitten a few marks ... complain to the hotel and got 1 nite's refund and 1 buffet breakfast and transport to airport ... but i must still be truthful lah ... the only thing good about the hotel is the location ... with the HK version of Shop&Save just opposite the hotel ! and also lots of local shops and 7-eleven around also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 my arm kenah bitten a few marks ... complain to the hotel and got 1 nite's refund and 1 buffet breakfast and transport to airport ... but i must still be truthful lah ... the only thing good about the hotel is the location ... with the HK version of Shop&Save just opposite the hotel ! and also lots of local shops and 7-eleven around also. Haha.. Hope the "love bites" didn't hurt too much... Umm.. is the Shop and Save at the wanton mee exit too? I didn't see it as I did not go that side when I was there... Ya... many local shops ard this hotel, and many restaurants to eat dim sum too... We got a shock when we saw the portions they serve and we really ordered too much as we tot was SG portions... in the end hv to ta pao much back... but the restaurants there really look nice n the food really good and plentiful and I saw many old folks while their time away in these dim sum restaurants (like what we see in the HK serials.. ) Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 Haha.. Hope the "love bites" didn't hurt too much... Umm.. is the Shop and Save at the wanton mee exit too? I didn't see it as I did not go that side when I was there... Ya... many local shops ard this hotel, and many restaurants to eat dim sum too... We got a shock when we saw the portions they serve and we really ordered too much as we tot was SG portions... in the end hv to ta pao much back... but the restaurants there really look nice n the food really good and plentiful and I saw many old folks while their time away in these dim sum restaurants (like what we see in the HK serials.. ) Cheers! bites dun hurt, just itch like hell ... the shop&save is just directly opposite the hotel, and there are two HK cha-tan-ting on both sides of the hotel ... went to the one beside the hotel bakery ... and true, the portions are about 30-40% more than SG servings ... but then the prices are so too ... presentation is quite nice ... but taste average. Best part is the old guy who "served" us had the habit of dropping the utensils on the table every time he bring something over [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 you room is messy only ... but my room had strange bedfellows ... I did not had any bites or seen any bedfellows under the bed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 Thanks a lot bro... got it! Along the wanton mee side entrance are the row of hotel shops rite? We didnt venture this side as we mostly went to the dim sum side entrance to goto Mongkok street markets... Did u try the Yee Shun Steamed Milk? Its our favourite! Did you have any fav dim sum restaurants in Mongkok? Care to share? Thanks again! No. The row of shops are below the building behind the hotel, not the hotel shops. There are only two shops within the hotel, a bakery and a luggage shop. Me no like dim sum and steamed milk. Me ate siew mai n CCF only at dim sum restaurant. My wife n in-laws did try steamed milk along one of the many such shops along Nathan rd. Me just drank coke. Me no like dim sum, so no favorite dim sum restaurant. I rather not visit any, but have to follow the in-laws cos they love dim sum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear June 30, 2013 Share June 30, 2013 Can try booking Kings de Nathan hotel. Just booked it last week @ $129 per night. Location wise really not bad. Situated at Yau ma tei and mongkok. If you have many pax staying together, can try looking at renting apartments thru airbnb.com too. Cheap and able to experience the local way of living in HKG! Hi, the room that you book for 129/night is for which period of travel? Can advise? Cos for Dec travel, the rate is HK 1950 per night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Hi, the room that you book for 129/night is for which period of travel? Can advise? Cos for Dec travel, the rate is HK 1950 per night. My trip is this week, booked the room for four nights. Not sure if it is the same rate for Dec period. Btw, i booked it thru agoda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
doodoo123 Clutched April 27, 2016 Share April 27, 2016 Hi all Hong Kong guru need your advise. I plan to bring wife,mother and 2 kids 6 & 4 yrs old to hk. It's end nov good to go? Will it be so cold till bo tahan. Whr is best to go? Disney good to bring my 2 kids? Thanks depends on what you all want to do leh. places for kids? shopping? food? site seeing? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...