More frequent filter and engine oil change due to haze

Siewss

Just curious, are you not driving a passenger car in Singapore ? Or are you driving a taxi, stop/go, short distances bursts  or yours a rally vehicle?

Taxi no need to care about engine oil and servicing.

Mine is just a normal car with a variety of usage patterns - long/short distance, start/stop, slow/fast, light/heavy load, etc.

[cool]

Driving condition in SG is classified as severe due to the high temperatures and start/stop traffic. Refer to your car manual for the recommended maintenance schedule...

All those problems you came across were probably due to long overdue oil change and worn out seals, nothing to do with the engine oil per see.

Just saw this post.

New car.  AD maintained. 

Edited by Kklee

Driving condition in SG is classified as severe due to the high temperatures and start/stop traffic. Refer to your car manual for the recommended maintenance schedule...

If Singapore's ambient temperature is consider high, then all those cars in Dubai would have melted.  Singapore start/stop traffic severe?, try Jakarta or KL where you will be idling for looong time before you go any where.

Whoever sold you this idea of severe driving condition in Singapore has interest to sell you not only engine oil but more unnecessary part changes to suck you off money.

If you are changing oil or other fluids & parts more often than taxi, then you are throwing away money.

If Singapore's ambient temperature is consider high, then all those cars in Dubai would have melted. Singapore start/stop traffic severe?, try Jakarta or KL where you will be idling for looong time before you go any where.

Whoever sold you this idea of severe driving condition in Singapore has interest to sell you not only engine oil but more unnecessary part changes to suck you off money.

If you are changing oil or other fluids & parts more often than taxi, then you are throwing away money.

Such comments are from workshop bosses. They like to use scare tactics

I think workshop earns more doing corrective repairs vs regular oil change.  

So many parts to change if the maintenance is not regular. 

Like aircon service e.g. changing compressor, AFAIK,  for every such service,  the receiver-drier needs to be change.  

If the receiver-drier disintegrate, it will send sand-like particles all over the system.  More repairs ? 

If Singapore's ambient temperature is consider high, then all those cars in Dubai would have melted.  Singapore start/stop traffic severe?, try Jakarta or KL where you will be idling for looong time before you go any where.

Whoever sold you this idea of severe driving condition in Singapore has interest to sell you not only engine oil but more unnecessary part changes to suck you off money.

Why I sold myself the idea that SG driving condition is severe and why I think that for most in SG, the driving condition is severe

a)   oil samples from UOA that the "detergent" are expended

b)   engine "behaviour" after 5k all the way to 10k

These depends on engine design, usage and driving pattern.   I considered mine as severe driving condition and I don't drive a lot under the higher ambient temperature of the day. 

Like aircon service e.g. changing compressor, AFAIK,  for every such service,  the receiver-drier needs to be change.  

If the receiver-drier disintegrate, it will send sand-like particles all over the system.  More repairs ? 

Why I sold myself the idea that SG driving condition is severe and why I think that for most in SG, the driving condition is severe

a)   oil samples from UOA that the "detergent" are expended

b)   engine "behaviour" after 5k all the way to 10k

These depends on engine design, usage and driving pattern.   I considered mine as severe driving condition and I don't drive a lot under the higher ambient temperature of the day. 

Automotive engines are designed to run just below 212F regardless if your are driving in Dubai in summer or Siberia in winter. Your vehicle cooling system will automatically kicks in to remove the excess heat from the engine & transfer to the outside envrionment.

Ambient temperature has no effect on your engine oil unless your vehicle cooling system is broken or you used incorrect oil grade.  The other important function of engine oil is transfer excess heat away from the engine via the coolant and onwards to the radiator then the environment.

All workshops (whether authorised agents or not) make money selling you goods & services you would probably never need.  The mechanic/service adviser is 1st & foremost a salesperson whose earning is mainly from commission by selling you parts & services.  All that engine oil change plus xx points checks are just the bait to get you into the door so they can skin you right & proper

Automotive engines are designed to run just below 212F regardless if your are driving in Dubai in summer or Siberia in winter. Your vehicle cooling system will automatically kicks in to remove the excess heat from the engine & transfer to the outside envrionment.

Ambient temperature has no effect on your engine oil unless your vehicle cooling system is broken or you used incorrect oil grade.  The other important function of engine oil is transfer excess heat away from the engine via the coolant and onwards to the radiator then the environment.

All workshops (whether authorised agents or not) make money selling you goods & services you would probably never need.  The mechanic/service adviser is 1st & foremost a salesperson whose earning is mainly from commission by selling you parts & services.  All that engine oil change plus xx points checks are just the bait to get you into the door so they can skin you right & proper

The ideal vs reality.  Do a UOA (if still possible now). 

The "tactics" you mentioned for all workshop,  it is likely caused by consumers i.e. the best is FREE. 

Don't mind I ask where do you do your oil change? 

Edited by Kklee

MSCP lor...so many of these jokers illegal do this now

finish pour the coolant and oil into the longkang, let bhangla wash next day

i take pic and report nea till sian

bo pian le

he need resort such tactic to get business

no money reg as a merchant here

Edited by Furrynadz

bo pian le

Wish my front porch has a drain to pour away my used oil & coolant & a foreign laborer to wash for me.

Thanks for the great idea, I will drive to a HDB carpark & do my oil change there, then I need not worry about sudden rain & my front porch can be pristine.

Envy you guys with sheltered HDB/condo carparks, at least your cars don't get soak in rain or bake by the sun.

Like aircon service e.g. changing compressor, AFAIK, for every such service, the receiver-drier needs to be change.

If the receiver-drier disintegrate, it will send sand-like particles all over the system. More repairs ?

a) oil samples from UOA that the "detergent" are expended

b) engine "behaviour" after 5k all the way to 10k

These depends on engine design, usage and driving pattern. I considered mine as severe driving condition and I don't drive a lot under the higher ambient temperature of the day.

What Castrol where you using? The tbn very low after 10k?

Always use good quality oils certified by API. NOn certified oils best to avoid. examples are carlube, schaeffer

haha. do UOA. better than any certification.

anyway have used carlube on toyota wish since day 1 for 160k km,  220k km for honda euro R. both ran fine without oil consumption. Euro R has been scrapped and the wish has only 2 months more before it gets scrapped.

most of the time 5k km changes. sometimes 7.5k

Edited by Mkl22

What Castrol where you using? The tbn very low after 10k?

Those are for the previous ride. 

Current ride no UOA done yet.  I service at BM.  They use Castrol. 

For the current ride,  as with the previous ride,  somewhere around 5k to 7k,  can feel engine difference already.

I have done a mapping of my observations of the stages of the engine oil.  For your kind comments.

a)  Engine oil change

b)  1st xxx km - engine feels sedated & quiet  ( about 500 - EO break-in )

c)  from xxx km to yyyy km -  engine normal operation  ( 500 to about 5000,  EO operating normally  ) 

d)  from yyyy km to zzzz km - engine feels heavy and lethargic ( 5000 to about 7000 - EO breaking down )

e)  from zzzz km to aaaa km - engine feels light and very rev happy. FC improves  ( 7000 and above - EO breakdown or shearing ) 

f)   Change engine oil at 10,000 km

To the 10,000 km mark, it either d) only or d) with e).    In the brackets are my estimates and my views ) 

haha. do UOA. better than any certification.

anyway have used carlube on toyota wish since day 1 for 160k km,  220k km for honda euro R. both ran fine without oil consumption. Euro R has been scrapped and the wish has only 2 months more before it gets scrapped.

most of the time 5k km changes. sometimes 7.5k

Someone told me Carlube is very good on the Toyota Wish or maybe the Toyota Wish have a really good engine. 

I got bad experience with Carlube,  engine valve cover gasket leak. 

Wish my front porch has a drain to pour away my used oil & coolant & a foreign laborer to wash for me.

Thanks for the great idea, I will drive to a HDB carpark & do my oil change there, then I need not worry about sudden rain & my front porch can be pristine.

Envy you guys with sheltered HDB/condo carparks, at least your cars don't get soak in rain or bake by the sun.

Do check out doing oil change at HDB carpark  and pouring used oil in the drain.

bo pian le

Since you had been witnessing & reporting so much oil being poured down the drain but not getting any reward, why don't we work together to collect & sell these waste oil?  In this way, at least we get to share some $$$.

Why do you think autoshops pushing so religiously to change engine oil every 5000km? make money on the fresh as well as the used oil.

For the current ride,  as with the previous ride,  somewhere around 5k to 7k,  can feel engine difference already.

I have done a mapping of my observations of the stages of the engine oil.  For your kind comments.

a)  Engine oil change

c)  from xxx km to yyyy km -  engine normal operation  ( 500 to about 5000,  EO operating normally  ) 

d)  from yyyy km to zzzz km - engine feels heavy and lethargic ( 5000 to about 7000 - EO breaking down )

e)  from zzzz km to aaaa km - engine feels light and very rev happy. FC improves  ( 7000 and above - EO breakdown or shearing ) 

To the 10,000 km mark, it either d) only or d) with e).    In the brackets are my estimates and my views ) 

Someone told me Carlube is very good on the Toyota Wish or maybe the Toyota Wish have a really good engine. 

Do check out doing oil change at HDB carpark  and pouring used oil in the drain.

Hey, Thanks for the reminder about working in HDB carpark & oil disposing into domestic drain.

Borneo Motor maybe using 0W-20 engine oil on your vehicle. Lower viscosity oil improve fuel economy but tends to loose lubrication properties sooner, thus the oil shear leading to premature component wear (another way for Toyota to sell you more parts sooner)

a)  Engine oil change

aiyah valve cover rubber will leak over time, regardless of engine oil.

Hey, Thanks for the reminder about working in HDB carpark & oil disposing into domestic drain.

Borneo Motor maybe using 0W-20 engine oil on your vehicle. Lower viscosity oil improve fuel economy but tends to loose lubrication properties sooner, thus the oil shear leading to premature component wear (another way for Toyota to sell you more parts sooner)

the whole industry is moving or has moved towards 20wt oil. the whole industry is scamming us la. i think you better design and build your own engine and use 40wt oils.

aiyah valve cover rubber will leak over time, regardless of engine oil.

Of course overtime it will leak.  

For my previous ride,  got choice depending on what engine oil I use. 

a) within 10k

b) above 40k km

If want to "zhng" camshaft and dipstick to have a golden shine also possible.    [laugh]