How many cars would you go out and buy today if COE scrapped

Extremesour

Forget about needs how many would you actually buy?  

131 members have voted

1. 1. How many cars for your family?

• 0 - because i do not need one
    • 1 - just for myself
    • 2 - because my wife and me are professionals
    • 3 or more - because i can afford it
  2. 2. If you and your neighbors all start buying can you find parking?

• Yes
    • No

the million dollar question is the golden goose that lay coe egg .... huat ah!!!

there is no other better way to collect "tax" than coe

collect 10 years tax in one go and the people compete with each other to pay more

what other system in the world that make people to compete to pay MORE ....

COE prices have made a lot of people unhappy.

We all want a car and think that COE does not work and controlling usage works better than ownership.

I think we can have a simple poll to see how many people will buy multiple cars and whether they see problem finding parking for their cars. [laugh]

Remember that the OMV of a Jap car is only around $20k.

redundant post and poll.

I apologize if it did not make sense.

I guess I was trying to make a point that COE(or a quota limitation) system is needed to control car population and parking could be a problem if everyone starts owning multiple cars.

COE allocation is by price and therefore capitalist in rewarding the more financially successful people in society.

I did the poll because there are people calling for abolishing COE system because they are being squeezed out.

So with 70 votes now at 10am I can say non scientifically that majority of people will buy cars and most will want or be able to buy multiple cars if COE was removed.

Also half of us believe that parking would be a major problem even if you own multiple cars and drive only one.

So it's not just utilization but also ownership that must be managed.

I apologize if it did not make sense.

I guess I was trying to make a point that COE(or a quota limitation) system is needed to control car population and parking could be a problem if everyone starts owning multiple cars.

COE allocation is by price and therefore capitalist in rewarding the more financially successful people in society.

I did the poll because there are people calling for abolishing COE system because they are being squeezed out.

So with 70 votes now at 10am I can say non scientifically that majority of people will buy cars and most will want or be able to buy multiple cars if COE was removed.

Also half of us believe that parking would be a major problem even if you own multiple cars and drive only one.

So it's not just utilization but also ownership that must be managed.

the reason why i said it is redundant is because it will never happen or at least in the near future.

everybody wants to have the best for themself so will keep making wild thoughts.

wild thoughts and reality are a big gap.

the reason why i said it is redundant is because it will never happen or at least in the near future.

everybody wants to have the best for themself so will keep making wild thoughts.

wild thoughts and reality are a big gap.

And I agree with you bro.

Which is why I did this poll to highlight that people calling to remove COE because it does not work.

Like you said - fantasies are great but we still live with the hard truths in reality.

That is we must control both ownership and usage.

liddat new showroom no biz liao lor, ppl all buy old car

people who can afford will still buy new car.

some will die die buy due to "face"

no COE sure can buy more cars....but no place to park...everyday searching for new parking lot...very hectic!!! so I still support high high COE to avoid new buyers......

Not to be a bucket of cold water in the face, but if someone wanted affordable cars & space, the best thing is still to move abroad. Otherwise, find ways to make more money, so you can afford a car, or your dream car(Doesn't stop the constricted space problem though).

No major city state can allow most people to be able drive around town, as well as affordable to do so. Although Singapore is a country, but in terms of density & structure, is more or less a city state.

It is more important to ensure that transport infrastructure can sustain the population (& growth), then to fullfill every Singaporeans' dream of owning a car, let alone their dream car.

If you want affordable car, can, just ask people who do not need car not to buy, & car price will drop.

Not gonna happen right, who will want to give up so others can buy cheaper? Not many I suppose. If people give up driving, its probably due to the high cost, & not so people who REALLY need cars can drive cars cheaper. This is the hard truth.

Limiting car quantity ( & higher cost is the string attached) is still the best way to control car population.

If you ask me for improvement, I think they could have special discount for people who really need cars to move around (but limited to low cost car models), or special taxi services, but these should not be widespread & case by case basis.

Edited by Kiadaw

Not to be a bucket of cold water in the face, but if someone wanted affordable cars & space, the best thing is still to move abroad. Otherwise, find ways to make more money, so you can afford a car, or your dream car(Doesn't stop the constricted space problem though).

No major city state can allow most people to be able drive around town, as well as affordable to do so. Although Singapore is a country, but in terms of density & structure, is more or less a city state.

It is more important to ensure that transport infrastructure can sustain the population (& growth), then to fullfill every Singaporeans' dream of owning a car, let alone their dream car.

If you want affordable car, can, just ask people who do not need car not to buy, & car price will drop.

Not gonna happen right, who will want to give up so others can buy cheaper? Not many I suppose. If people give up driving, its probably due to the high cost, & not so people who REALLY need cars can drive cars cheaper. This is the hard truth.

Limiting car quantity ( & higher cost is the string attached) is still the best way to control car population.

If you ask me for improvement, I think they could have special discount for people who really need cars to move around (but limited to low cost car models), or special taxi services, but these should not be widespread & case by case basis.

Actually there is already such a scheme for the disabled. They can buy cars up to 20k OMV and no need Coe no ARF. of course it has to be rather strict to prevent abuse.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...mp/DPS_form.pdf

It all started with LTA making wrong predictions and giving out too much COE from 2005 to 2009. So their mistake become motorist burden now????

Right now, they are over restricting the issuing of coe. So LTA should look at themselves internally to solve this problem.

Not excuses to increase taxes!!!

yah lor, govt need to build more bridges to malaysia [laugh]

Better option is to reclaim the Straits of Johor and have more border crossing using ERP system.

Very fast and efficient

Better option is to reclaim the Straits of Johor and have more border crossing using ERP system.

Very fast and efficient

Malaysian thief happily enter in n out of sg haha

two cars.

one for me and one for my spouse. Easier as need not discuss who takes the car for work and who will pick up who the logistics issues. cheers

• Dislike 1

We are e only unique country that have COE. If other countries have COE I think the ppl there strike until kingdom comes..