Are you blackmailing us, Agung?

The_Bear

to hell with the indon minister. I think their country forever in doldrums as they cannot think and speak rational.

I still remember when they have tsunami, they act as though its end of the world

these fellas are pros at bribes...

they're trying their luck with sg govt....

but who knows they already got silence-money from the palm oil giants.....

notice how they now suddenly forgot to name the culprits

with Vivian's fiery approach..guess it will only harden the Indon's stance..dun even need to talk ..... [:/]

He should ask this minister to say sorry, then come over for kopi mah :D

Aiyah typical indon minister style. Everything also cannot.

Offer him haircut them immediately everything also can. [laugh]

I wonder how much he hope to get? Afterall ty say spore very rich country so he try his luck.

why is it that when i complained about my neighbour's smoking seeping into my home

I am considered a whiner and trying to restrict a smoker's freedom in his own house

while when indonesia smokes on a bigger scale and it comes over to Singapore

we suddenly become morally correct to complain about it?

-_-

these fellas are pros at bribes...

they're trying their luck with sg govt....

but who knows they already got silence-money from the palm oil giants.....

notice how they now suddenly forgot to name the culprits

Of course ty already getting kopi lui fm those plantation owners.

But this guy very enterprising. He try to get more fm sg then he can try to squeeze even more fm plantations.

End up he e big winner. Indon is one of e most corrupted countries in e world after all.

Ty hv developed corruption to a fine art. Even university got PhD on kopi lui.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapa...des/717798.html

<h2 class="news_brief" style="direction: ltr; text-rendering: optimizelegibility; font-weight: normal; margin: 0px 0px 25px; ">Indonesia on Thursday accused Singapore of "behaving like a child" by complaining about severe haze from raging forest fires on Sumatra island that has cloaked the city-state.</h2>

File photo of Agung Laksono. Laksono on Thursday accused Singapore of "behaving like a child" by complaining about severe haze from raging forest fires on Sumatra island that has cloaked the city-state. (ADEK BERRY/AFP)JAKARTA: Indonesia on Thursday accused Singapore of "behaving like a child" by complaining about severe haze from raging forest fires on Sumatra island that has cloaked the city-state.

"Singapore should not be behaving like a child and making all this noise," Agung Laksono, the minister who is coordinating Indonesia's response to the haze crisis, told reporters in Jakarta.

"This is not what the Indonesian nation wants, it is because of nature."

The minister for people's welfare also said Jakarta would reject any offer of financial aid from Singapore unless it was a large amount.

"Unless (Singapore) wants to give us a large amount, we won't consider accepting it," he said. "If it is only half a million, or one million dollars, we don't need that. We would rather use our own national budget."

The comments came as the neighbours prepared to hold emergency talks in Jakarta to ease the severe smog enveloping the city-state.

Singapore's air pollutant index was again hovering around the "hazardous" level of 301 at midday, close to the all-time high of 321 set the night before.

Any reading above 200 is considered threatening to health.

Laksono said investigations were under way to find out which company was responsible for the haze.

"There are Indonesian, Singaporean and Malaysian companies there," he said, echoing previous comments from officials in Jakarta seeking to shift the blame away from solely Indonesian firms.

- AFP/fa

I think he should go F himself.

...Think they want more $$ from us...last round loan was 5 bil... don't know if they have pay up.. [sly]

....tis Agung pig brain..bird talk...I will F him big time if Im one that can talk to him [furious]

Maybe I watched too many Andy Lau and Ekin Cheng gangster movies liao...but somehow for Indonesia I guess you cannot go into the meeting room with guns blazing..you got to go in and pretend to make friends...then slowly but firmly get them to see the side of the story..

with Vivian's fiery approach..guess it will only harden the Indon's stance..dun even need to talk liao..

certain enemies you need to go in hard maybe like North Korea/Syria..but for Indon..need to make friends first..just like how I go to a futsal pitch and strike a conversation with the bros there. [:/]

We sud get china to back us n do e toking.

We too straight. No experience to handle them.

Get a more corrupted country to handle them.

...Think they want more $$ from us...last round loan was 5 bil... don't know if they have pay up.. [sly]

....tis Agung pig brain..bird talk...I will F him big time if Im one that can talk to him [furious]

U can go to jakarta n visit his office n say u wan to fark him upside down.

But then we wont b seeing u anymore. [:/]

Anyway, I agree with Kyrios and his assessment.

"Maybe I watched too many Andy Lau and Ekin Cheng gangster movies liao...but somehow for Indonesia I guess you cannot go into the meeting room with guns blazing..you got to go in and pretend to make friends...then slowly but firmly get them to see the side of the story.."

I do think vb's initial approach has a lack of EQ for indo side of things. I sometimes fear such generic methodical approach may not work for such crisis or turn out worse (but we don't know vb's agenda, or his intention). Our neighbours don't operate like a conglomerate or think like a legal eagle.

There are not many Indo experts in the cabinet, kee chew can be a wild card for consulting in the background .

If msm's praise did turn out a truthful assessment of kee chew's capability, its time to show it.

As the chinese says: 是驴是马拉出来溜溜

Regarding gangster movies and the art of negotiation,

I suggest Johnnie To Kei-Fung's 暗战.

Watch from 4min - 10min. The initial approach is key, but there exist breaks for flexibility and twists to change the direction.

--------

If we look at the yesterday's PM press con many years later, we should just add a shanmugam and we have the Sing Inc dream team. Previously top 1% pay (or top 5 or 10 in their respective field) in the haze management team.

A meritocratic wet dream.

have you guys noticed that our health minister has been eerily quiet?

i almost forget his existence!

Sooner or later, the indonesia embassy here will be hitted by rotten eggs or even dirty bomb if local are being push to the edge

because of nature? rofl..

ok. please burn in december then

If sinkies can accept VB excuse that flood occur due to weather changes and Yaccoob 'once in 50years", what can't they accept what the Indonesian said?

actually, Indonesia had been ridiculing us after 1998, after Suharto stepped down

called us little red dot, threatening us with sand, eradication, and now haze issue

last time when LKY was our PM, he was very well respected, and was kawan kawan with Suharto... if this kind of issue happened, Suharto would surely demand swift action from his side

That guy has too many portfolio. Not only is he the Minister of Foreign Affairs, he is also Minister of Law. :blink:

His personal life is also very very interesting. I don't think he got free time at all

Another thought of the cause and effect in the haze issue.

When the indo official say we are childish, their response is the effect.

We need to know the cause, and the reason why they say this.

Not to stomach everything they throw at us, but focus on the why.

This belongs to the post mortem analysis.

-------

But things are still moving on.

clock is ticking.

And we need to adjust and adapt accordingly.

If there is another red face exchange between the neighbour's communication, the strategy or approach may not be appropriate, unless it is intended......wow, that really requires helicopter vision and long term big picture liao.