Ysc3 Twincharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 anyone underwent treatment for CTS before ? what do the doctors do ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 my mum has it but she choose not to take the treatment after the doc went thru with her how the treatment goes... think they will inject something into her hand... very very painful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 Temporary solution, sometimes may benefit from steroid injections. Perm solution will be to undergo carpal tunnel release operation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 basically, the doc will cut the muscle area that's pressing on the nerve and muscle. Be prepared to lose the use of then operated hand for 3-4 wks depending on severity and recovery speed of individual. this sounds bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 My wife just underwent a endoscopic day surgery to do a carpal tunnel release. basically, the doc will cut the muscle area that's pressing on the nerve and muscle. Be prepared to lose the use of then operated hand for 3-4 wks depending on severity and recovery speed of individual. can you share how the doc determine it is cts? i was sent to do blood test, x-tray and probes. all showed negative. but the pain is still there. knn..then the doc said maybe i overused my fingers and gave me a brace instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 can you share how the doc determine it is cts? i was sent to do blood test, x-tray and probes. all showed negative. but the pain is still there. knn..then the doc said maybe i overused my fingers and gave me a brace instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 can you share how the doc determine it is cts? i was sent to do blood test, x-tray and probes. all showed negative. but the pain is still there. knn..then the doc said maybe i overused my fingers and gave me a brace instead. u overused yr fingers in what arh? what were u digging? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 u overused yr fingers in what arh? what were u digging? Knn...u guys damm bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 Knn...u guys damm bad. we must teach the right wat to do it mah, to avoid further injuries...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 we must teach the right wat to do it mah, to avoid further injuries...... Ask for assistance? Alternate hand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 As an alternative, you might consider acupuncture for carpal tunnel syndrome too. My mother had it a few years ago, at one point was so bad that she couldn't hold chopsticks for more than a minute or two at a time. Doctor recommended an operation. Upon recommendation from someone (who also had it and got it treated successfully) she decided to try acupuncture first. The results were so effective. I wouldn't have believed this if someone related it to me, but I witnessed it myself. Four years have passed since then and she hasn't been bothered by it any more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 i also thought it absurd when he couldn't find anything wrong with my pain and blame it to 'overuse' ya loh.. if it were i also don't mind.. but it wasn't... haiz.. put on braces for 3 month then return to see him but still not resolved. i decided to save my money already. probably tcm acupuncture.. but afraid some c0ck up and damage the nerve then even more jialat. i'm mostly using my other hand...fingers now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 17, 2013 Author Share June 17, 2013 As an alternative, you might consider acupuncture for carpal tunnel syndrome too. My mother had it a few years ago, at one point was so bad that she couldn't hold chopsticks for more than a minute or two at a time. Doctor recommended an operation. Upon recommendation from someone (who also had it and got it treated successfully) she decided to try acupuncture first. The results were so effective. I wouldn't have believed this if someone related it to me, but I witnessed it myself. Four years have passed since then and she hasn't been bothered by it any more. which sinseh your mom visited ? i really dun like the option of surgery ... esp when its on my writing hand ... will be totally handicapped !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 which sinseh your mom visited ? i really dun like the option of surgery ... esp when its on my writing hand ... will be totally handicapped !! This is the one (not sure if the phone number is correct, my mum lost the card so I found it on Google. The address is correct, though) Chia Chay Puay Clinic Tel: 6748 0032 Blk 18 Upper Boon Keng Rd #01-1129 S(380018) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 I wonder is trigger finger similar to carpal tunnel syndrome? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 can you share how the doc determine it is cts? i was sent to do blood test, x-tray and probes. all showed negative. but the pain is still there. knn..then the doc said maybe i overused my fingers and gave me a brace instead. There are always "toys" available for that purpose....... finger free.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephsatu 1st Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 anyone underwent treatment for CTS before ? what do the doctors do ? I went for the op in Oct. last year If you are awaken by the CTS during your sleep then its time for the op Forget all the recommendations here, just go for it I got it done in NUH, day surgery You dun feel anything during the 15 mins. of operation, just the initial anesthesia injection that is painful and will be given 2-3 weeks hosp. leave and after that normal use of hand except hard exertions for next 3 months Now sleep like a baby and no regrets Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilomatrix 1st Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 which sinseh your mom visited ? i really dun like the option of surgery ... esp when its on my writing hand ... will be totally handicapped !! Perhaps u may wanna try TTSH for acupuncture? I had trigger thumb last Feb and went for a course (10 sessions) of acupuncture there. The triggering was gone after 7 to 8 sessions. More serious condition would require longer treatment period. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...