Pisces69 6th Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 Wat I know from automotive friend, given nowadays technology advancement and precision in stamping/ machining, this help B&B car maker to make the cost as low as possible and at max production output. Where As long as the suspension and axle assembly parts are in good condition, then mostly the camber and caster are fixed within the maker tolerance range. So only the toe can be adjusted from the steering arm or for rear I think the trailing arm. So for car maker if found the camber and castor are out of spec, the advise is to repair or replace the worn parts within the suspension or axle assembly. Or in worse case the chassis alignment is out due to daily usage. Only the toe are adjustable in car maker design. Example the front macpherson suspension, the wheel axle is connecting to macpherson strut by means of 2 standard bolts. Hence to alter the camber it is possible to use camber bolt ( with eccentric cam design) to force change the camber angle. Instead of wasting money to diagnose and change the worn parts which may be costlier. Or ur suggestion adding shims, but this involved a lot of man hour to dismantle and install back the wheel hub, brake assembly, etc... and skill mechanic to know how much shim to add. If add wrongly, mechanic have to repeat the dismantling/assembly work again. I think most busy workshop don't like to have such unproductive works or lack of skilled alignment master. For expensive car with double wishbone suspension, those I guess original design will have the flexibility to adjust toe and camber. Above are just the research I made. Any mistake please correct me.. Thanks! OK thanks for the info but so far I see all cars can adjust the camber n toe in the front at least. Rear some can adjust n some its fixed. If the front can b adjusted, there is no real need for the new camber bolt. There is already a standard bolt there which can b used to adjust the camber. Tire shop asking pple to change the camber bolt is just an excuse by them to charge for something unnecessary so ty can earn more money. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 OK thanks for the info but so far I see all cars can adjust the camber n toe in the front at least. Rear some can adjust n some its fixed. If the front can b adjusted, there is no real need for the new camber bolt. There is already a standard bolt there which can b used to adjust the camber. Tire shop asking pple to change the camber bolt is just an excuse by them to charge for something unnecessary so ty can earn more money. Ya, it's depend how honest the ws people lor... And one must study own car service manual to avoid being cheated.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 Ya, it's depend how honest the ws people lor... And one must study own car service manual to avoid being cheated.. Unfortunately things like camber bolt is not mentioned in the car handbook. I learnt about it tru my own bad experience with that dishonest tire shop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 Unfortunately things like camber bolt is not mentioned in the car handbook. I learnt about it tru my own bad experience with that dishonest tire shop. Normal car maintenance handbook dun give much details. Try look for workshop service manual which provide more details, exploded view of car components and repairing/repairing procedures for each Individual components. There are also manufacturer alignment setting parameter where u can cross check with ws alignment computer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Ya, it's depend how honest the ws people lor... And one must study own car service manual to avoid being cheated.. to me this WS peoples is NOT honest , just commercialized. correct me if I am wrong, camber bolt as mentioned is more for Modification and not so much of correction. I will find it is better to make sure the suspension system is intact and have it align professional way. (from what I noticed Malaysian WS or always like to recommend this job. Modifications meaning Off spec (no more follow factory OE technical specification) this tends bring in some side effects which some may find it irritating. So beware before all this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 to me this WS peoples is NOT honest , just commercialized. correct me if I am wrong, camber bolt as mentioned is more for Modification and not so much of correction. I will find it is better to make sure the suspension system is intact and have it align professional way. (from what I noticed Malaysian WS or always like to recommend this job. Modifications meaning Off spec (no more follow factory OE technical specification) this tends bring in some side effects which some may find it irritating. So beware before all this. Basically the front are adjustable unlike the rear on some make. Therefore the tire wear mainly at the rear however since we doing the tire swop from front n back every 10k it should drawn a balance. Unless one only swop left n right then probably addon a camber bolt will help overtime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 to me this WS peoples is NOT honest , just commercialized. correct me if I am wrong, camber bolt as mentioned is more for Modification and not so much of correction. I will find it is better to make sure the suspension system is intact and have it align professional way. (from what I noticed Malaysian WS or always like to recommend this job. Modifications meaning Off spec (no more follow factory OE technical specification) this tends bring in some side effects which some may find it irritating. So beware before all this. agreed WS people not always honest. Talking only for front side camber my POV, camber bolt is just a cheaper solution to correct the camber alignment, instead of changing the worn out bushing, or possibility of Macpherson strut/lower arm/chassis dimension changes (due to bending), weaken spring (can not return to its neutral length) over the duration of car usage. each car maker have their own design in consideration. If original having the "cam" bolt installed direct from factory on the macpherson strut or lower arm-> then camber adjustment is possible. however for some maker factory is using only "plain" bolts, then camber/caster) are not adjustable. hence either for stock or modified suspension system, its all depend whether the factory installed with "cam" bolt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Normal car maintenance handbook dun give much details. Try look for workshop service manual which provide more details, exploded view of car components and repairing/repairing procedures for each Individual components. There are also manufacturer alignment setting parameter where u can cross check with ws alignment computer. I think a very good manual u can get wil b the Hanes manual. For 4 wheel computerised alignment, the alignment machine sud hv the settings for yr car inside. If it dun have, better go someplace else. Otherwise the maintenence guy prog in wrong settings then car become very unstable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Basically the front are adjustable unlike the rear on some make. Therefore the tire wear mainly at the rear however since we doing the tire swop from front n back every 10k it should drawn a balance. Unless one only swop left n right then probably addon a camber bolt will help overtime. Usually the back wheels r fixed cos ty dun hv to steer the car. Only if it was damaged by hitting something or very badly worn wil the rear setting b out. For front, there already is a bolt there to loosen n do the adjustment. Just that a camber bolt wil make it easier to do the adjustment. Also camber bolt usually for car with modded suspension n the adjustment can do a larger angle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 I think a very good manual u can get wil b the Hanes manual. For 4 wheel computerised alignment, the alignment machine sud hv the settings for yr car inside. If it dun have, better go someplace else. Otherwise the maintenence guy prog in wrong settings then car become very unstable. Wat interesting I found lately, there is free service manual for hyundai elantra model. For hyundai owner may refer to webpage www.hemanual.com Happy browsing... For computerized alignment, if u have the maker setting on hand will be better, in case the ws try to cheat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Wat interesting I found lately, there is free service manual for hyundai elantra model. For hyundai owner may refer to webpage www.hemanual.com Happy browsing... For computerized alignment, if u have the maker setting on hand will be better, in case the ws try to cheat... I see the computerised alignment ty scroll tru the vehicles to search for yours. U can see clearly on the screen yr car make n model. Then ty select n all the alignment settings wil appear n ty just adjust one by one till all the markers r green which means its within specs. If its not in the computer, ty wil tell u ty cannot do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 Wat interesting I found lately, there is free service manual for hyundai elantra model. For hyundai owner may refer to webpage www.hemanual.com Happy browsing... For computerized alignment, if u have the maker setting on hand will be better, in case the ws try to cheat... your word Cheat is too heavy. is common that WS worker take the easy way out and short cut. (Why?) underpaid (why? competition?) web information may not be 100% truth and reliable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 Usually the back wheels r fixed cos ty dun hv to steer the car. Only if it was damaged by hitting something or very badly worn wil the rear setting b out. For front, there already is a bolt there to loosen n do the adjustment. Just that a camber bolt wil make it easier to do the adjustment. Also camber bolt usually for car with modded suspension n the adjustment can do a larger angle. So far after the tire reverse, so far even at NSHW @110 no sign of running side-way. Hope after run in for the leveling noise level can reduce and doesn't wanna mess up by adding mod, camber. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jnco 1st Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 I did my alignment at hwak tyre JB beside shell station. Call and ask them before go down. They charge me $40RM fo the alignment. After all i like their services. Not bad, can try out there. Beside market stall got alot of makan also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 So far after the tire reverse, so far even at NSHW @110 no sign of running side-way. Hope after run in for the leveling noise level can reduce and doesn't wanna mess up by adding mod, camber. My Msia made tires also got slight uneven wear. I switch left to right n car pull one side. I switch back, car straight again. So sometimes is not alignment fault. Only good experienced tire shop can tell the difference. If yr tires very noisy, chk yr tire pressure. Sometimes too hard or too soft wil b noisy. I slowly adjusted till I found the sweet spot. Now my tires quiet hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 My Msia made tires also got slight uneven wear. I switch left to right n car pull one side. I switch back, car straight again. So sometimes is not alignment fault. Only good experienced tire shop can tell the difference. If yr tires very noisy, chk yr tire pressure. Sometimes too hard or too soft wil b noisy. I slowly adjusted till I found the sweet spot. Now my tires quiet hor. If yr profile is those broad type, tend to happen. So not switch left to right, is change the face in out. B4 the changed of the tire the alignment no issue, no pulling one side also, only i maintain the consistency every 10k. All tis while service in spore and tis round went to msia. Yes agreed air pressure play an important role in noise issue, i too in search of the sweet spot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzmeup Clutched October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 If yr profile is those broad type, tend to happen. So not switch left to right, is change the face in out. B4 the changed of the tire the alignment no issue, no pulling one side also, only i maintain the consistency every 10k. All tis while service in spore and tis round went to msia. Yes agreed air pressure play an important role in noise issue, i too in search of the sweet spot. Bro. I m a bit blur on technicalities. Does tt mean tt different tyre make has different sweet spots? Or do I just need follow t recommended tyre pressure stated in t manual? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Bro. I m a bit blur on technicalities. Does tt mean tt different tyre make has different sweet spots? Or do I just need follow t recommended tyre pressure stated in t manual? Actually the sweet spot's we mean achieve the best of both world. Of course not the best but to your feel. Not so noisy, not so lag during pickup (fc), wear n tear of tire, comfortable ride not so bumpy. So the manual is only a guide as it didn't mention the type of tire used. It also voice down to hard and soft side wall of the tire and the suspension. Some bro. will tend to inflate over the guide, therefore you have play with the pressure to feel the most comfortable spot which other may feel differencely. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...