November 1st Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 I did mine for 63rm which include alignment, rotation and break service. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 On 9/25/2013 at 10:31 PM, Pisces69 said: What make u change yr camber bolt???? Before this I went to a Castrol WS in Tebrau, where after they did the alignment the car straight line run still not satisfied. Something like have to keep busy controlling the steering wheel. (I guess they may not have the avante database.) Hence just few days ago visited Hup heng, straight away found the front cambers were out. Hence decided to change the camber bolts (after I did some study online the benefit of such bolts). Like I hope, straight line run is okay now. Only problem now is the rear camber is also slightly out of spec. I am still looking where can get the rear camber kit. Understand this rear camber kit is not cheap.. you got any source? cost: Alignment RM30 Camber bolt Rm160 (for better grade steel) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 On 9/26/2013 at 1:25 AM, TVT said: Total RM57. Does it include tire rotation ? When ty take out yr tires for the balancing, u can just tell them how u wan to put back the tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 On 9/26/2013 at 8:26 AM, Contipro said: Before this I went to a Castrol WS in Tebrau, where after they did the alignment the car straight line run still not satisfied. Something like have to keep busy controlling the steering wheel. (I guess they may not have the avante database.) Hence just few days ago visited Hup heng, straight away found the front cambers were out. Hence decided to change the camber bolts (after I did some study online the benefit of such bolts). Like I hope, straight line run is okay now. Only problem now is the rear camber is also slightly out of spec. I am still looking where can get the rear camber kit. Understand this rear camber kit is not cheap.. you got any source? cost: Alignment RM30 Camber bolt Rm160 (for better grade steel) Normally u wil only need a camber kit if u did some serious mods on yr suspension. Otherwise the standard camber bolt is good enough. I ever had tire shop ask me to change the camber bolt although I had no problems with my tracking. Later I realised it was just a con-job n I didnt need the camber bolts at all. Can the camber on the rear wheels b adjusted for yr car? Then u just need to adjust. If its fixed, ty sometimes wil put washers to bring the camber back to specs. If its slightly out, just leave it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 On 9/26/2013 at 1:21 PM, Pisces69 said: When ty take out yr tires for the balancing, u can just tell them how u wan to put back the tires. True.. Of course when they take out for balancing, they will rotate for u ma.. No difference for them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie September 26, 2013 Share September 26, 2013 On 9/26/2013 at 1:25 AM, TVT said: Total RM57. Does it include tire rotation ? Yup.. for sure.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 On 9/26/2013 at 1:27 PM, Pisces69 said: Normally u wil only need a camber kit if u did some serious mods on yr suspension. Otherwise the standard camber bolt is good enough. I ever had tire shop ask me to change the camber bolt although I had no problems with my tracking. Later I realised it was just a con-job n I didnt need the camber bolts at all. Can the camber on the rear wheels b adjusted for yr car? Then u just need to adjust. If its fixed, ty sometimes wil put washers to bring the camber back to specs. If its slightly out, just leave it. I browse online, my original front camber are not adjustable (I hope the online info are true). Hence I guess no harm to invest on is as the price is half of s'pore price. As for the rear, it is with fix arm. How to add shim to adjust the camber ? what material for the shim, stainless steel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 On 9/26/2013 at 1:21 PM, Pisces69 said: When ty take out yr tires for the balancing, u can just tell them how u wan to put back the tires. They will advise you . Asked to do balancing and they said the 4 tire not level so they advise to reverse the tire saying broad width tire tend to have such issue. In Spore one of the tire shop's said to me same things "not level" but didn't advise me only said suspension problem. I told him suspension newly changed and by you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 frankly speaking DONT put camber bolt unless you are taking about serious mod to your suspension system. reversing the tyre (if you are talking about remove and remount the tyre the other way. i personally wont do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 On 9/27/2013 at 4:44 AM, Roberttan said: frankly speaking DONT put camber bolt unless you are taking about serious mod to your suspension system. reversing the tyre (if you are talking about remove and remount the tyre the other way. i personally wont do it No, didn't put the camber bolt all stock. Not all type of tire can reverse but mine still ok..as the rotation arrow still at the right direction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear September 28, 2013 Share September 28, 2013 On 9/27/2013 at 5:35 AM, Ckchong8 said: No, didn't put the camber bolt all stock. Not all type of tire can reverse but mine still ok..as the rotation arrow still at the right direction. YES not all type of tyre can reverse unless otherwise stated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear September 28, 2013 Share September 28, 2013 On 9/2/2013 at 2:13 PM, W1ck3d said: i went JB last Sunday to do wheel alignment and wheel balancing. total damage RM100. good deal. i did mine in Singapore both total S$30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 28, 2013 Share September 28, 2013 On 9/27/2013 at 12:39 AM, Contipro said: I browse online, my original front camber are not adjustable (I hope the online info are true). Hence I guess no harm to invest on is as the price is half of s'pore price. As for the rear, it is with fix arm. How to add shim to adjust the camber ? what material for the shim, stainless steel? As far as I know all car can adjust the front wheels camber n toe-in/out. Some can even adjust the castor. If cannot adjust, even put camber bolt also no use cos its fixed. Just like some cars the rear wheels r fixed. U put camber bolt also no use. Only can b adjusted by putting washers to slowly adjust the settings. What car u driving BTW? Last time I kenna from a local tire shop. He been adjusting the camber n toe-in/out fr my car many times already but he say put camber bolt better. I also dun know so agree. Abt $50 each bolt. Later I found out the bolt is not necessary. Its just an excuse for them to earn more $$$ from us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 28, 2013 Share September 28, 2013 On 9/27/2013 at 1:55 AM, Ckchong8 said: They will advise you . Asked to do balancing and they said the 4 tire not level so they advise to reverse the tire saying broad width tire tend to have such issue. In Spore one of the tire shop's said to me same things "not level" but didn't advise me only said suspension problem. I told him suspension newly changed and by you Hahaha. Ty changed yr suspension n ty forgot. Say suspension spoilt means ty never did a good job. Ty end up shoot themselves when ty tried to cheat u. Hahaha. Recently my JB ws also tried. I bought 2 front tires from them but not so good n uneven wear. I rotate left to right the car pull one side. I went Eng Wah SG n Vincent said he just put the tires back to original position n it was OK. Later I go the JB shop do balancing, the guy got the cheek to tell me my rims got problem. I look at him n tell him its ok. Just leave it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 28, 2013 Share September 28, 2013 On 9/28/2013 at 1:41 AM, Gitanic said: i did mine in Singapore both total S$30 Hahaha. What type of alignment n balancing u did in SG? We r toking about computerised 4 wheel alignment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 On 9/28/2013 at 12:24 PM, Pisces69 said: Hahaha. Ty changed yr suspension n ty forgot. Say suspension spoilt means ty never did a good job. Ty end up shoot themselves when ty tried to cheat u. Hahaha. Recently my JB ws also tried. I bought 2 front tires from them but not so good n uneven wear. I rotate left to right the car pull one side. I went Eng Wah SG n Vincent said he just put the tires back to original position n it was OK. Later I go the JB shop do balancing, the guy got the cheek to tell me my rims got problem. I look at him n tell him its ok. Just leave it. ws's in spore change suspension for me. Jb ws advise to reverse, all along every 10k service i will do balancing n alignment without fail. Ws said you didn't heard the tire noise meh..i said yes but not so unbearable. So after reverse ws said can last till botak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 On 9/28/2013 at 12:17 PM, Pisces69 said: As far as I know all car can adjust the front wheels camber n toe-in/out. Some can even adjust the castor. If cannot adjust, even put camber bolt also no use cos its fixed. Just like some cars the rear wheels r fixed. U put camber bolt also no use. Only can b adjusted by putting washers to slowly adjust the settings. What car u driving BTW? Last time I kenna from a local tire shop. He been adjusting the camber n toe-in/out fr my car many times already but he say put camber bolt better. I also dun know so agree. Abt $50 each bolt. Later I found out the bolt is not necessary. Its just an excuse for them to earn more $$$ from us. Wat I know from automotive friend, given nowadays technology advancement and precision in stamping/ machining, this help B&B car maker to make the cost as low as possible and at max production output. Where As long as the suspension and axle assembly parts are in good condition, then mostly the camber and caster are fixed within the maker tolerance range. So only the toe can be adjusted from the steering arm or for rear I think the trailing arm. So for car maker if found the camber and castor are out of spec, the advise is to repair or replace the worn parts within the suspension or axle assembly. Or in worse case the chassis alignment is out due to daily usage. Only the toe are adjustable in car maker design. Example the front macpherson suspension, the wheel axle is connecting to macpherson strut by means of 2 standard bolts. Hence to alter the camber it is possible to use camber bolt ( with eccentric cam design) to force change the camber angle. Instead of wasting money to diagnose and change the worn parts which may be costlier. Or ur suggestion adding shims, but this involved a lot of man hour to dismantle and install back the wheel hub, brake assembly, etc... and skill mechanic to know how much shim to add. If add wrongly, mechanic have to repeat the dismantling/assembly work again. I think most busy workshop don't like to have such unproductive works or lack of skilled alignment master. For expensive car with double wishbone suspension, those I guess original design will have the flexibility to adjust toe and camber. Above are just the research I made. Any mistake please correct me.. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 29, 2013 Share September 29, 2013 On 9/29/2013 at 5:30 AM, Ckchong8 said: ws's in spore change suspension for me. Jb ws advise to reverse, all along every 10k service i will do balancing n alignment without fail. Ws said you didn't heard the tire noise meh..i said yes but not so unbearable. So after reverse ws said can last till botak. Oh so then just follow n reverse lor. See if what ty say is true or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...