3-year-old boy drown at Sentosa Siloso beach

Jman888

You watch too many Lam Cheng Eng vampire movies lah . . . I ever see one they throw water melon into a pool of water and it started bobbing around . . . I'm not talking about Amy Yip hor!  [grin]

Hmmm......... I think I know who the 'one' bobbing in pool water.... [sly]

Its @chowyunfatt  beer belly when he is doing backstrokes. :XD:

Its @chowyunfatt beer belly when he is doing backstrokes. :XD:

got pole sticking out of the water anot?

Bros, this tragic thread about young young kids drowning.

Go to those relevant tiko threads with your posts ya.

Whatever is "popping or bobbing" not in good taste and rather insensitive.

Safe ride

Now scattering of human ash is a different location :

http://www.nea.gov.sg/public-health/care-for-the-dead/other-death-related-matters/arranging-a-funeral

Ashes may also be scattered at sea. The scattering of small amounts of ashes can be carried out at the designated site located about 1.5 nautical miles (2.8 km) south of Pulau Semakau. The scattering of ashes can be conducted daily, from 0700 hrs-1900 hours. For further information on scattering of ashes, please call the Port Marine Safety Control Centre at telephone number: 6325 2488.

dont think nea can police the entire sg coastline to prevent ash scattering along the beaches....

I get very agitated when I see this video..I sort of imagine if I am the parent, I will die. And why got people swim pass and see as if the kid is a dead bird of wat.

I am a decent swimmer, not exactly strong, but was with a school team, and also one of the better swimmers using NS. 

my concept of the sea has always been different from the swimming pools since my OBS days. 

And this was cfm many years back when I joined a temple event, I was selected to form the team pushing the boat out into the sea, once in china fujian, and once in SG at East coast. That experience with the current was a good one. 

SG sea current is really no joke.  -_-

People always think that SG waters are CMI, so always become complacent  and that's where accidents happen. Must start preparing to enroll my 4 yr old daughter for swimming classes..

Its @chowyunfatt beer belly when he is doing backstrokes. :XD:

It's an Inflatable Life Saving Device ...

I get very agitated when I see this video..I sort of imagine if I am the parent, I will die. And why got people swim pass and see as if the kid is a dead bird of wat.

People always think that SG waters are CMI, so always become complacent and that's where accidents happen. Must start preparing to enroll my 4 yr old daughter for swimming classes..

This was sometime ago, but still interesting to watch ...

i read many don't know the signs of drowning and tragically many parents didn't know their kids were drowning before their eyes and think they were playing, so be alert.

respect to this alert lifeguard

I think the life guard also saw the float capsized and was alert to notice the struggling boy immediately. 

Then she dived in and swam to the boy, funny how the hat is still on.

I think the life guard also saw the float capsized and was alert to notice the struggling boy immediately. 

Then she dived in and swam to the boy, funny how the hat is still on.

hat and sunglasses must be on lah

cannot take off because no time and eyes must always be on the drowning victim so as not to lose sight of him

look at how she jumped in and swam there with head still above water

the cool factor is also a bonus lah

Edited by Enye

i read many don't know the signs of drowning and tragically many parents didn't know their kids were drowning before their eyes and think they were playing, so be alert.

respect to this alert lifeguard

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sFuULOY5ik

yrs back i used to bring my son swimming at the swimming pool.....got this ang mo girl about 1 metre tall who jumped into the pool which was about 1.5 metre deep. She surfaced but didnt begin to thread water but she was bobbing on the water.....she would reach the bottom, kicked, surface, breath in and continued the cycle. I had my eyes on her since the first time she jumped into the water as i knew the water was over her head. She kept on doing the cycle for quite a long time until the lifeguard approached her and asked whether she was ok. This ang mo girl tua kee!

People always think that SG waters are CMI, so always become complacent  and that's where accidents happen. Must start preparing to enroll my 4 yr old daughter for swimming classes..

Swimming is a lifelong skill that can help oneself and others. Good to start from young and especially they love to play with water at these young ages.

RIP.

Learning CPR is very important. Nobody at the scene could perform CPR.

given your view on its importance, are you trained to give cpr?

yrs back i used to bring my son swimming at the swimming pool.....got this ang mo girl about 1 metre tall who jumped into the pool which was about 1.5 metre deep. She surfaced but didnt begin to thread water but she was bobbing on the water.....she would reach the bottom, kicked, surface, breath in and continued the cycle. I had my eyes on her since the first time she jumped into the water as i knew the water was over her head. She kept on doing the cycle for quite a long time until the lifeguard approached her and asked whether she was ok. This ang mo girl tua kee!

Bobbing requires high water confidence since you are suppose to release air in your body to allow body to sink to the bottom to kick up. Many special forces are train in this.

given your view on its importance, are you trained to give cpr?

Took the course before but doubt will be able to do it when needed coz forgot le

My place pool, got few kids angmoh and local, they like 2-3 years old jump into adult pool and swim freely, my jaw drop sia

Took the course before but doubt will be able to do it when needed coz forgot le ðð¬

yes chief... agree it takes more than just 1 course to confidently administer cpr in a real situation

best is to take refresher course and re-certify annually if not a medical professional

yes chief... agree it takes more than just 1 course to confidently administer cpr in a real situation

best is to take refresher course and re-certify annually if not a medical professional