SingTel Hints at Fee Changes For BPL ...

Maxus-MIFA9

Personally, I think there is nothing to watch on Singtel. All its shows are crappy, and the technology they use is really not up to standard.

1. Takes forever to boot up.

2. Screen will freeze when the channel is changed.

3. of cos, not forgetting what happened on the final day of the BPL season 2011/2012...

4. And was told that if I am using the wireless connection, i cannot subscribe to any fibre broadband, cos it will interfere with the wireless connection.

Crap, really crap! Pui!

where to get this info? ...tried looking thru their website but couldnt find anything.

Walk into any Singtel shop and they will explain to you. I just visited the one in west mall yesterday. :D

Personally, I think there is nothing to watch on Singtel. All its shows are crappy, and the technology they use is really not up to standard.

3. of cos, not forgetting what happened on the final day of the BPL season 2011/2012...

4. And was told that if I am using the wireless connection, i cannot subscribe to any fibre broadband, cos it will interfere with the wireless connection.

Crap, really crap! Pui!

I totally agree..

I had checked with the MIO counter at HDB Hub last Sat about the prices and was told to wait for 1st August 2013 (which is this Thursday). All current subscribers will receive a 'love letter' from Singtel .. :blink:

The confusion are what reported in press and nothing was confirm and tha's why I very blurr about the oricing .... [mad]

The guy over at hub not so pro leh... The one in west mall patiently explained to me the differences for almost 40 minutes. And will call me to arrange for the contract signing on 1 Aug. :D

I totally agree..

Aiyah, technology has improved. Previously through ADSL telephone line, now optical fibre Liao lots more bandwidth. No difference to SH.

Can bundle starhub basic + sports for $60?

i hear st have to pay starhub to cross carry... so they can earn from there?

Highly doubt it. Should be the other way around if anyone should be paying anything. ST already pay so much and forced to share some more must pay $$? Can't be.

When there are competition....usually price will be stable or at least kept in check.

Paid TV in Singapore is the other way round...competitor comes into the market and price sky rockets.

IMHO...we should boycott Singtel for a year...see they can tahan or not...dun pay for the BPL...let these blood suckers go suffer.

At least last time when Starhub was running the show...exclusive rights also not that expensive.

When there are competition....usually price will be stable or at least kept in check.

Paid TV in Singapore is the other way round...competitor comes into the market and price sky rockets.

IMHO...we should boycott Singtel for a year...see they can tahan or not...dun pay for the BPL...let these blood suckers go suffer.

At least last time when Starhub was running the show...exclusive rights also not that expensive.

because our pay-TV are build around BPL only.

Highly doubt it. Should be the other way around if anyone should be paying anything. ST already pay so much and forced to share some more must pay $$? Can't be.

SingTel now has to let StarHub carry the 2013-2016 seasons of the EPL, starting with the season-opener on Aug 17. mio TV will still earn EPL revenue from StarHub's subscribers but has to compensate StarHub with a cross-carriage fee for using its platform. A key consideration in the minister's deliberations had been whether certain clauses in SingTel's EPL deal had presented a barrier to entry for other operators wanting to buy EPL content as well, the MCI said yesterday. The MDA said in April that these barriers - potential or actual - had existed in the contract.

Singapore law watch website

Crap, really crap! Pui!

U must go update urself what MIO TV shows are offering now. NGC crappy??? FOX movies crappy? Disney crappy?

FYI, now MIO is offering free preview to many many of its channels until 31st Aug. Just watched jackie chan cz12 last weekend and Skyfall last Sat on Fox Movies in full HD free on MIO TV. [thumbsup]

Call MIO TV to update ur modem firmware and no more freezing when change channel. I did not had any problem on the final day of the BPL season 2011/2012. [thumbsup]

Aiyah, technology has improved. Previously through ADSL telephone line, now optical fibre Liao lots more bandwidth. No difference to SH.

my place still haben install fibre optic [bigcry]

because our pay-TV are build around BPL only.

Its not build around BPL...Starhub has a good mix like Nat Geo...Discovery...TVBJ etc...the only way that Mio can penetrate Starhub was BPL. Its the only route that can guarantee to take market share from SH. Mio on the other hand has nothing to begin with...I remember taking the brochure home and ask the kids...they say please dun change to SH...nothing to watch...wife said...where is my drama...please dun change.

So when Mio outbid SH to the BPL rights...they took a quite a number of subscriber from SH...some not completely as they SH user just cancel the sports channel and use Mio for BPL only. But with the extra number...Mio can build their services. Then Stinktel clever...dun get the BPL as exclusive...so dun need to share with SH...until MDA threw a curve ball at them...share...

So now like a spoil brat who has to share their tub of ice cream...KPKB lor....wanna increase the rates etc...

Dun subscribe lor...I have been watching BPL on the net for 2 years liao...a bit slow...but no complain lah.

U must go update urself what MIO TV shows are offering now. NGC crappy??? FOX movies crappy? Disney crappy?

FYI, now MIO is offering free preview to many many of its channels until 31st Aug. Just watched jackie chan cz12 last weekend and Skyfall last Sat on Fox Movies in full HD free on MIO TV. [thumbsup]

Call MIO TV to update ur modem firmware and no more freezing when change channel. I did not had any problem on the final day of the BPL season 2011/2012. [thumbsup]

Update firmware?? Then its even more crappy.

I had some problems with the mio TV system recently and had to get a technician to come down. I told him about the freezing during channel change but he did NOT tell me that the problem can be resolved by a firmware update.

Anyway, to each his own.

I am much happier with Starhub then Mio. The only programs I watch is BPL, F1 and VV drama (the uncle in me). :D

Will be terminating my Mio very soon. And also their landline... which is useless to me but a necessary subscription cos of the mioTV.

Its not build around BPL...Starhub has a good mix like Nat Geo...Discovery...TVBJ etc...the only way that Mio can penetrate Starhub was BPL. Its the only route that can guarantee to take market share from SH. Mio on the other hand has nothing to begin with...I remember taking the brochure home and ask the kids...they say please dun change to SH...nothing to watch...wife said...where is my drama...please dun change.

So when Mio outbid SH to the BPL rights...they took a quite a number of subscriber from SH...some not completely as they SH user just cancel the sports channel and use Mio for BPL only. But with the extra number...Mio can build their services. Then Stinktel clever...dun get the BPL as exclusive...so dun need to share with SH...until MDA threw a curve ball at them...share...

So now like a spoil brat who has to share their tub of ice cream...KPKB lor....wanna increase the rates etc...

Dun subscribe lor...I have been watching BPL on the net for 2 years liao...a bit slow...but no complain lah.

Yeah i agree SH content are good. but ST althought not as shabby as we thought, make their life line reliance on BPL alone. hence they will continue to bid high high.

Crap, really crap! Pui!

they provide the wifi modem/router, why cannot use?

Update firmware?? Then its even more crappy.

I had some problems with the mio TV system recently and had to get a technician to come down. I told him about the freezing during channel change but he did NOT tell me that the problem can be resolved by a firmware update.

Anyway, to each his own.

I am much happier with Starhub then Mio. The only programs I watch is BPL, F1 and VV drama (the uncle in me). :D

Will be terminating my Mio very soon. And also their landline... which is useless to me but a necessary subscription cos of the mioTV.

i have both SCV and Mio due to BPL.

seriously, ever since i switch to Fiber. no problem liao. and like adrainli. i have not experience the same set back in 2011/12 season. it is true. but needing to switch to Fiber to experience good coverage is really bad.

they provide the wifi modem/router, why cannot use?

must ask him he was told by who??

i am on fiber and using wifi exclusively in my house.