Jman888 Moderator September 27, 2014 Share September 27, 2014 The other alternative is to make long term parking very very expensive, maybe $100 a day. In this way, the airport parking capacity can better serve those short term hourly users. It will be underutilized lor, or maybe allocate like 10 lots next to the departure ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jaayh 2nd Gear September 27, 2014 Share September 27, 2014 only thing is i can say is, sian 1/2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 27, 2014 Share September 27, 2014 Just came back from T3, capark at B1 is almost full not sure about B2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2014 Share September 27, 2014 (edited) Indeed scary if you drive to airport and happen that all the carpark in airport is full, and your flight is departing soon, and you have nowhere to 'dispose' your car! Lol. Thinking what would the person do? But even losing 850 parking lots, will it make a great impact and result of shortage of carpark or carpark will always full at all the exisiting carpark at airport? I mean for people who like or used to driving to airport and park to take flight really very sian now. It means losing another mode of travelling to airport, and now can only depends on public transport. So when will the $60 parking per day at the airport starts ar? Edited September 27, 2014 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 27, 2014 Share September 27, 2014 Hard to say. The airport will loose 850 carpark lots soon. For a person who parks his car at the airport and takes a flight, he better be able to get a carpark lot. Imagine stuck in full carpark and flight is taking off soon. Would it better if CAG impose higher rates for short term parkers? ( wow, don't shoot me, just a discussion ). This would ensure long term parkers will get a lot with success all the time. The other alternative is to make long term parking very very expensive, maybe $100 a day. In this way, the airport parking capacity can better serve those short term hourly users. Another question is how many of the airport parking lots are used by CAG staff? I don't think they will penalise short term parkers. They know many people like to go airport just to zho bo (do nothing). Eat, shop, walk walk see see. They know they generate quite a fair bit of revenue from this, hence they definitely do not want to discourage that. I wouldn't mind paying a higher, but fixed, charge for long term parking though, if it guarantees me a lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 27, 2014 Share September 27, 2014 I don't think they will penalise short term parkers. They know many people like to go airport just to zho bo (do nothing). Eat, shop, walk walk see see. They know they generate quite a fair bit of revenue from this, hence they definitely do not want to discourage that. I wouldn't mind paying a higher, but fixed, charge for long term parking though, if it guarantees me a lot. Thats why they will charge 4 cents per minute. By the way changi got reward membership is it? Is it like spend something redeem parking? I saw during exit just now in the display, one showing my parking charges, the other one showing the changi reward Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 I don't think they will penalise short term parkers. They know many people like to go airport just to zho bo (do nothing). Eat, shop, walk walk see see. They know they generate quite a fair bit of revenue from this, hence they definitely do not want to discourage that. I wouldn't mind paying a higher, but fixed, charge for long term parking though, if it guarantees me a lot. Those who park there and drive will surely want assurance of lots when they get there. Carpark valet service will help those lau sai cases, should they arrive there and have no time to wait for a lot. Thats why they will charge 4 cents per minute. By the way changi got reward membership is it? Is it like spend something redeem parking? I saw during exit just now in the display, one showing my parking charges, the other one showing the changi reward This does not help their carpark lots crunch. But more to help the shops there get business from the locals . . . . afterall, the airport is billed as a place to dine, wine and shop, LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 It will be underutilized lor, or maybe allocate like 10 lots next to the departure As some has said, Changi airport has some reward points system for locals, encouraging them to head there to shop, wine, dine, gawk, etc. I suppose, many of these are drivers. Moreover, how many lots in the airport are taken up by season ticket holders. OT, . . . In SGH, carpark H, the first 3 or 4 decks are not for public use . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alphard96 6th Gear September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Just came back from T3, capark at B1 is almost full not sure about B2 Last weekend, even basement 3 parking lots were almost full - around dinner time (ie B1, B2, B3). This is at carpark T3A. In future, can try park at carpark T3B (to enter, drive further after the drop off/departure/arrival). If at level B2 carpark T3B, the carpark glass door is just next to the new Old Chang Kee/nearer to train station. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Last weekend, even basement 3 parking lots were almost full - around dinner time (ie B1, B2, B3). This is at carpark T3A. In future, can try park at carpark T3B (to enter, drive further after the drop off/departure/arrival). If at level B2 carpark T3B, the carpark glass door is just next to the new Old Chang Kee/nearer to train station. During Jewel opening dont think to drive and fly from changi lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Thats why they will charge 4 cents per minute. By the way changi got reward membership is it? Is it like spend something redeem parking? I saw during exit just now in the display, one showing my parking charges, the other one showing the changi reward Ya, the Changi Reward card. Get points by shopping/eating at airport. Not sure how to redeem the parking though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Ya, the Changi Reward card. Get points by shopping/eating at airport. Not sure how to redeem the parking though. Oic Don't think wan to signup cos hardly go there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Knn.. Cannot imagine next time airport jem up, maybe so crowded that there is long Q at taxi stand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Those who park there and drive will surely want assurance of lots when they get there. Carpark valet service will help those lau sai cases, should they arrive there and have no time to wait for a lot. Valet service can apply to those who drive and take flight? Imagine you opt for the valet service as your flight is flying off soon, and you cannot find lots, you leave your car with the valet then car key leave with them, thinking safe or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 (edited) Valet service can apply to those who drive and take flight? Imagine you opt for the valet service as your flight is flying off soon, and you cannot find lots, you leave your car with the valet then car key leave with them, thinking safe or not? Doubt there Is a valet service there now. Those who give to valet service must trust them. hehe, they may drive home? Also, those who park there and fly off - just enjoy the trip lah. whatever happen to he car is fated lah. haha Edited September 28, 2014 by Camrysfa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 Book last minute air cargo and airfreight over. Valet service can apply to those who drive and take flight? Imagine you opt for the valet service as your flight is flying off soon, and you cannot find lots, you leave your car with the valet then car key leave with them, thinking safe or not? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 No more capped charges for full day parking. It costs $50++ to park there for a full day now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 28, 2014 Share September 28, 2014 No more capped charges for full day parking. It costs $50++ to park there for a full day now.The new 24 hours charges starts now liao? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...