Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Goodyear gives some warranty on its tyres right? While some tyres manufacturers do not give warranty. Quite coincidental that the one with warranty have problem with manufacturing defect. Like VW cars..only car brand that give the longest warranty to its gearbox in Singapore.. lol.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Thanks. I got it replaced already. You are most welcome bro... BTW last time i use Goodyear NCT 5 germany made too... Last me for 4 years cover 70k Km... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Got a friend driving a Jazz on GT radial tyres (Champiro BAX) also developed tears on the side wall, tyres were manufactured 4309. These were discovered as the tyres lost pressure very soon after pumping with air. Good idea to check ur tyres now and then and monitor thr air pressure at least twice a week.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 These looks like very bad cracks, better replace them. If not... Like WTF says, change to spare and drive... be safe. Actually not that bad lah. Maybe can still use another 15-20k km.....then sure must change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 ha... i have the same crack pattern as you and using the same set of tires. Initially, it appeared on one of my front tyres. Went back to the shop where I bought the tyres from to have it 'replace'. 'Replace' because I had to pay for a new tyre while the shop go back to Goodyear to claim them. 3 months later, another tyre developed the same kind of cracking. Went back to the shop to kpkb demanding them to replace FOC with another brand. But no, the shop said cannot. The only way is to purchase it and trade in my existing set, while they go and claim with Goodyear. Extremely frustrating because the claims till now, no sound no news. So looks like u buy tire fm authorised dealer wh warranty no use. Might as well save some money n buy tire fm non-authorised dealer n save e difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Same tires? Goodyear efficient grip? I guess the shop probably gets the refund from goodyear and keep it themselves. Quite possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 I took a closer look and saw that the other 3 tires also show very minor signs of cracks starting. Not sure if it is valid to ask Goodyear to refund. I did not want to waste anymore time for safety reason. Hence, I had just went out and changed the whole set of tires. I went back to the same shop and they advised me to change also. No refund from them also, just some slight discount on the new set of tires.. I will not name the shop as i don't think it is their fault for these cracks. Just wondering if the root cause is due to my tire pressure. My car is a Jazz gd1. The recommended tire pressure as printed on the car is 225/215 front/rear. I usually set the pressure slightly higher at around 230-240. you should name the shop. they dare sell the tyre, they don't dare do warranty claim? then why give you slight 'discount' when you buy another set? don't make sense either they makan your warranty claim or just bochap and sell another set within their profit margin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Maybe u shld hv call up Goodyear n check with them the procedure for this kind of situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 I used 2 sets of Goodyear F1 Asymmetric with no issue. Hmmm. Anyway, if its under warranty, its your right as consumer to make a claim. Its Singaporeans' 'easy to eat, just keep quiet' attitude that's why our consumer laws until now still so weak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Will avoid Goodyear tyres from now. Thanks fir sharing this. Yup, me too... This is scary... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Alamak, I oso on EG GY on 260pressure just past 10k mark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Author Share June 15, 2013 From Googyear sg website, they state "Warranty Period: 5 years from the date of manufacturing or 1 year from the date of invoice whichever that expires earlier." My invoice is May 2012, hence warranty is no longer valid. Through this 1 year, i was quite happy with the tires, as they were rather value for money and quiet, my 2 most important criteria. I will not consider Goodyear tires in future due to this experience. http://www.goodyear.com.sg/dealers/warranty.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Author Share June 15, 2013 (edited) Alamak, I oso on EG GY on 260pressure just past 10k mark. I would advise you to check your tires regularly since some of us here had the cracks. I think they don't crack suddenly hence if you check every week, you should be able to capture if they occur. If you rather be safe, of course can change them soon. Edited June 15, 2013 by Columbian78 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jq1988 4th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 No more goodyear for now...go for other brand..michelin or conti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 From Googyear sg website, they state "Warranty Period: 5 years from the date of manufacturing or 1 year from the date of invoice whichever that expires earlier." Something is VERY wrong with these sentences, I think it could be a mistake, poor language, or very poor warranty package. Effectively, if you by the tires that is more than 5 years old, you get ZERO warranty. Also, you will never get 5 years warranty from the date of manufacturing, since you have max one year from date of invoice. The logical warranty should read' 5 years warranty from date of manufacturing, or 1 year from date of purchase. Any of the situation should valid. Otherwise, it should be stated: 1 year warranty from date of invoice. end of, & not allow dealer to sell tires less than 1 year left of manufacturing warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 Just to share my personal experience, this isn't Goodyear tires but I've notice some crack, only very slight crack like 1line? Which i dunno where it came from, maybe I mount a kerb or what. And hoping to save a bit I try to prolong a few more months this is what it happen, luckily nothing happen to me. So please get it replace immediately after you notice it, our life is more valuable than a tire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yixiang1 3rd Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 was still deciding between goodyear efficient grip and michelin PS3... Goodyear efficient grip like really comfort tyres and good... but now i see this.. hmm.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear June 15, 2013 Share June 15, 2013 What car is this? Doesn't look local or even current. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...