MAS step in to stop traders manipulate SIBOR

Yewheng

non successful manipulation = bo tai chi?

tried to manipulate ... the "intent" is already there and still bo tai chi?

only resign or ask to leave ... walao ... traders still can laugh to the bank and drive their lambo/ferrari/porky

133 traders from these banks tried to manipulate the Singapore Interbank Offered Rates (SIBOR), the SWAP offered rates and foreign exchange spot benchmarks.

There was no evidence of “successful manipulation”.

only resign or ask to leave ... walao ... traders still can laugh to the bank and drive their lambo/ferrari/porky

133 traders from these banks tried to manipulate the Singapore Interbank Offered Rates (SIBOR), the SWAP offered rates and foreign exchange spot benchmarks.

There was no evidence of

I think MAS is giving the banks an escape clause. If there is evidence of successful manipulation, there will be a lot more headaches like libor. People who lost money due to Sibor sure will complain....

But is it believable???

So many banks involved, 133 traders. no successful manipulation? common, who are they kidding?? 133 traders come together for nothing???? hold party izzit?

I really don't believe that the traders did not profit from this.

More like a saving grace so they can declare case closed and not alarm the public.

I think MAS is giving the banks an escape clause. If there is evidence of successful manipulation, there will be a lot more headaches like libor. People who lost money due to Sibor sure will complain....

But is it believable???

So many banks involved, 133 traders. no successful manipulation? common, who are they kidding?? 133 traders come together for nothing???? hold party izzit?

I really don't believe that the traders did not profit from this.

I still don't understand how traders manipulate rate setting? Do they really profit from it or MAS go hard on this is to not to create morale hazard ?

you never read the libor case linked earlier? keep asking question don't do and read. link again for you.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Libor_scandal

Sibor should be similar...

Edited by Wind30

On the contrary, such things got nothing to do with CEO / CFO, its with the trading desks.

Of course the CEO will be under fire when such things happen.

Eg. If a rifle gets lost due to the actions of a serviceman, what happens to the CO?

Billion traded n CFO doesnt know n allow traders to handle??? Pls refer to JPM London whale case... their CIO left as result. .. People should start asking wat kinda risk control banks have...

Project Wayang. Believe manipulation was unsuccessful one is ghost. Read carefully. The official statement is NO EVIDENCE of successful manipulation was found. Does not mean no ACTUAL successful manipulation hor.

Now that investigations are completed, someone please lead the blind MAS officers out of the room.

as another post said, if they slap too hard, it shows how unsafe our local banks are, but somehow keep winning most safe n strongest bank awards...

This isnt quite a pure case of risk control....

Anyway, what do i know, i only wipe tables [rolleyes]

Edited by Throttle2

There was no evidence of

Edited by Jokerd

MAS requires major banks to deposit money with them and at the same time funds are flowing out of Sinkie, sinkies will be screwed as SIBOR rates will shoot up

Interestingly, a few reports I've read say that a few cases have been sent to the Commercial Affairs Department, but it's not in the CNA report...

we r supposed 2 b financial hub... they rather sweep everything under carpet or else who dare 2 deposit here?

Im not happy that no CEO or CFO came out at least address wat has happened... hundred millions to billions attempted manipulation but no charges?? serious lack of risk reporting here...

JPM's CEO volunteered to testify to address concerns abt their billions trade issue, bob diamond ex barclays CEO resigned due to this same interest rate fixing case... even their chairman had 2 resign..

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-02-28/u...rate-probe.html

Edited by Duckduck

The old saying still holds true...never trust a banker!

I have many banking friends. I never trust one of them.

that's sad man.. how abt lawyers? salesmen? [laugh]

as another post said, if they slap too hard, it shows how unsafe our local banks are, but somehow keep winning most safe n strongest bank awards...

being the strongest bank in the world doesnt necessarily mean it is strong.

it just mean that it is the strongest amongst all the other bankrupted banks.