Please recommend me a hatchback

Su27

you people never read and understood T/S question, T/S already shortlisted a few model, such as suzuki swift, honda jazz, and toyota auris or yaris, so

only the recommentation of such drivers come in to give advice, i am drive a HB, but still unable to give advice, bcos not in the T/ S list lol. [laugh] [laugh]

Guys why is SPT27 answering on behalf of SU27 as if the question relates to him?

Don't get punked by this fella. School holiday's out. Bo liao.

Yawn, u Jia bak Liao??? [rolleyes]

for easy commuting and space performance i guess honda jazz/fit will do the trick. Since its already out in the market for sometime and reliability is already there i believe. Maintenance cost for japan car i believe would be relatively cheaper.

So many people recommending performance hatchback which i believe unless you are really into driving (with some negligence on comfort) then probably you would consider that

Hello all,

I am currently looking for a 2nd car, and it has to be a hatchback.

Reason being I am staying in a landed, and my car porch is already 'choped' by our sedan car. So I will have to park directly outside my gate (double yellow lines along the road outside my house).

I am quite interested in Suzuki Swift, although I am not dismissing Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris or Auris. Hopefully car enthusiasts here can share their views/experiences on them.

No BMWs, Mercs, Audi, MINI please. Cannot afford them as I just need a simple car to get me and my kid from point A to point B.

Have not driven those cars mentioned but think all should be ok ba. Get Auris.....something new.

Colt Version R , TC & economic [thumbsup]

Economic in wat sense?

Depreciation for this particular car is too damn high.

To be honest, TC so wat? The car cant handle corners at fast speeds.

you people never read and understood T/S question, T/S already shortlisted a few model, such as suzuki swift, honda jazz, and toyota auris or yaris, so

only the recommentation of such drivers come in to give advice, i am drive a HB, but still unable to give advice, bcos not in the T/ S list lol. [laugh] [laugh]

Ya. But since you going to spend the money, if TS do not mind spend a little more money, there are so really good choices, in looks, & fun factor.

If being able to parallel park outside your gate is of paramount importance, then you should ask SE to allow you to drive home for a "test park" during your various test drives.

You don't want to guesstimate, then find it too difficult to parallel park, you end up doing what you neighbour does. You might as well remove that consideration & get a car you like best.

Hello all,

I am currently looking for a 2nd car, and it has to be a hatchback.

Reason being I am staying in a landed, and my car porch is already 'choped' by our sedan car. So I will have to park directly outside my gate (double yellow lines along the road outside my house).

I am quite interested in Suzuki Swift, although I am not dismissing Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris or Auris. Hopefully car enthusiasts here can share their views/experiences on them.

No BMWs, Mercs, Audi, MINI please. Cannot afford them as I just need a simple car to get me and my kid from point A to point B.

According to sgcarmart, here are the prices for some brand new hatchbacks. i wouldn't get the vw golf due to the ongoing gearbox concerns (no matter what the sales people tells u), although i'm a vw owner myself. honda jazz's price is exorbitant, but toyota auris' price just makes me wonder if borneo motor's management have been overdosing on cough syrup when they decided the price.

just looking at the prices, i would go for the suzuki swift, or the mazda 3 if i want a little more build quality. but personally, if i were to buy a hatchback today, i would go for the Alfa Romeo Giulietta, the performance and styling is a league above the rest and the price makes the auris/golf/jazz look like an april fool's joke.

Toyota Auris - $137,988

Alfa Romeo Giulietta - $129,800

VW Golf - $128,800

Honda Jazz - $122,900

Skoda Fabia - $120,400

Mazda 3 Hatchback - $116,988

Suzuki Swift - $104,500

Edited by Jellandross

According to sgcarmart, here are the prices for some brand new hatchbacks. i wouldn't get the vw golf due to the ongoing gearbox concerns (no matter what the sales people tells u), although i'm a vw owner myself. honda jazz's price is exorbitant, but toyota auris' price just makes me wonder if borneo motor's management have been overdosing on cough syrup when they decided the price.

just looking at the prices, i would go for the suzuki swift, or the mazda 3 if i want a little more build quality. but personally, if i were to buy a hatchback today, i would go for the Alfa Romeo Giulietta, the performance and styling is a league above the rest and the price makes the auris/golf/jazz look like an april fool's joke.

Toyota Auris - $137,988

Alfa Romeo Giulietta - $129,800

VW Golf - $128,800

Honda Jazz - $122,900

Skoda Fabia - $120,400

Mazda 3 Hatchback - $116,988

Suzuki Swift - $104,500

Giuletta is the clear best choice. Its not even a contest. Its a higher class than the rest (except maybe the golf), equipment, looks & spec. for about the price.

alfa-romeo-giulietta-new-photos_9.jpg

Alfa-Romeo-Giulietta-2-lg.jpg

vs this

honda-jazz-dashboard-059.jpg

honda-jazz-tail.jpg

Not saying Jazz is a bad car, but for about the same money..

No wonder Hondas are not selling. If you get the Auris, I seriously don't know what to say.

Edited by Kiadaw

Giuletta is the clear best choice. Its not even a contest. Its a higher class than the rest (except maybe the golf), equipment, looks & spec. for about the price.

No wonder Hondas are not selling. If you get the Auris, I seriously don't know what to say.

wow.. nice salivating pics! the 159 still turns my head to this day and it wouldn't look out of place beside a modern day audi or bmw. i would even argue that some of today's audi/bmw headlight designs are inspired by the 159's look.

the 1 singaporean factor that i suspect the Giuletta may not be selling well (don't see many on the road) despite it's obvious strengths - "not many people buy hor, so better don't buy". the opposite is true for explaining why toyota (and now volkswagen) is selling so well.

Edited by Jellandross

wow.. nice salivating pics! the 1 singaporean factor that i suspect the Giuletta may not be selling well (don't see many on the road) despite it's obvious strengths - "not many people buy hor, so better don't buy". the opposite is true for explaining why toyota is (or was) selling so well.

Follow the crowd mentality. Even my friend that bought an Altis said he did as everyone bought also. Just like I think a lot of people buy jazz, as a lot of people know jazz. If they wanted a hatch, the first things that comes to their mind are Swift & Jazz, as these are the hatches they are familiar with.

But I am guess a lot of Alfa owners are hoping people continue to buy Jazz & Auris, & not know of the deal they are getting, so their cars can still be rare.

Edited by Kiadaw

If u are getting brand new, i also vote for giulietta or mito

The only issue with italian car is the selespeed gearbox

Giulietta/mito is using DCT if im not wrong so no worries

Im driving a bravo but wont recommend u coz the price for a brand new one is crazy

I think Opel is having an offer this weekend for the Astra. Similar pricing to the Giuletta, and they is giving 5 years free servicing IIRC.Worth a look see.

in front of my gate no double yellow. I just parallel park close to my gate, the width of the car is flushed with the roadside pavement width.... so no offence. Other neighbours are also doing that. Some even just park outside the gate head in with car boot sticking out to the road. But I think I better play safe and buy a small one and parallel park... dun want my car kena banged by passing by vehicles.

Do you mean parking on the pavement is not an offence? Something new to me leh!

he meant parking beside the gate

when the gate is close, infront of the gate got a big lobang before the road

so he will squeeze the car there