True Story of a ex SAF regular

Little_prince

How you know TS got attitude problem ? He say he super on the ball , always siliver in IPPT , top few in performance. Still kena chop , what kind of people the Navy looking for ?

I didn't say he has attitude problem. I'm just saying that attitude makes or breaks a person.

Anyway, grats to the article writer, that he got job offers. Just hope he continually upgrades himself, whether through professional courses, or part time diploma / degree programmes.

I think he is not street smart, i had 2 'O' level ex. navy regular now working as key account salesman take more more then 4k after cpf

The way he wrote his life is like waiting for durian to drop from the tree

I went thru the regular service about the same time. The so call PP plan was suggested and participation was so bad that the generals had to come personally to the camp to sell it. Then came the recession and suddenly too many wanted to join and only a few selected. I was never interested to make RSAF a permanent career, there was so many useless people around and they are taking positions that the only way you can replace them is that they are posted out.

Took my degree from the 3rd year and manage to graduate in my last year. Although I came out during another recession, I never look back even when my first civilian job was paid lower than my last drawn pay in the RSAF. Now I cannot be happier .... [cool]

I was like u, never look back. Been 8 years since I leave, never like to work under CMI enciks and officers

To TS

I was also from the Navy and left in 2004 after 6 yrs of contract.I agree with part of your story but you cannot be expecting the Government or SAF to provide for you forever.

I remembered when the then Fleet Commander, COL James Soon asked who is not in the Premium Plan scheme. The NS boys and me raised up our hands and he asked me why. I told him I have better plans outside and awaiting for me to fulfill. I still remembered clearly the statement he had made then.

"Never depends on the Navy. Make Navy depends on you!" I totally agreed with his statement and this applies to our daily life except the employer is not Navy or SAF. I also hope all my regulars friends will make use of their time to continuously upgrade themselves and be able to fend for themselves in case the system cannot accommodate them.

Anyway, cut the story short. Please do not give-up and if you can go through the ever changing career scheme in SAF, you should be able to fit in well. Please select your career carefully and all the best to you.

Bravo Zulu!

I pay my gal $3500 a mth. pretty, good pr skill, good eq, hardworking, can cover my ass at times but only O level. I could easily get a degree guy but i look more than just paper.

Sometime, you just need to meet the right manager who think differently. Btw, i also no degree and yes, i used to wear a uniform for a living. [:)]

Edited by Tiger1

So many ex Warriors of Panglima! Cool!

Always good to see the spirit of camaraderie.

Encourage one another to have a never say die attitude.

Like Einstein once said,

Insanity is doing the something over and over again and expect a different result.

It meant if we need to see changes, we cannot do the same thing repeatedly without some catalyst. Additional efforts must be put in to improve any results.

Here's his latest reply

Hi all, as what I did was all about warfare and my appointment was classified which I cant mention it like forever so long I live on. Only sailor who deal with radar, communication, pilotage and engineering can use those skills they learn to apply for maritime and engineering job outside. So I hope I have debunked this myth about continuation from inside job to outside corporate world.

I think this is how you know he's full of b-------t. So what did he put in his CV? What did he tell the interviewers during the interview?

"Sorry, if I told you what I did... I'd have to kill you". Would anyone give him a job?

I think this is how you know he's full of b-------t. So what did he put in his CV? What did he tell the interviewers during the interview?

"Sorry, if I told you what I did... I'd have to kill you". Would anyone give him a job?

He no bull sh!t. There are some appointments that are until now classified. I also cant tell u what these are. Yes, me also from the navy and sailed onboard MCV for 5 freaking yrs out of my 6 yrs contract!!! I refused to sign on so they refuse to post me to shorebased appointments. So I left.

The countries and ports he mentioned were the same ones I sailed to on the MCV too. So I know his story is real. I also know of ppl who are like him, just sign on and hope for the best. And I know of ppl who sign on as O level and made use of navy scholarships to upgrade themselves. One living example :

- from Boy's Town Secondary

- sign on after O level.

- sailed a few yrs.

- got into diploma under scholarship.

- navy ask who want to go France for new frigate, raise hand.

- now chief engineer in one of the frigate.

During his time, there were so many upgrade opportunities, esp when he was on the MCV. Those from MCV will know, that time MCV was an elite sqn. All good stuff goes to MCV personnel, be it performance bonus, ranking, posting, etc..... During his time, there were chances to go Sweden for submarine course, go France for Frigate course or go back poly. He dont grab them, he blame the navy???? <_<

Nostalgic? Haha..

I think I sang tis song before. But dont remember the lyrics liao. More familiar with the Onwards and Upwards song. Always remember the bayi. Shouting n shouting. Using the stick to poke ur backside n ask u sing louder!!! [laugh]

Since there are some here who is ex-navy. I wonder anyone of you guys know who is the guy personally?

Well, he messed up his life, and now he mentioned he now awaiting for LTA to issue him license to drive taxi. So ya, it's not the end for him as long as he continue to work hard. Although earn not a lot but it's still a respectable job, so hopefully those who know him would give him words of encouragement to let him feel actually he is not alone himself and not fall into depression,

Since there are some here who is ex-navy. I wonder anyone of you guys know who is the guy personally?

Well, he messed up his life, and now he mentioned he now awaiting for LTA to issue him license to drive taxi. So ya, it's not the end for him as long as he continue to work hard. Although earn not a lot but it's still a respectable job, so hopefully those who know him would give him words of encouragement to let him feel actually he is not alone himself and not fall into depression,

I dont know this guy. But I know someone of the same classified appointment as him. He is a gambler. We sailed to Darwin, Australia. Within the first night, lost $7k in MGM. [rolleyes] Never contact after I left the RSN. Every CNY, sure to invite mates to his home for gambling session. Also same vocation as tis guy, my senior, also gambler. Owe lots of mates money until SAF with held his gratuity to pay off everyone.

Another one, same vocation as me. From O level till chief engineer of one of the patrol vessel. He went to quarrel with Sqn CO abt his ranking. Threaten CO, he quit if never promote him. CO told him go ahead. Now taxi driver, still O level only. His marriage also shotgun type, ask my fren go together with him to tok to FIL, cause he scared after making the daughter stomach big big. [laugh]

Lots of stories lah. All true blue Singaporean story hor. No FT story. [laugh]

As long as he doesn't become a burden to society or people around him, as a single person, he should be able to survive working hard as taxi driver or other honest job. Hopefully he stays away from depression, drinks, drugs, gambling, etc, but be contended, he should be ok. Lucky he is still single and doesn't need to feed a family, except maybe parents. [:)]

he say until he so kilat that he out perform what his CO ask from him.

If he really so great, why did he get retrenched?

He did not "apple polish"...