Tonyhawk 1st Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 2 things, assuming his story is accurate/real. 1. Its not often you get an employee passionate about his work, much less one for the military. Yet we closed the door on an individual who was more than valuable to the organisation. 2. Do you think you need to upgrade yourself with useless paper qualifications which would be irrelevant to the navy? O levels is more than sufficient. Nobody is asking him to be the next MOE director. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moneysucker Neutral Newbie June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 eh rubbish la bro ... my friend o levels only. went to arts school. now running his own company. mama and papa didnt give him a cent to start the co either. he do freelance work till he saved up enough. and yes .. he still has O levels, though if you speak to him, you will think he is university educated. you will never be able to tell he only got O levels unless he tells you. dont be so narrow-minded :P Maybe your friend is 30 plus or 40 plus? today generation really not many left. You also read every year that the percentage who pass "O" levels is very high. i think those that dont further their studies are either from gangs or really no finanicial means to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 14, 2013 Author Share June 14, 2013 2 things, assuming his story is accurate/real. 1. Its not often you get an employee passionate about his work, much less one for the military. Yet we closed the door on an individual who was more than valuable to the organisation. 2. Do you think you need to upgrade yourself with useless paper qualifications which would be irrelevant to the navy? O levels is more than sufficient. Nobody is asking him to be the next MOE director. 1. he left on his own. meaning he thinks his skill set is translatable to the outside world, but sadly proven wrong. 2. education is a means to an end. having a degree doesn't make you a expert. It just demonstrates to your employer that you are "trainable" and willing to learn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 14, 2013 Author Share June 14, 2013 Maybe your friend is 30 plus or 40 plus? today generation really not many left. You also read every year that the percentage who pass "O" levels is very high. i think those that dont further their studies are either from gangs or really no finanicial means to last time got o level can speak english very atas liaoz. diploma can go mnc be manager liaoz. nowadays, diploma can't even get in as engineer. technician or asst engineer nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 2 things, assuming his story is accurate/real. 1. Its not often you get an employee passionate about his work, much less one for the military. Yet we closed the door on an individual who was more than valuable to the organisation. 2. Do you think you need to upgrade yourself with useless paper qualifications which would be irrelevant to the navy? O levels is more than sufficient. Nobody is asking him to be the next MOE director. Have you looked at the pay scales according the academic achievement. There is definitely a difference in terms of o level & diploma. Furthermore, he didn't use the job security he had with navy to enhance his employability in the corporate world shows he was detached with the real world. It's like asking a person why he jumped into the pool when he didn't even know how to swim, he said he only want to get to the other side because it's the shortest way, though not the easiest. He could have detour, walked a long distance at the edge to get to the other side. He chose to get drown in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Maybe your friend is 30 plus or 40 plus? today generation really not many left. You also read every year that the percentage who pass "O" levels is very high. i think those that dont further their studies are either from gangs or really no finanicial means to 28... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Navy is like that one. Depending on vocation. Those vocation that's needs people SMLJ also can stay. Got some of my peers super jiak liao bee but in the right vocation now also 1WO liao....zai zai buay tio pok one. I was from Navy last time I know. But drive taxi nowadays is really CMI. Pass time and wants a vehicle for transport can lah. But to earn a decent living and support a family no way. Good for semi retirement people without commitment like house and kids. Just need to earn $50 a days for personal expenses can lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Then good for him, because the girl will not be the type that will stand by him in terms of hardship. Guys need a girl to encourage him in a positive manner and not blame him for his current state. Hope this guy can clear his thoughts and move on. He seems just to be looking at the year ahead, makes end meet and definitely haven't found something really passionate about. If his story was the truth of the entire situation, ya, the girl is not the type who would stand by him in times of hardship, but after reading the story, blame seems to be shifted everywhere but on himself. So, maybe the girl also got sick of his nonsense. There are some people, maybe you've come across, maybe not, but every story they can twist around until it seems like they're the one that was taken advantage of. Used to have a friend like this, every mistake, I also kena blame, or another friend kena blamed. Until the rest of us sat down and realised that this friend in his own mind always right one. So.. ya, got this kind of people lor. This is what my previous CEO said, U do not work for me, U do not work for the company but U work for yourself... Till now, I remember it by hard. Good advice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 (edited) Have you looked at the pay scales according the academic achievement. There is definitely a difference in terms of o level & diploma. Furthermore, he didn't use the job security he had with navy to enhance his employability in the corporate world shows he was detached with the real world. It's like asking a person why he jumped into the pool when he didn't even know how to swim, he said he only want to get to the other side because it's the shortest way, though not the easiest. He could have detour, walked a long distance at the edge to get to the other side. He chose to get drown in this case. I don't think he had many choice. 1st he did not get into PP2 ( during his time ), so sad to say he had to leave after end of 10yrs contract. But, he knew it 3yrs later he is going to get out of contract and had to work outside, so supposing he had 3yrs to enhance his knowledge and be employable outside. But hey, year 2008 is also financial crisis, so ya not easy to find job and like he said he sell cars but is very tough due to the 2008 crisis. Sometimes life is just like a gamble, make a wrong decision, will end up very hard to get up. He is age 32 and still have long way to go. Wish him all the best in his future job/career. Edited June 14, 2013 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Since he was navy, like the sea, can become a boarding officer for a start. Slowly climb ships and study at the same time. Eventually, can become ship agency manager de. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 1. he left on his own. meaning he thinks his skill set is translatable to the outside world, but sadly proven wrong. 2. education is a means to an end. having a degree doesn't make you a expert. It just demonstrates to your employer that you are "trainable" and willing to learn. 1. i believe he left because the navy left him behind. regardless, the navy lost a good man (assuming he's what he says he is) 2. yes, education is a means to an end. but to say it "just demonstrates to your employer your willingness to learn", is a strange conclusion to draw. upgrading for that purpose is completely meaningless, and is a waste of resources. this might actually prove to be the downfall of our rulers. all these sponsored "upgrading" schemes, do very little to help the people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iwant Clutched June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 I only have O lvls leh Never been in gang before. Same same... Only o level Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 So whats the problem? His current experience is in-line with his plans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Have you looked at the pay scales according the academic achievement. There is definitely a difference in terms of o level & diploma. Furthermore, he didn't use the job security he had with navy to enhance his employability in the corporate world shows he was detached with the real world. It's like asking a person why he jumped into the pool when he didn't even know how to swim, he said he only want to get to the other side because it's the shortest way, though not the easiest. He could have detour, walked a long distance at the edge to get to the other side. He chose to get drown in this case. i know theres a difference in pay scales. im asking the bigger question, "is it necessary to have that difference?" ultimately, because they chose to reward on the wrong basis/KPI/performance parameter, both parties suffered. dont miss the forest for the trees. its easy to blame the individual, but look past the system that determined the individual's actions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 not true, PHD also can be taxi drivers. Please see link below and respect all jobs please. http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story...819-161940.html i knew that case even without reading..that is an outlier and furthermore he is a new citizen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 (edited) If his story was the truth of the entire situation, ya, the girl is not the type who would stand by him in times of hardship, but after reading the story, blame seems to be shifted everywhere but on himself. So, maybe the girl also got sick of his nonsense. There are some people, maybe you've come across, maybe not, but every story they can twist around until it seems like they're the one that was taken advantage of. Used to have a friend like this, every mistake, I also kena blame, or another friend kena blamed. Until the rest of us sat down and realised that this friend in his own mind always right one. So.. ya, got this kind of people lor. Good advice! I had an ex poly classmate joined Navy for 6yrs got cash upfront upon sign on. Had quite a good lifestyle. After navy joined bank, made a mistake and went Changi for a while. Came out tried to help him, but seems to take the help for granted. Haven't contacted since. It all about the attitude of a person, always want to choose the easiest way out...though the path could lead to destruction. Edited June 14, 2013 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Navy is like that one. Depending on vocation. Those vocation that's needs people SMLJ also can stay. Got some of my peers super jiak liao bee but in the right vocation now also 1WO liao....zai zai buay tio pok one. I was from Navy last time I know. But drive taxi nowadays is really CMI. Pass time and wants a vehicle for transport can lah. But to earn a decent living and support a family no way. Good for semi retirement people without commitment like house and kids. Just need to earn $50 a days for personal expenses can lah.... well... your perception of taxi driver is incorrect. work hard and smart; nett earnings of 3-5k/mth is a realistic possibility. my dad sent me to university by driving a cab. even though he cut his working hours now, nett income >$100 is reality! dun believe wadeva those drivers say, money hard to earn lah.. 1 day earn <50 lah.. all bull crap. either they are crapping or they are lazy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BennyEd Neutral Newbie June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 This poor guy probably have no plans for future, dat's y sign on and never even make use of the Navy poly scholarships... If you fail to plan, u plan to fail... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...