How to negotiate a blind spot

Subutai

Defensive driving is sorely lacking here. It's advisable to constantly anticipate other drivers' "what ifs" in various circumstances, in this case a blind junction while turning.

No point arguing who's right or wrong. I know zebra crossing if I pedestrian confirm I'm in the right, but do I close my eyes to walk across it?? No right??

Same thing lah with this junction, ensure it's safe then turn. The truck never even move, you don't suspect anything meh?

Drive defensive. [wave]

I oreadi stated in another thread

Green light doesn't mean u be alive the next moment in Singapore

Ts cfm can't get a better view than the truck

He MANUAL he wan CHEONG he GREEN light

Gd luck then

We can't pleased everyone

Indeed the guy bests the red light

On 6/10/2013 at 2:27 PM, Yuan said:

I always do that.

I ever encountered one car horning at me. I thought he was on the rush so I gave him the benefit of doubt and I shifted my car to the left after turning the junction into the next road.

I realized that the driver wasn't even in a rush. In fact. it went slower than me and was hogging the centre lane after that.

Or was he testing his horn or was it an old friend trying to get me? [laugh][laugh]

It's me lah ! Changed car and forgot to inform you [laugh]

On 6/10/2013 at 12:32 PM, Yeshe said:

actually in this case, i usually prefer to let the big truck be my shield. if the truck is not moving off, something must be wrong.

TS, this is just my observation on the defensive driving part.

i agree.....if the b ig fella dun move, keep still...cos your FOV is blocked. This is just common sense. No point cheonging there.

On 6/10/2013 at 1:17 PM, Fcw75 said:

In this case, I would rather let the truck be the shield.

yeah, we all think alike. It is just common sense. Even when moving off, let the fella shield you so you know you safe. This kind helps esp at Newton circus...one clown block the lane, then in the inner lane we can squeeze thru

As per my earlier post, I have learnt from the incident with "Ma Chi". Does it matter if the lights is in your favour ?

Looking at your video, the truck is blocking your view. I would have let the truck turn first, there is a reason why the truck did not turn immediately. I would use the truck as a shield.

In any case, if an accident happen and something bad happens, everything does not matter anymore.

Drive safe.

On 6/10/2013 at 2:08 PM, Yuan said:

I totally agree with you on the above.

there is no right or wrong here...just that your life may be compromised. Nobody finding the witch.....

On 6/11/2013 at 12:29 AM, Civic6228 said:

As per my earlier post, I have learnt from the incident with "Ma Chi". Does it matter if the lights is in your favour ?

Looking at your video, the truck is blocking your view. I would have let the truck turn first, there is a reason why the truck did not turn immediately. I would use the truck as a shield.

In any case, if an accident happen and something bad happens, everything does not matter anymore.

Drive safe.

correct.....if an accident happens and one then finds out what happened who at fault etc...too late. Best is take the necessary precautions first, and in this case, when the truck did not move, watch, sth might be amiss.

another similar place where i get heavy vehicles to shield is the yishun/sembawang junction just near the base

I watched the video. Bad move on your part to move off ahead of the tipper truck. What I always do is let the vehicle on my left move first, and then I move off together with it.

Trying to move ahead of the tipper truck without knowing what's around it is very dangerous.

But of course the Honda is still wrong for beating the red light.

On 6/10/2013 at 1:25 PM, Subutai said:

Agree but i shall still submit to TP.

Though its logical to use the truck as a shield, that honda shouldnt beat the lights. This is how junction accidents happen.

I am wronged now? Lol

You are not wrong. But I have mentioned before, insisting on your rights get you nowhere in some situations. This is one of them.

It's always better to drive defensively.

On 6/11/2013 at 12:36 AM, Beehive3783 said:

You are not wrong. But I have mentioned before, insisting on your rights get you nowhere in some situations. This is one of them.

It's always better to drive defensively.

the next time he finds out who wrong, he wun be posting liao [laugh] [laugh]

sometimes in life, i rather be wrong than dead.......

On 6/11/2013 at 12:37 AM, RadX said:

the next time he finds out who wrong, he wun be posting liao [laugh] [laugh]

sometimes in life, i rather be wrong than dead.......

Agreed.. head down for a few days better than to be in an urn for eternity.. [laugh]

Wah lau, dont like that leh... It doesnt have to me, it can also be anyone else on the receiving end.

Why some post are implying otherwise?

Why no one point out i am not ranting at the earlier vios who cheong yellow but the honda who did the red run?

I know we are alive now and will probably be not if i had blindly drive out which i didn't.

From the video, we can see the car just beaten the red light quite marginally of a second. You have released your brakes at the moment the traffic turned amber. Personally I would have waited for truck to turn together. Perhaps your intention is to clear the junction promptly to allow more cars behind you to follow suit. I would think most drivers behind you in such situations will sound their horn should you have waited with the truck.

Remember accidents at junctions is one of the highest risk because of side impact.

i encounter this situation almost everyday... u cannot control others being retarded, but u can control yourself, so practice defensive n anticipate. In such blind turns, shld let d truck move forward first, or at least drive slowly forward

  On 6/11/2013 at 12:53 AM, Subutai said:

Wah lau, dont like that leh... It doesnt have to me, it can also be anyone else on the receiving end.

Why some post are implying otherwise?

Why no one point out i am not ranting at the earlier vios who cheong yellow but the honda who did the red run?

I know we are alive now and will probably be not if i had blindly drive out which i didn't.

If you think that you have done nothing wrong, then let it be.

Majority of the posts have indicated that you should drive defensively and be more careful. I am citing the "Machi" incident hoping that you could have learnt something. The taxi was hit 6 seconds after he moved off from the junction. The Edix zoomed pass you about 2 seconds after you moved off.

Edited by Civic6228

On 6/10/2013 at 8:56 PM, Zxcvb said:

Defensive driving is sorely lacking here. It's advisable to constantly anticipate other drivers' "what ifs" in various circumstances, in this case a blind junction while turning.

No point arguing who's right or wrong. I know zebra crossing if I pedestrian confirm I'm in the right, but do I close my eyes to walk across it?? No right??

Same thing lah with this junction, ensure it's safe then turn. The truck never even move, you don't suspect anything meh?

Drive defensive. [wave]

Yes. Defensive driving is the way forward.

On 6/11/2013 at 1:08 AM, Duckduck said:

i encounter this situation almost everyday... u cannot control others being retarded, but u can control yourself, so practice defensive n anticipate. In such blind turns, shld let d truck move forward first, or at least drive slowly forward

I totally agree with you and I do that. Defensive driving.