How much is too much power for street?

Strudel-

How much is too much power for street?  

198 members have voted

1. 1. How much is too much power for street?

• < 100whp
    • 100whp to 199whp
    • 200whp to 299whp
    • 300whp to 399whp
    • 400whp to 499whp
    • 500whp to 600whp
    • > 600whp

not necessary, sometimes (at least for those who dun wan to blow license), having less can be more in terms of motoring involvement. The engaging of different gears, being able to feel the revs build, feel the engine chracteristic.....all these w/o fear of losing license.

adapted from 1 guy I came accross in another forum.........more fun/engaging to drive a slow car in a fast manner than drive a fast car slow relative to its potential. Of course driving a fast car in a fast manner is best (if 1 have the expertise to utilize it at the track)...

And slow cannot be to slow like a sub 20 sec car. In this case, it no longer engagement, its frustration... [laugh]:ph34r:

huh? did u mean except.....all ur cars are above (more powerful) that ?

really have.....i rather have a vehicle that i can manage & make me feel like a hero than 1 that after flooring, haolian for 3-5 secs, then brake to the lights or approach corner balls shrink & quickly brake.....clearly demonstrating my lack of advance motoring skills.

Except Sunny, all of my current & previous car is powerful than 10kg/hp.

I don't disagree with the need for both hp & torque but Singapore being substantially a city state, I believe torque is relatively more important than hp with all the start-stop driving.

To TS's question, I realize that the traffic condition here in Singapore will never allow me to drive any differently between my 200hp vs 350hp cars. I am perpetually stuck in jams, traffic lights, road hoggers, etc. Can't even depress the accelerator much before I need to step on the brakes again :D !

Btw 168hp & 184 hp car, i press the accelerator more on the 184hp car cause i could zip throught the traffic.

When you kena 1 road hogger on the rightmost lane of ECP going at 80kph (80 indicated, maybe real speed only 72kph) and you only have say less than 15 metres of clear space on the left before the next car (on that left lane going even slower) blocks you.

Sub 100 hp car, maybe cannot overtake

150hp car, maybe can overtake but dangerous and cut real close to both cars.

200hp+ maybe can overtake with a bit more space.

300hp+++++, just do it.

What are the weight of these car?

For 200hp + 1.2 ton, definitely can make it through.

What are the weight of these car?

For 200hp + 1.2 ton, definitely can make it through.

Just generalizing lah, 200hp 1.2ton also need to look at gearbox, torque curve, driver kayuness etc. I am just trying to say that as long as driver can control, more power is always better.

I think that depends also on the car you are overtaking. Some idiots accelerate when they know you are trying to overtake them and enter their lane infront of them.

Most of these type, not so likely to be hogging ECP right lane at 70-80 lor.

But if so, back to my original pt, if you have more power, less chance of them being able to block you.

Just generalizing lah, 200hp 1.2ton also need to look at gearbox, torque curve, driver kayuness etc. I am just trying to say that as long as driver can control, more power is always better.

200hp in 1.2 ton definitely is TC. Torque will peak below 2k RPM & stays linear. It will not be an issue for the car. It is up to driver.

funny

i notice old young / pubeless young kids in vios/altis/swift the best in overtaking reckless cutting and nearly causing accident

Because they play smart phone too much till cockeye and can't see properly when overtake.

I think that depends also on the car you are overtaking. Some idiots accelerate when they know you are trying to overtake them and enter their lane infront of them.

Bro, just drop to 3rd and let loose...sure no problem for our car. [;)]

150bhp is enuff

200bhp is sweet

250bhp is lovely

300bhp is awesome

but torque is upmost critical ... no 300nm no talk for a 1.5ton car

No Torque No Talk?

Then time for diesel eh!!!

Similar. About 450 hp and about 600NM/kg in a 1400-1450kg package (car length 4.6-4.7) and AWD. No need max torque at 1200 like some of the newest DI Turbos. As long as get 50% of the max torque below 2000rpm is drivable enough for me.*

*Totally linear power is of course with a lot of benefits but I prefer a bit of old school kick in the pants explosive power as you rev up.

Evo?

Evo?

Not sure if Evo can make half its torque under 2000rpm if it is to produce 400++hp.

I am just quoting my ideal car stats. Nothing particular in mind.

Driving a LGT now. No power under 2.5k

Not sure if Evo can make half its torque under 2000rpm if it is to produce 400++hp.

I am just quoting my ideal car stats. Nothing particular in mind.

Driving a LGT now. No power under 2.5k

The 2.5 version?

i'll be very honest

for me 250bhp/400nm is all i need ... lol

If car is light enough (say 1.1 tons) and hp curve wide enough, I also will be satisfied with the above numbers.

The 2.5 version?

Ya lor, no twin scroll + restrictive downpipe plus LTA dun allow change exhaust = no low end torque.

My ex car is a biturbo (full torque below 2,000rpm) and the downpipe can be replaced by an aftermarket part that looks exactly like the original. You can't get the same? [lipsrsealed]

Your ex car is also a LGT?

In Singapore, 100bhp is more than enough. 90km/h max nia.

That's like saying size A(2 inch) enough to feed(make) baby, why want B(5") or C(7")?