Gear box mounting issue?

Zhlow

Good day to all bros, have a bit of problem here needing your assistance...

My 2006 Toyota Vios MT yesterday suffered from the below symptoms,

1. crank start, a "thump" sound can be heard in the cabin

2. upon in gear 1 and stepping on accelerator, heavy vibration felt with audible creaking sound

3. same heavy vibration and creaking happens when i change to higher gear. This situation happens in the process of clutch in and clutch out and stepping on accelrator.

4. on crusing, a slightly heavier trottle input will result in this heavy vibration coming back...

car revs perfectly smoothly on neutral gear, no vibration on idling

went to 2 workshop yesterday and got the following 2 diagnosis from them,

Workshop A : change the whole gear box to a second hand one. - est cost 1k+

Workshop B : gear box mounting broke. Suugest to change gearbox mounting and engine mounting - est 500+

Really need the bros assistance of past experiences with this matter..which one sounds more legit and is the pricing reasonable? Greatly Appreciate for your inputs.

Autotrans failure will not instill vibration. High chance its your mounting.

And please avoid workshop A from now on. That again, need to test out to really confirm it.

Go stockist to buy all the mountings then go to a workshop and change.

Check with a few different stockist for prices, they can also tell you there's 3 or 4.

On 6/9/2013 at 3:21 AM, SPT27 said:

But I do hear pple change engine mounting for 5-10 yr car

Gb mounting like nv heard before hor

The gb is attached to e engine n some models it has a mounting like e engine.

If its old n worn....u need to change otherwise u get vibrations.

On 6/9/2013 at 3:40 AM, Pisces69 said:

The gb is attached to e engine n some models it has a mounting like e engine.

If its old n worn....u need to change otherwise u get vibrations.

So can I assume engine mountings kaput first than gb mounting??

Yea goin 3rd workshop to check again. Im suspecting is gb mounting too... Super rare case usually i hear engine mounting gone only. Im thinking to just change my gb mounting and not touch my engine mounts since its idling normally without vibrations. Any good stockist to recommend?

On 6/9/2013 at 3:45 AM, SPT27 said:

So can I assume engine mountings kaput first than gb mounting??

Last time i change engine mounting my mech ask me to also get e gb mounting so all change together.

Sometimes ws dun tell u gb mounting need to change. Ty just say engine mounting n quote price but ty already add in e cost fr e gb mounting.

On 6/9/2013 at 3:47 AM, Zhlow said:

Yea goin 3rd workshop to check again. Im suspecting is gb mounting too... Super rare case usually i hear engine mounting gone only. Im thinking to just change my gb mounting and not touch my engine mounts since its idling normally without vibrations. Any good stockist to recommend?

Toyota the pop stockist r min ghee n fong tat rite

If I rem correctly

Oh I see, cos I drove 2 cars to 4 n 6 yrs but nv get to change

Now driving a 7 yr old car oso haven't change

But I oreadi help bought 2 fit n both need to change

I brought them to buy eg mounts as I used to get own parts for Ws change

Learn one new thing tdy

Gb mounting

Tks

On 6/9/2013 at 4:45 AM, SPT27 said:

Oh I see, cos I drove 2 cars to 4 n 6 yrs but nv get to change

Now driving a 7 yr old car oso haven't change

But I oreadi help bought 2 fit n both need to change

I brought them to buy eg mounts as I used to get own parts for Ws change

Learn one new thing tdy

Gb mounting

Tks

I also buy my own parts n my mech chk n say mountings need to change.

I ask him how many pcs. He say 3 fr engine n 1 fr gb. Ttl 4.

Fm there i know gb also need to change. :D

  On 6/9/2013 at 3:47 AM, Zhlow said:

Google for Ric-Tat marketing.

On 6/9/2013 at 12:08 AM, Zhlow said:

Good day to all bros, have a bit of problem here needing your assistance...

My 2006 Toyota Vios MT yesterday suffered from the below symptoms,

1. crank start, a "thump" sound can be heard in the cabin

2. upon in gear 1 and stepping on accelerator, heavy vibration felt with audible creaking sound

3. same heavy vibration and creaking happens when i change to higher gear. This situation happens in the process of clutch in and clutch out and stepping on accelrator.

4. on crusing, a slightly heavier trottle input will result in this heavy vibration coming back...

car revs perfectly smoothly on neutral gear, no vibration on idling

went to 2 workshop yesterday and got the following 2 diagnosis from them,

Workshop A : change the whole gear box to a second hand one. - est cost 1k+

Workshop B : gear box mounting broke. Suugest to change gearbox mounting and engine mounting - est 500+

Really need the bros assistance of past experiences with this matter..which one sounds more legit and is the pricing reasonable? Greatly Appreciate for your inputs.

Unlikely for MT to be faulty unless u had very heavy mod... or neglected your Preventive maintainence on your gearbox for hundreds of thousands miles. Otherwise, your MT should easily last you more than 10 yrs.

Like what other bro mentioned, its more likely to be the mounting. Try to get more info from VOGS (Vios Owner group Singapore). U may get more feedback from there.

many thanks to all bros for the input. will be going to a 3rd workshop TopSpeed motor at pandan who specialise in GB to let them diagnose my issue before deciding on the next step. Will come back to update soon.

It should be SOP for normal mounting at the cost of $40-50 per piece unless you drive auto car which the one with hydraulic arm might cost you up to $280 to $320 per piece....Don't be gundus to be charge beyond $1K...for all four pieces.....