Call for public feedback on COE

Wt_know

i know what you mean.

if use omv to determine coe category, dealer will strip car

low omv equal to low 20% tax and low arf collected ... since both based on omv even dealer do not under declare

using engine power to determine coe category, even dealer chut pattern to detune car ...

only buyer is affected with the low power 1/2 baked car ... lol

scholar is indeed sibei smart ... if you were given a task to come up a plan and $$$ is the KPI, what would you do?

whoever think scholar is stupid with their idea .... think again

a famous quote

别人笑我太疯癫, 我笑他人看不穿

OMV determine the tax amount collected..........when dealer strip their car..........OMV drops............OMV drops tax drops................see the connection..........

i know what you mean.

low omv equal to low 20% tax and low arf collected ...

using engine power to determine coe category, even dealer chut pattern to detune car ...

scholar is indeed sibei smart ... if you were given a task to come up a plan to make the most $$$ what would you do? lol ...

a famous quote from a genius ...

别人笑我太疯癫, 我笑他人看不穿

If you look at the latest 2 ruling set out..............both are base on OMV.........one to collect more tax...........the other to control loan amount.......end result is no drop in revenue collected..............and what happens to COE????.......drop????...

engine capacity is fix...........but OMV is not..........a 2L car is a 2L car whether it is japanese or conti............OMV is in dollar value and it is not fix.........it is subject to exchange and currencies strength............the same car can have different OMV in different months...........if the OMV of the car is in between and there are big movement in the FX market...........the same car may be Cat A this month and Cat B next month..........how to control??...............

OMV is the revenue generating tool............you can use any method to solve the problem.............as long as bottom line is not effected...........this is a clear instruction.............so who dare tough OMV???...........

别人笑我太疯癫, 我笑他人看不穿.............济公活佛名言

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

i know what you mean.

low omv equal to low 20% tax and low arf collected ... since both based on omv even dealer do not under declare

scholar is indeed sibei smart ... if you were given a task to come up a plan and $$$ is the KPI, what would you do?

a famous quote

别人笑我太疯癫, 我笑他人看不穿

i would say base on selling price of the car...........

the selling price of the car is determine by the OMV so to speak............if base on selling price of the car...........the OMV ruling remains..........but now the ball goes to the court of the dealers...........

The dealers will have to decide how they want to price the cars to be in which cat...........if they want high GP they will have to fight in the higher price group.............if they want to fight in the lower price B & B grp............they will have to take a lower mark up............

and one thing for sure............merc....BMW and audi will have no car to place side by side with the likes of Altis...sylphy or lancer............in the same cat..........

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Hahaha, keyed in a couple of XXXX in front will do.

I believe LTA may filter out responses without valid NRIC. Otherwise a single person may respond multiple times (each using a random number for NRIC) and skew the result.

Therefore may need a valid NRIC in order for LTA to take your answer seriously.

Dealers can't profit from Coes. The car price has to be clearly stated and agreed with the buyer. The dealer can bid on buyers behalf for an admin fee (or not). The buyer has to agree with the car dealer the ceiling Coe price he is willing to pay. Failing which (6 tries) he is free to not proceed with the purchase. It's kinda like the dealer bidding premium license plate number on the customer's behalf. The price goes entirely to lta.

We do not know if there is a portion of each minister's KPI based on the amount of revenue his ministry generate or loses.

Take MBT, why is he so eager to have revenue generating policies the moment he step into MOT and MND? COE bidding is introduced by him, can't remember if he's also involved in privatising SMRT.

At MND, he moved from cost based pricing for HDB to market based pricing.

Both resulted in costs to citizens spiralling out of control.

Bro, you just spoilt my saturday by mentioning MBT! That guy will see his baoyin at his end of days. Nb. Pui.

When there is a distrust on the gahmen, nothing is they do will be appreciated. Even if they do listen, it's also portray as a wayang to show that they are not wayanging... [laugh]

I went for a few sg conversations. Conclusion I think it is wayang. Why?

1) The participants (normal singaporeans) does not have enough information to make sound conclusion. a lot of stupid ideas like removing land cost for HDB pricing...

2) the organisers are not interested in actually getting feedback, (see point 1). It is just a PR session. There are nobody from the policy makers to give reasons why the policies are the way they are. All they say is "ya, ya, we will think about it." no matter how stupid the suggestions....

3) bottomline, is they choose scenarios where there is no one good answer so they always say, see policies is very difficult as people want different things.

1) The participants (normal singaporeans) does not have enough information to make sound conclusion. a lot of stupid ideas like removing land cost for HDB pricing...

2) the organisers are not interested in actually getting feedback, (see point 1). It is just a PR session. There are nobody from the policy makers to give reasons why the policies are the way they are. All they say is "ya, ya, we will think about it." no matter how stupid the suggestions....

3) bottomline, is they choose scenarios where there is no one good answer so they always say, see policies is very difficult as people want different things.

wayang is Bahasa [confused] Lips Service is our official language [idea]

i put this in the surcharge for 2nd car or more

a. charge per household not per individual

b. does not apply to organisation. but how to eliminate registering ghost $2 company to circumvent this

err... some household has 2 people, some household has 8 people. still one car per houshold??? seriously that is just stupid...

I suggest

married couple can buy 1 car = no surcharge.

married couple with young kids can buy 2 car = no surcharge.

Singles buying first car or married couple buying 2nd car = small surcharge.

Singles buying 2nd car or married couple (with and without kids) buying 3rd car = huge surcharge

Basically this encourages family and having babies. Any singles with 2nd car or couples with 3 cars should be hit with a SUPER HUGE surcharge because it is really too much.

Singles car complain but frankly, the low birthrate is singapore NO 1 problem... and who caused this problem??? the singles... so they can shut up.

Bro, you just spoilt my saturday by mentioning MBT! That guy will see his baoyin at his end of days. Nb. Pui.

People are very forgetful 5 years on, so off and on need to remind everyone of his failed policies, especially when this guy is keeping a deafening silence and low profile these days.

I thought MBT is a mixed bag. He has some good policies like ERP and COE I think. I think both ERP and COE are sound policies in principle but was implemented wrongly by his successors.

The BTO policy he started was a huge mistake though.... on hindsight now, it is obvious that BTO is one of the reasons why HDB is unable to react to sudden demand spikes.

I thought MBT is a mixed bag. He has some good policies like ERP and COE I think. I think both ERP and COE are sound policies in principle but was implemented wrongly by his successors.

The BTO policy he started was a huge mistake though.... on hindsight now, it is obvious that BTO is one of the reasons why HDB is unable to react to sudden demand spikes.

MBT's idea, tan gu gu.... [:p]

http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Motorworld...0110-44439.html

The COE idea was proposed by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew when he was Prime Minister. But observers point to the second-generation leaders for adopting a consultative approach before implementing the system.

As then-communications and information minister Yeo Ning Hong noted in 1990: "Everybody participated: the man-in-the-street, academics, professionals, political parties, trade organisations and MPs."

And OMV can be under-declared to fly under the cap. Or encourage seriously stripped out barebones cars which in itself is not an issue until safety features get taken out.

no matter how much u strip out, the brand still has its "minimum" price.

a mercedes with no airbags, seatbelts, etc.. is still a mercedes.

a toyota stripped out is still a toyota.

there will still be a price difference

Edited by Mllcg

i know what you mean.

a famous quote

别人笑我太疯癫, 我笑他人看不穿

at most before a car is allowed to be sold, the dealer MUST submit a request to LTA that they want to bring in the car.

LTA will then import the car in taking note of the OMV at that point in time. since power is also the control for pricing, the car will be run on a dyno to get the engine power.

based on the dyno results, the OMV will be charged from there.

so before the dealer even gets hold of the car. LTA will get hold of it first. lol

you think LTA so eng ah ... might as well LTA sell car and open workshop ... wahahahaha

at most before a car is allowed to be sold, the dealer MUST submit a request to LTA that they want to bring in the car.

LTA will then import the car in taking note of the OMV at that point in time. since power is also the control for pricing, the car will be run on a dyno to get the engine power.

based on the dyno results, the OMV will be charged from there.

so before the dealer even gets hold of the car. LTA will get hold of it first. lol

alamak ... sounds like LISTEN LISTEN LISTEN

I agree, based on this wayang.. i dun think i want to waste my time..

omv + engine capacity + engine power for coe category formula ... wahahaha

anyway, like many said ... the solution could probably set liao ....