Call for public feedback on COE

Wt_know

  On 6/8/2013 at 3:19 AM, Sdf5725 said:

You sure about it?

That's why I say maybe. [laugh] [laugh]

As gather feedback from all kinds of people sure got a few that is really very creative answer and somewhat maybe ideas come from those creative answer.. also hard to say one..

Edited by Yewheng

make it mandatory by law that all car must be priced without coe and dealer cannot bid coe even with their agent

don't have simi coe rebate and all that s.hit

buyer must secured a coe first before able to buy a car. coe must be attached together for loan application or upon signing the purchase agreement if buy 100% cash.

with coe on hand, you walk into a showroom ... you are customer ...

now without coe ... you walk into a showroom ... you are beggar begging the dealer as they are the one has supernatural power to bid coe ... even you try to bid with them you cant up against their supernatural power

buyer bid coe online or via atm and got 3 months to buy the car. if buyer back out due to change of heart of loan disapprove, forfeit $2500 as admin fees and the coe must be returned to LTA for next bidding. no transfer or resell of coe is allowed.

we must CUT the dealer evil hand from touching the coe.

swee bo???

On 6/8/2013 at 2:49 AM, Yattokame said:

car dealer finds some "COE agent" to bid for COE lor...... end up still same idea. that's what they are doing now anyway. you pass your NRIC to the dealer, they pass to their guys to bid for you.

even if you make them list price without COE and sell without COE, they still tell their agents to bid for you - the convenience as a one-stop-shop is too alluring to most of us who are too busy.

unless LTA die die must see the buyer physically and personally (no proxies allowed) register for COE bidding at LTA office and submit the bid; then we are taking one step back - no more bidding at ATM machines or online or whatever.

Swee!! Very SWEE一级棒

Would appreciate if you could forward your suggestion to Minister Lui.

Good day

On 6/8/2013 at 3:43 AM, Wt_know said:

make it mandatory by law that all car must be priced without coe and dealer cannot bid coe even with their agent

don't have simi coe rebate and all that s.hit

buyer must secured a coe first before able to buy a car. coe must be attached together for loan application or upon signing the purchase agreement if buy 100% cash.

with coe on hand, you walk into a showroom ... you are customer ...

now without coe ... you walk into a showroom ... you are beggar begging the dealer as they are the one has supernatural power to bid coe ... even you try to bid with them you cant up against their supernatural power

buyer bid coe online or via atm and got 3 months to buy the car. if buyer back out due to change of heart of loan disapprove, forfeit $2500 as admin fees and the coe must be returned to LTA for next bidding. no transfer or resell of coe is allowed.

we must CUT the dealer evil hand from touching the coe.

swee bo???

Most people consider what car they want to buy before thinking of the coe.

I want a bmw. I go to showroom. Ask sales agent to help me. Sales agent want the comm also will still help me thru their coe agent.

Unless someone from LTA goes to every showroom and check all documents before signing the sales agreement? Still, under the table they can deal mah.

I understand the idea is to de-link the COE with the car dealers. Thats why I say buyer ownself go LTA with their own bid and phase the dealers out of the car buying process.

Easiest way? Add more coe again lor.

that's why in the survey i suggest screw the category ... only 1 cat for all passenger coe

use ARF on OMV to tax expensive car omv > $20k

omv < $20k = mass market car as the opinion that lta ask

if bmw omv falls below $20K and neck-to-neck with toyota/honda/nissan then it's cheap and good

don't just say bmw is luxury car ... the high end model yes ... the low end model not so ... the specs can be worst off than korean car ... take a look at bmw f30 316i ... sibei bone stock ...

with coe on hand ... you can buy any car any model any cc ... fk the dealer

omv is the best way to separate luxury vs basic (mass market) car

don't use engine power or engine capacity ... this will limit the invention and progress of small cc car produce high power

omv makes the car expensive or cheap. if bmw can make car <$20K omv ... that is cheap car

dealer can make all profit on their business which is selling car

don't manipulate coe like their secret weapon to hold ransom on buyer

On 6/8/2013 at 4:22 AM, Yattokame said:

Most people consider what car they want to buy before thinking of the coe.

I want a bmw. I go to showroom. Ask sales agent to help me. Sales agent want the comm also will still help me thru their coe agent.

Unless someone from LTA goes to every showroom and check all documents before signing the sales agreement? Still, under the table they can deal mah.

I understand the idea is to de-link the COE with the car dealers. Thats why I say buyer ownself go LTA with their own bid and phase the dealers out of the car buying process.

Easiest way? Add more coe again lor.

When there is a distrust on the gahmen, nothing is they do will be appreciated. Even if they do listen, it's also portray as a wayang to show that they are not wayanging... [laugh]

I added 2 points.

One is queue for cheap coe. You can have a seperate cat for cheap coe. Lets say 10k. Maybe only 100 slots. The first 100 will get the cheap coe while the next hundred will wait for next cycle. If the queue is 1000 then those waiting wilhave towait for mayb a year but they will get their cheap car eventually. Means testing can be done to prevent abuse.

Rebates for those who drive less. Lets say 100 dollars off road tax if yearly mileage is less than 20000 km. Those who renew online and do not show proof of mileage will not be entitled. OPC cars not entitled to this.

disagree on cheap coe. it's like spoon feeding ...

when you say pass mean testing ... which mean the family is already not so good financially ... should not buy car.

in spore land scarce ... car is indeed luxury and one should work for it ... the car dream is one of the motivation why the young cheong at work ... spoon feeding kill cheong motivation

hence, coe should be pay for it and money collected put for good use ... coe actually is a form of high indirect tax

the problem now is coe is manipulated by dealer ... and dealer has conflict of interest in bidding coe

On 6/8/2013 at 4:35 AM, Philipkee said:

I added 2 points.

One is queue for cheap coe. You can have a seperate cat for cheap coe. Lets say 10k. Maybe only 100 slots. The first 100 will get the cheap coe while the next hundred will wait for next cycle. If the queue is 1000 then those waiting wilhave towait for mayb a year but they will get their cheap car eventually. Means testing can be done to prevent abuse.

Rebates for those who drive less. Lets say 100 dollars off road tax if yearly mileage is less than 20000 km. Those who renew online and do not show proof of mileage will not be entitled. OPC cars not entitled to this.

On 6/8/2013 at 3:50 AM, Hamburger said:

Say all you want......its wayang -_-

Yawning .. Exact same thoughts ... Wayang-ing only

Bloodly waste of time ...

On 6/8/2013 at 4:40 AM, Wt_know said:

disagree on cheap coe. it's like spoon feeding ...

when you say pass mean testing ... which mean the family is already not so good financially ... should not buy car.

in spore land scarce ... car is indeed luxury and one should work for it ... the car dream is one of the motivation why the young cheong at work ... spoon feeding kill cheong motivation

hence, coe should be pay for it and money collected put for good use ... coe actually is a form of high indirect tax

the problem now is coe is manipulated by dealer ... and dealer has conflict of interest in bidding coe

When i said means testing, it was just a general term. Perhaps those who qualify are ppl who are not rich but have young children/ elderly parents....... i leave it to govt to tweak my ideas

On 6/8/2013 at 3:02 AM, Ahseng said:

do you guys really think our opinions really matter? i bet the scholars had already come up with something.

they just want to ensure scholar's idea different from general public [laugh]

On 6/8/2013 at 4:56 AM, Philipkee said:

When i said means testing, it was just a general term. Perhaps those who qualify are ppl who are not rich but have young children/ elderly parents....... i leave it to govt to tweak my ideas

So when the elderly pass on and children grow up, will these people be asked to give up their cars?