Darryn Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 I pity the dogs but again out in the wild the dogs suffering too I'd say that life as a wild pack dog is not much fun.....which is another reason not to allow / encourage the packs to grow / proliferate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 I'd say that life as a wild pack dog is not much fun.....which is another reason not to allow / encourage the packs to grow / proliferate. you "think" it's not much fun = they be put down? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 (edited) Sometimes alone at night, I take a drive through Sime Road, Khiam Hock Road from Lornie Road to Dunearn Road could hear those wild dogs howling Oooooooooooooo, hairs can stand ............. Edited June 3, 2013 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 you "think" it's not much fun = they be put down? Don't jump to conclusions - Not allowed to proliferate / = to "put down". There are a lot of solutions that you can look into before put down - from relocation, to housing (or attempting to) as pets to sterilisation so the packs naturally are reduced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 I can also make up all sorts of stories that fit the facts. But which seems more reasonable to you? That the dogs made the cyclist feel threatened, or that the dogs were behaving like lassie? Exactly. So what if the cyclist twisted the story to garner sympathy? Which seems more reasonable to me? I think what happened was the dogs came out / were already lying around, saw and followed the cyclist, he panicked and fell. Maybe the dogs were slightly aggressive, maybe the cyclist didn't know the area, maybe the cyclist couldn't control his bike. Who knows? So why put the dogs down based on the words of a man who wasn't attacked by the dogs, but rather, merely felt threatened by them? If the dogs had attacked him, I would have agreed with you. But they didn't Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaneF Clutched June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Walao got people so stupid one ah...of course if you're cycling past a pack of dogs and you scared they sure chase you what...cos they thought you did something bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 ...cos they thought you did something bad disturbing their 'bitch' .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extinguisher 6th Gear June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 damn stupid. if u see a dog, dont run. cycle slowly =.= That's a sweeping assumption. You are assuming all dogs will behave the same way? Believe me, there will be a chance they will pounce on you even if you stood your ground. Coming from someone who had actually been thru this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Exactly. So what if the cyclist twisted the story to garner sympathy? Which seems more reasonable to me? I think what happened was the dogs came out / were already lying around, saw and followed the cyclist, he panicked and fell. Maybe the dogs were slightly aggressive, maybe the cyclist didn't know the area, maybe the cyclist couldn't control his bike. Who knows? So why put the dogs down based on the words of a man who wasn't attacked by the dogs, but rather, merely felt threatened by them? If the dogs had attacked him, I would have agreed with you. But they didn't Can play "what if" all day. Come back to simple principles Who was exhibiting behaviour in line within known parametres? And nobody is saying that the dogs should be put down - (or at least not me) - but I am saying that the matter needs to be looked into, and that if, indeed, the dogs are exhibiting aggression (even if it stops short of attack) then something needs to be done. I am not the "shoot first, ask questions later type" - but put yourself into the shoes of looking ahead - there are now warning signs that something is wrong, if nothing is done - who would be willing to bear the consequences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 The question is, will you let your own kids walk around in a area which is inhabited by a pack of wild dogs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaneF Clutched June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 disturbing their 'bitch' .... Like one earlier post said...angmoh trying to hookup with a local bitch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Don't jump to conclusions - Not allowed to proliferate / = to "put down". There are a lot of solutions that you can look into before put down - from relocation, to housing (or attempting to) as pets to sterilisation so the packs naturally are reduced. Unfortunately, the local AVA will only put them down once complaints are made. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extinguisher 6th Gear June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 The question is, will you let your own kids walk around in a area which is inhabited by a pack of wild dogs? Sometimes it's not up to the parents to decide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Sometimes it's not up to the parents to decide. Nice way to avoid the question... would you let your 12 year old child walk around alone where there's a pack of wild dogs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extinguisher 6th Gear June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Nice way to avoid the question... would you let your 12 year old child walk around alone where there's a pack of wild dogs? Not avoiding. Of course I won't allow. But reality is there was nothing my parents could do when as a 14yr old, I decided to take a path alone knowing full well there are wild dogs there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Can play "what if" all day. Come back to simple principles Who was exhibiting behaviour in line within known parametres? And nobody is saying that the dogs should be put down - (or at least not me) - but I am saying that the matter needs to be looked into, and that if, indeed, the dogs are exhibiting aggression (even if it stops short of attack) then something needs to be done. I am not the "shoot first, ask questions later type" - but put yourself into the shoes of looking ahead - there are now warning signs that something is wrong, if nothing is done - who would be willing to bear the consequences. I got bitten by an overgrown rat while running at Bukit Batok. Do chase people, even if not bite, I got no sympathy Put them down Not if the animals aggressive in public space. I have no time for that. Get rid of the mutts You might call it the "what if" game, and you'd be right, but what if the man lied (for reasons unknown), the dogs shouldn't be put down just because of one man's fears. Anyway, I've quoted multiple of your responses, the bolding is done by me, but otherwise, the quote is verbatim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 (edited) Not avoiding. Of course I won't allow. But reality is there was nothing my parents could do when as a 14yr old, I decided to take a path alone knowing full well there are wild dogs there. Your answer says it all - so you do think the dogs are dangerous. So the remaining question then becomes - is this somewhere that we should leave to the dogs, or is there a reasonable expectation that we should be able to take families there in safety? P.S - sorry for the sala grammar Edited June 3, 2013 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 3, 2013 Author Share June 3, 2013 Nice way to avoid the question... would you let your 12 year old child walk around alone where there's a pack of wild dogs? how about... would you let your 12 year old child walk around alone in an deserted cemetery? i said just now, and i said it again the pack of dogs were left alone in an abandoned cemetery... if they were at a public road or void deck chasing people, then it's a different story altogether the ang moh cyclist knew very well what sort of risks he would encounter at such places... but he went ahead with his route he could have well met some wild boars, snakes, scorpions or even ghosts... and made a big hoo-ha about it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...