McD Hello Kitty is back!!!

Adrianli

this sms exchange should be fake. wouldn't a real sms exchange have date and time stamp on each and every sms received and sent?

the pic does not have.

if u notice, most of the ppl in the queue are ADULTS and buay xia suay to cry over soft toys.

Nowadays kids dont play softtoys or toys liao...they play IPAD. more interactive.

Then those adults buy the toys for who? [:/]

McD is also to blame. If McD never being in hello kitty and set it limited stocks, things will not turns out so ugly. It's post a moral hazard and also expose ugly of singaporeans. [:/] [:/]

yeah, and I don't know what is their rationale behind these pussies. Last time already create so much trouble ie. fighting, broken glass door etc. They jolly well know that they would again CREATE such problems yet they choose to go ahead. First and foremost, they are a F&B company, not a pussy retailer !!

Simple solution - Just bring in tonnes of pussies and assure the public that there are enough stock for all lah. PUI!

Mcd is to be blame for all the saga, improper planning , causing chaos. wasting police resources to come settle the case. Just because they want to profit from selling more meals, i wonder how much food have been wasted during the whole hello Puxxy saga.

Totally agree. All these disputes could have been avoided with proper planning.

yeah, and I don't know what is their rationale behind these pussies. Last time already create so much trouble ie. fighting, broken glass door etc. They jolly well know that they would again CREATE such problems yet they choose to go ahead. First and foremost, they are a F&B company, not a pussy retailer !!

Simple solution - Just bring in tonnes of pussies and assure the public that there are enough stock for all lah. PUI!

Bro.....there is nothing wrong for a business enterprise to think of ways to make more money. And honestly, this kitty thing is a runaway success for the business.

But there is a need for better and consistent processes in managing expectations and crowd.

Bro.....there is nothing wrong for a business enterprise to think of ways to make more money. And honestly, this kitty thing is a runaway success for the business.

But there is a need for better and consistent processes in managing expectations and crowd.

i agree. however, most BIG corporations (except Apple) do have a social responsibility towards its stakeholders. They can earn even more by bringing in MORE stock

Seriously, I ask again,

WTF is so special about this soft toy kitty, that people must queue overnight and fight over it?

Or is it anything that got the label "Limited Edition" will attract goondu Singaporeans like bees to honey?

I don't get it. [confused]

It's a bit like Paris Hilton or that strange Kardashian woman - famous for being famous.

the kitty doll is desired because it is desired. Same theory of Singaporean queue because they see queue and think must be good.

But OH how I hope that what's app is true - that would be the best way to deal with f--ktards - by scamming them

Totally agree. All these disputes could have been avoided with proper planning.

I think, on the whole Mickey D has done a reasonable job.

Not perfect and they could improve, but if I was doing a "BOLA" I would say:

Maccas 18%

Unreasonable and stupid consumers 82%

McDonald's is wasting the food or stupid Singaporean is wasting the food?

Last week some Indonesian made some sort of funny reference to how Singapore was behaving over the haze, well the drama of the Hello Kitty just makes me think how accurate and reasonable that guy was.

But some branches give out coupon only like 30min-1hour before the store sells/open and by then the queue is already super long. And imagine you have been waiting for 3-4 hours only to realise you didn't get the coupon. Surely some pple will not be happy. This is especially so for stores that open at 7am where the crowd already started queuing from 12am. These stores should have started issuing coupon around 1am or 2am so that the cut off point is established. This way pple don't have to wait in vain till 6am - 7am only to realise they are not getting the coupons.

I would hardly blame them for that though - I think the consumer is more to blame.

At the end of the day, next time they do a HK promo, people will buy lots.

But do remember, no brand wants to upset customers.

NEA is looking into the matter of wastage, and they seem to be blaming McD at the moment - but to me I think the consumer is to blame, and this is where it should be focussed.

Although I would like to see them add an option to their till - DONATE MEAL - so that the food is not wasted, and then they can track the money and donate it to a charity.

i agree. however, most BIG corporations (except Apple) do have a social responsibility towards its stakeholders. They can earn even more by bringing in MORE stock

Yeap agree on the social responsibility piece. For big Corps. making money comes with social responsibility.

I think, on the whole Mickey D has done a reasonable job.

Not perfect and they could improve, but if I was doing a "BOLA" I would say:

Maccas 18%

Unreasonable and stupid consumers 82%

I think McD did a reasonable job in coming out a good process, which is to issue coupon to cut down crowds or unnecessary queing.

The problem however is that this process was not implemented correctly or practice consistently across branches.

Edited by Icedbs

I agree with you that it's human behaviour mainly at work here.

What I'm saying is, McD knows to a certain degree what the outcome of the promotion will be : chaos, quarrels, fights etc. And what can they do to avoid all these.... Am looking at it from a cause & effect POV

Not really, when this promo first started it was alright, none of this nonsense... I even bought one on a whim cos i just out having Macs for dinner. Only the last 2 then ppl start to hoard and resell at profits...

The last promo with the MacDonald themed Kittys also dun have this fighting Q-overnight rubbish. Maybe they thought society had matured... guess not....

It's very sad such hoarders and resellers are ruining it for EVERYONE, esp now that Macs is reconsidering doing such collaborations in future.

20111026173610156_97112443.jpg

Edited by Mockngbrd

I would hardly blame them for that though - I think the consumer is more to blame.

At the end of the day, next time they do a HK promo, people will buy lots.

But do remember, no brand wants to upset customers.

NEA is looking into the matter of wastage, and they seem to be blaming McD at the moment - but to me I think the consumer is to blame, and this is where it should be focussed.

Although I would like to see them add an option to their till - DONATE MEAL - so that the food is not wasted, and then they can track the money and donate it to a charity.

allow the purchase of the pussy w/o a meal. limit to two/customer.

Not really, when this promo first started it was alright, none of this nonsense... I even bought one on a whim cos i just out having Macs for dinner. Only the last 2 then ppl start to hoard and resell at profits...

The last promo with the MacDonald themed Kittys also dun have this fighting Q-overnight rubbish. Maybe they thought society had matured... guess not....

It's very sad such hoarders and resellers are ruining it for EVERYONE, esp now that Macs is reconsidering doing such collaborations in future.

ok then it's the stupid Singaporeans fault !! I take back my rant at McD. bladdy scalpers !! [rifle]

Personally I got 5/6 kittys.

From my own experience, the first 2 were very easy to get.

The Mcdelivery one was also easy to get if you called early.

It is only when media started reporting on a craze that the craze really started.

Frog kitty (no.3) sold out within 1 day + and things went cuckoo after that.

The sudden spike in demand just shows there are a lot of bandwagon jumpers and opportunists.

Actually if MCD wants to avoid such incidents, they could limit the toy to 1-2 per peson and provide an option for people who missed out to backorder.

For a "real" collector, 2 of the same toy is the standard .... 1 for playing and 1 for display / spare.

But sad to say hype and crazy incidents make for good marketing.

Anyway I hope the joker with the 28 kitty pyramid choke on his 28 value meals. <_<

Now market is $50 for the kitty... is ridiculous.

Don't deprive the kids of having a plush toy by trying to cash in on 'limited ediitions'. Shame on these ppl.