Another stressful incident on the MRT!

the fact that there are signs pasted above the priority seats somehow made it into a rule. And typical singaporeans will demand for that to be served. Just like our roads where drivers are never forgiving or practice some tolerance. So even for these seats, such privileges became entitlement already. It is sad that in general we are viewed like beings without good upbringing, and we need all these reminders to tell us what to do and what not to do.

Edited by Chrispie

I think old man just feels that ah pui should be the one giving up the seat instead of the young man beside. So wanted to teach ah pui a lesson, but instead ah pui buay song kenna lecture.

so what if ah pui says : I dont find you old le, so never crossed my mind that i have to give up this seat.

I think the ah pek also wont know what to say liao.

but i think this works better on old ladies.

Edited by Chrispie

Our society is pathetic. In Taiwan, nobody sit on the priority seats no matter how pack the trains were.

Here we have people arguing over seats. This is really sad.

some elderly KNS one. want to be a hero, teaching others lesson on right behavior.

he got his seat but still not happy w others taking the reserved seat.

There are also black sheeps among the elderly. I have witness a few instances where elderly cant even reciprocate with the word "thank you" or even a simple smile. Worst, acted as if they owned the seat and we owe them the seat. Hiaz......where is the society of graciousness? It really makes think deeper the meaning of "i eat salt more than you eat rice". I rather think the more salt you eat, the higher the blood pressure and the faster you died. I rather eat rice instead. Having gone through much in life, an elderly should live up to the name of a "wise old man".

Good morning all.

Agree on that part; I have seen a lot of old folks take advantage of the situation. The worst is those who like to jump queue and smack themselves right in front of the MRT door when the train arrives.

4th Gear

I also encountered an old lady yesterday during lunch.

I was eating my lunch and I felt a hard poke on my back, then 2-3 pkts of tissue papers thrown on my table. Looking up and I saw this old lady showing me her palm, asking for $ for those tissue papers.

Fed up, I took mine out and told her 'no'........ :angry:

I would have no problem buying it from her and even not taking her goods but with her attitude like I owe her, I'll ask her to try her luck somewhere else.......

I also encountered an old lady yesterday during lunch.

I was eating my lunch and I felt a hard poke on my back, then 2-3 pkts of tissue papers thrown on my table. Looking up and I saw this old lady showing me her palm, asking for $ for those tissue papers.

Fed up, I took mine out and told her 'no'........ :angry:

I would have no problem buying it from her and even not taking her goods but with her attitude like I owe her, I'll ask her to try her luck somewhere else.......

I believe most of these tissue vendors are part of an organized group. Even the disableds. It is a very lucrative industry and there are people who has no qualms living off other's charity. Some of these people are not even local. I don't support buying from them. There are better avenues to help.

be objective, treat these old ppl and disabled selling tissues as a business transactions, if u dont need it, DONT BUY.

if they want to play on their disability, they sld be ashamed of themselves to use it to prey on kind souls.

when we pity them, they said we look down on them. when we dont pity them, they think we are not helpful.

My view is regardless of priority seats or not, as a gracious society, we should give up our seats to the "needed".

be objective, treat these old ppl and disabled selling tissues as a business transactions, if u dont need it, DONT BUY.

if they want to play on their disability, they sld be ashamed of themselves to use it to prey on kind souls.

when we pity them, they said we look down on them. when we dont pity them, they think we are not helpful.

Whoa, why you all put it this way? If you look at the employers in sgp who will hire disabled persons, not to mention they are also elderly ppl?

Sell tissue is own time own target, much more relax dan collecting carboard or drinks can. The one work until die in a hawker centre washing plates, how much is she getting a month? I think less dan $900.

In sgp old ppl who has no money also got no dignity. Damn jialat. Somemore tio condemn by younger ppl.

My view is regardless of priority seats or not, as a gracious society, we should give up our seats to the "needed".

My take? I don't even sit there in the first place so I avoid any potentially awkward situation. Why tempt fate? [laugh]

pooi...pooi....wow....creating public nuisance and spitting in public/on train.....

this one is funny [laugh][laugh]

this one good [laugh]

think internent people will csi this guy out

this guy jialat arleaqdy [laugh][laugh]

Agree on that part; I have seen a lot of old folks take advantage of the situation. The worst is those who like to jump queue and smack themselves right in front of the MRT door when the train arrives.

Agree on this too.

I was at hospital food court queuing to buy my dinner. There are already five of us in the queue and this auntie act blur and went in front of me. She told the vendor her order, the vendor told her to go behind the queue. [laugh]

Our society is pathetic. In Taiwan, nobody sit on the priority seats no matter how pack the trains were.

Here we have people arguing over seats. This is really sad.

Agree, in Taiwan, nobody will sit on priority seats.

But in HK and China, they all same as SG. All will sit on priority seat. China worst, they even spit on the floor of the mrt. So better dont sit on the floor!!! They would also carry large luggage and block the exits while seating on the priority seat. [shakehead]

SG not that bad yet lah.

China worst, they even spit on the floor of the mrt. So better dont sit on the floor!!!

I took an internal flight in China and witnessed a Chinese local spit on the plane carpet, and then used his shoes to rub his spit into the carpet so that it can't be seen.

Champion.