Australia: Australian prepaid mobile phone cards ?

Ysc3

anyone been Australia ?

do they have those prepaid phone cards which has data also for travelers ?

something like those one2free prepaid data/phonecards in HKG ?

anyone been Australia ?

I used this during my holiday in melb/ goldcost last december.

Optus prepaid

It has 3G data plan and I also used it to call back Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia which is charged using their local rates.

Brought the AUD$50 credit, did not mange to finish using up the credits during my 10 day trip (left with AUD$30+).

oh ! thanks for the reply ... seems the cheapest pp card there is AU$30 ... quite hefty ... considering its a one week holiday there only ... and i actually want data connection only ... our phones got autoroam liow mah ...

but at least now i know. :D

anyone been Australia ?

was in melbourne over a month ago... Got my friend to get aldi card for me. aud50 for 30 days of unlimited local call and 5gb of data. helluva good deal if you ask me...

Edited by Tjkbeluga

oh ! thanks for the reply ... seems the cheapest pp card there is AU$30 ... quite hefty ... considering its a one week holiday there only ... and i actually want data connection only ... our phones got autoroam liow mah ...

Down under, the distribution cost is high. Not worth "printing" and selling low value cards.

knn... 30 still hiam expensive. what do you expect for data plan.....

I bought amaysim during my 10days gold coast holiday.., $20 bucks, $10 for call and $10 for data....got it from 7-11.. [:p]

so i assume that no registration is required since can get at 7-11 also ?

this seems a good deal ... hopefully can just get the $10 data pack ... since unlikely i will be calling anyone there.

so i assume that no registration is required since can get at 7-11 also ?

this seems a good deal ... hopefully can just get the $10 data pack ... since unlikely i will be calling anyone there.

Still need to call a number to register and activate..... The number to call and steps are all in the package.. I told them I'm a tourist, just provide some info and it's all done ..but if you decide to get it, go to their web site and get the apn info ready.. I don't have those setting and wasted first day, untill I got free WiFi the next day then got the apn setting set up.. don't bother to ask 7-11 staff, they only sell and won't know the apn setting... If I'm not wrong, I charge ( try term it as re-charge, mean top up.. ) $10 for the call and $10 for 1g (or was it 500mb) data... Btw, call to sg is like 7 or 8 cent per minute... Damn cheap.... [:p]

If you are going with a big family, i strongly recommend you buy walkie talkies. I brought 2 at T2 changi at sgd 48. That was the best toy i brought in yearsss!

When we were shopping at the harbour city in goldcoast, it was super good. Range not an issue even in built up area. My bro-in-law managed to radio me from our hotel when i drove to the casino which was easily 10 km away.

Just an advise, buy batteries in singapore. 4AAA batteries can cost aud 20. [knife][rifle]

To add, the black color radios are abt the size of the old school pager. Very small.

Edited by Tiger1

If you are going with a big family, i strongly recommend you buy walkie talkies. I brought 2 at T2 changi at sgd 48. That was the best toy i brought in yearsss!

When we were shopping at the harbour city in goldcoast, it was super good. Range not an issue even in built up area. My bro-in-law managed to radio me from our hotel when i drove to the casino which was easily 10 km away.

Just an advise, buy batteries in singapore. 4AAA batteries can cost aud 20. [knife][rifle]

To add, the black color radios are abt the size of the old school pager. Very small.

Good deal. Kind to share further info; shop location?

The brand is Uniden. Brought it from the IT shop located near to the middle smoking room. Hard to tell you but it is the largest shop. You cant miss it.

They sell higher price model too but i think this set is good enough for normal use.

anyone been Australia ?

If you are going to Sydney, after you have collected the luggage and out of the immigration, there are a number of telco. I was in Sydney last October and the rate was able A$2 per day. I think I paid $14 for seven days usage with 2 GB data and 200 mins of free incoming call. Ok lah, price is reasonable. But cost of living is high though. The smiggles products are cheaper in Singapore than in Aus.

anyone been Australia ?

If you're going out of city areas, Telstra has the best coverage. Optus (Singtel) is next. Vodafone gives good coverage in cities, and can roam onto Telstra in rural areas for an additional cost. I went with Telstra for my last trip. No regrets. Better 3G data speeds in rural areas than in SG [laugh]

You should not composer sg 3g signal with them, different league ..sg 3g can compare with places like sahara dessert, pacific ocean, etc... [laugh]

If you are going to Sydney, after you have collected the luggage and out of the immigration, there are a number of telco. I was in Sydney last October and the rate was able A$2 per day. I think I paid $14 for seven days usage with 2 GB data and 200 mins of free incoming call. Ok lah, price is reasonable. But cost of living is high though. The smiggles products are cheaper in Singapore than in Aus.

things just gets better !! [:)]

Legal anot? Many countries have restrictions on importation and usage of walkie talkies. Later, kena locked up for espionage.

Edited by Kangadrool