What do you consider as upgrading of car?

Observer

Upgrade  

66 members have voted

1. 1. Factors you consider

• Price
    • Performance
    • Car Capacity
    • Brand

  On 5/23/2013 at 8:19 AM, Solar said:

LGT 2.0 to C180K 1.6

i don't feel 'upgraded or downgraded' to be honest.

win some, lose some cos they are different, unless go back to the same brand.

just driving a different experience lah..

I have the same view as you. Not much difference to feel whether its an upgrade or not. The scenario I'm putting forward is because some people feel the difference in engine capacity is itself an upgrade and hence I'm putting forward my views why sometimes the difference in Engine Capacity may not signify an upgrade at all.

Personally, I feel to be considered as an upgrade, it needs to fulfill on a number of factors and criteria and the difference in those criterias should be pretty significant. If it still leaves room for subjective opinions between individuals in those criterias, then it is not an upgrade.

Edited by Damienic

  On 5/23/2013 at 6:15 AM, Damienic said:

If you drive a 1.6L Mercs C180 and then change to a 2.0 Toyota Camry, is that considered an upgrade? I don't think so...

In terms of badge wise, confirm not an upgrade. Cause even it is a 1.6L mercs, afterall it is still a mercs lo. Face value and resell value surely mercs win toyota. [:p]

On 5/23/2013 at 1:22 AM, Chucky2007 said:

Don't have lah.. personal preference.. I would change a older bigger car for a new smaller car.

Its like girl friends, I would take small size SYT but always younger than the current ones... Where got wanna take one older than current age..

Jialat. Then anything for me is an upgrade liao because I'm still driving a 18yrs old ah ma car....

Anyway, I would love to pose a question. DO you guys mind if your next ride is NOT an upgrade over your current one, especially consider car price have risen over the years, and even equalavant level of car, especially B&B class, have jump in price quote significantly compare to say 2006-2008 period.

its pointless to upgrade in Singapore cause you will be just getting another underpowered car in return. Many ppl upgrade for performance but cannot afford a real sports car in Singapore....so its really pointless.

Other upgrade for to different types (sedan to MPV etc) to suit their need so that more logical.

Some upgrade in prestige...eg Mark X to Merc. Thats their call and make their heart warm so its good for them.

The worst kind of upgrade is to the same model car that is only 2-3 years newer with NO noticeable change except that its newer model.

To me as long as I like the new car more than the previous one I consider it an upgrade already. Even if it got a "lousier" badge or lesser power.

On 5/23/2013 at 7:57 PM, Kiadaw said:

Anyway, I would love to pose a question. DO you guys mind if your next ride is NOT an upgrade over your current one, especially consider car price have risen over the years, and even equalavant level of car, especially B&B class, have jump in price quote significantly compare to say 2006-2008 period.

I would not mind if it is another German brand but more reliable with improved performance.

Manual transmission would be preferred.

On 5/23/2013 at 7:57 PM, Kiadaw said:

I for one don't mind.

If the Kia k5 with 2L turbo comes, I will seriously consider changing to it even if it means a downgrade for my case.

Everything about the current K5 is nice except that its slooooow

With the turbo, ah everything will be nice. Omv I don't think it will cross 24k ba.

Looks like i downgraded.

From 2.2L to 1.8L.

From 4 door to 2 door.

From fixed roof to soft roof.

From BMW to Toyota.

[bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

On 5/28/2013 at 5:13 PM, Davidtch said:

Looks like i downgraded.

From 2.2L to 1.8L.

From 4 door to 2 door.

From fixed roof to soft roof.

From BMW to Toyota.

[bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

In every aspect of a daily driver YES. But for a car enthuasist, its an upgrade... Much nicer car to drive around leh.