Dark_flan 2nd Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 To me upgrading either the brand or performance oriented. Since newer generations vehicles downsized the engine capacity especially for euro makes. I dun belong to the group whereby 3 yrs or so change car type due to warranty etc.. Either a breakeven or when the car is cheap to replace. To downgrade to smaller car try to avoid, it's more to the image bah. Not especially when I'm climbing up the corporate ladder and better off than before. LOL..Haha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 (edited) On 5/22/2013 at 7:20 AM, Throttle2 said: You got a thing against older car? Don't have lah.. personal preference.. I would change a older bigger car for a new smaller car. Its like girl friends, I would take small size SYT but always younger than the current ones... Where got wanna take one older than current age.. Edited May 23, 2013 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarmac 3rd Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 (edited) Upgrade to me means same functionality with improved specifications with other factors constant. However, I would prefer to go along the lines of "if you feel an improvement over the former, it is an upgrade". Edited May 23, 2013 by Tarmac Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 for me, upgrading muz mean i get to enjoy my next car more than the previous one.... if it's becos of space (e.g. change fr jap sedan to MPV or SUV), tat's not really upgrading...tat's why i'm not looking to change car now....i really enjoy my zoom-zoom-zoom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 To me an upgrade is able to bid a coe haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 I would like to add another component - where the car sits in the hierarchy of its own brand. Eg. if say BMW 116i (entry level BMW) change to VW CC (VW lower brand than BMW but CC is one of their more premium models). To me this is also an upgrade. Generally, I would say when most ppl change their car voluntarily (i.e. not "forced" by situation such as loss big in stock market or casino and have to sell Rolls Royce and buy Toyota or COE is up so get another similar car to replace the current car), they generally believe it is an upgrade be it in brand, performance, size or whatever. There must be something in the replacement car that makes it overall better than the old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 1:51 AM, 13177 said: Upgrade of car? When you buy something more expensive or bigger than the current ride?! Example like currently driving a 1.6L car, then you change to a 2.0L car?! If you drive a 1.6L Mercs C180 and then change to a 2.0 Toyota Camry, is that considered an upgrade? I don't think so... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 Observer said: <snip> Apparently to some, the CC plays a part as well. that's me :) to me, generally bigger CC car ride more comfortably. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 5:45 AM, Penknife said: to most people, it will be an upgrade. but the definition of upgrade/downgrade is interpreted differently among different people. there are no rules which says changing from what to what is an upgrade. so i rather consider everything as a change for the better. whether it's upgrade or downgrade, it's how you think and what the society thinks. I agree with you on this perspective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 6:15 AM, Damienic said: If you drive a 1.6L Mercs C180 and then change to a 2.0 Toyota Camry, is that considered an upgrade? I don't think so... Could be. the later has bigger displacement. if the equipment list has items the same as the former or better than why not. Badge is not everything. it is what you get in real terms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 6:29 AM, Earthboy said: Could be. the later has bigger displacement. if the equipment list has items the same as the former or better than why not. Badge is not everything. it is what you get in real terms. Badge is definitely not everything, for some it is hardly even a thing. But for others, the "snob" appeal is very real to them....so "real terms" can also be subjective.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 Depends on what the owner wants, no? Some people want the badge, some people want the country, some people want the luxury, some want features, some want space.....it goes on and on. For me it's simple, i will only consider fast wagons. That would mean either something that offers at least the same level of performance and handling/stability as my legacy gt wagon currently does in a more refined package, or something that offers more performance/handling. Unfortunately the cars that fit the criteria are turbo contis and are at a much higher price points (335/535 wagons, volvo T5/T6 wagons, etc) so it looks like i'm sticking to what i have. In the future either renew COE or get the newer model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 (edited) On 5/23/2013 at 6:29 AM, Earthboy said: Could be. the later has bigger displacement. if the equipment list has items the same as the former or better than why not. Badge is not everything. it is what you get in real terms. Both have almost the same selling price or Camry slightly more expensive, but in fact, the C180 would have higher OMV than the Camry and Camry cost almost as much because of the higher COE price due to difference in CAT A and CAT B. So what you are paying actually more goes towards the govt rather than for the quality of the ride itself. The Camry might have bigger cabin space but in terms of build quality, performance and refinement in ride, it can be hardly considered an upgrade at all. Edited May 23, 2013 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 6:15 AM, Damienic said: If you drive a 1.6L Mercs C180 and then change to a 2.0 Toyota Camry, is that considered an upgrade? I don't think so... That's an unfair comparison. 1.6TC vs 2L NA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 6:29 AM, Earthboy said: Could be. the later has bigger displacement. if the equipment list has items the same as the former or better than why not. Badge is not everything. it is what you get in real terms. Large but inefficient DISPLACEMENT are rubbish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 7:25 AM, Damienic said: Both have almost the same selling price or Camry slightly more expensive, but in fact, the C180 would have higher OMV than the Camry and Camry cost almost as much because of the higher COE price due to difference in CAT A and CAT B. So what you are paying actually more goes towards the govt rather than for the quality of the ride itself. The Camry might have bigger cabin space but in terms of build quality, performance and refinement in ride, it can be hardly considered an upgrade at all. Aiya. Think so much for what. Like + Can afford = Buy. As long as can tahan the depreciation, think so much for what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 6:15 AM, Damienic said: If you drive a 1.6L Mercs C180 and then change to a 2.0 Toyota Camry, is that considered an upgrade? I don't think so... LGT 2.0 to C180K 1.6 i don't feel 'upgraded or downgraded' to be honest. win some, lose some cos they are different, unless go back to the same brand. just driving a different experience lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 On 5/23/2013 at 8:06 AM, Davidtch said: That's an unfair comparison. 1.6TC vs 2L NA. I'm not making a comparison here. But simply just putting forward a scenario due to some discussion earlier that revolves around the engine capacity as a gauge of whether its an upgrade. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...