Deckbuild 6th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 2:23 AM, Vega said: then a toyota wish change to a lambo is a downgrade liao. To me poor chap yes, I just want a car to ferry ppl around in SG, in any other countries, it's consider as upgrade but not in sg. Anything to do with pte transport in sg needs to be real practical to me. 10 years pass damn fast.... not worth the money, but of course this is my own opinion ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 + driveress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 Most of that list will be considered an upgrade ba. Other than CC. Thats never an upgrade imho as I dont believe ridiculously big CC since I got no money! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 2:07 AM, Ghostrider said: If you use price as benchmark...let me give you this very real example... 2007 you bought a WRX for 86K 2012 you bought a Altis for 120K... Upgrade ?? [:p] If COE stays stable ok lah...but with our COE machem like roller coaster...price as benchmark can go outta the window. UNLESS...you use OMV as benchmark. True, cannot use price as benchmark. Should use CC like what i have mentioned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 3:10 AM, 13177 said: True, cannot use price as benchmark. Should use CC like what i have mentioned. Also can argue... 2007 you drive a 2.4L Toyota Camry. 2011 you drive a 1.6L Volvo S80 So up grade or downgrade ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 2:26 AM, Jq1988 said: sure performance...1.6 is really insufficient in sg...most of the time being bullied by taxi...they just cut into my lane without signal...super irritating... at least 2.0 above...sure smoke most of the taxis... 2.0L NA ? You would still be smoked by most taxi at the traffic lights if they want to...hahahaha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jq1988 4th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 (edited) On 5/22/2013 at 3:23 AM, Ghostrider said: 2.0L NA ? You would still be smoked by most taxi at the traffic lights if they want to...hahahaha... If 2.0 NA cannot smoke taxis, that's very sad....but cannot afford turbo 2.0....most above 100K Edited May 22, 2013 by Jq1988 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 2:26 AM, Jq1988 said: sure performance...1.6 is really insufficient in sg...most of the time being bullied by taxi...they just cut into my lane without signal...super irritating... at least 2.0 above...sure smoke most of the taxis... Make sure you pump V power, sure can smoke every car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 One other factor is missing.... From 100% loan BMW to fully paid Altis consider upgrade?? But loans, ppl cannot tell la.... until lately with the new loan rulings, barriers of entry raised, lesser church mouse can afford "better" cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 (edited) On 5/22/2013 at 3:27 AM, Jq1988 said: If 2.0 NA cannot smoke taxis, that's very sad....but cannot afford turbo 2.0....most above 100K Dun have at least 300Nm dun think of smoking those Sonata Type R...they will smoke you back. Even 2.0L turbo have to gun the engine...else cannot tia them especially at traffic lights...their diesel turbo max torque come in low in the rev band. And if its those Skoda or Merc...even worst...stock 2.0 turbo also cannot say sure tia...they are powerful taxi. Edited May 22, 2013 by Ghostrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 how come the driver not listed as an upgrade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 Size (as in physical size, say Altis to Camry). Or brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 4:20 AM, Ghostrider said: Dun have at least 300Nm dun think of smoking those Sonata Type R...they will smoke you back. Even 2.0L turbo have to gun the engine...else cannot tia them especially at traffic lights...their diesel turbo max torque come in low in the rev band. And if its those Skoda or Merc...even worst...stock 2.0 turbo also cannot say sure tia...they are powerful taxi. I agree. Want to smoke or overtake, increase the torque (Nm). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 On 5/22/2013 at 3:10 AM, 13177 said: True, cannot use price as benchmark. Should use CC like what i have mentioned. that would be the current COE category problem - luxury car brands with turbocharged small CC engines... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 In my opinion, minus the option of car capacity, everything else has to be an upgrade. CC can be replaced with Turbos these days. I am really happy when I "downgraded" in terms of CC and "upgraded" in terms of "performance" (same brand and pricewise both were comparable) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jq1988 4th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 (edited) On 5/22/2013 at 3:27 AM, Deckbuild said: Make sure you pump V power, sure can smoke every car. I pump shell 98 ler...but 1.6 still underpowered....exora mpv...can 2.0 bimmer beat those irritating taxis on the road?...their sonata and epica are very powerful ler...once they revvvv, you can't even see their tail light...very fast...super fast! Edited May 22, 2013 by Jq1988 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 LOL most ppl in mycarforum is into performance....not a very accurate yardstick. I know many drivers that dont want performance and will scold me if i rev over 4k rpm (over 3k rpm already got comments liao, like i dont know how to drive). When they drive, you can sleep peacefully cause no g-force at all. 1.6L NA cars only can have decent lower end (with gear ratio). anything above 60-70 is a drag... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 I suggest a variation of the "Price" option - use OMV instead. Open Market Value mah. The value of the vehicle higher means it's an upgrade lor... Performance - if change from WRX to Merc/BMW, "performance" may be lower, but I think it's still an upgrade. Capacity - I assume you're referring to engine displacement. I think a luxury brand car with higher OMV but lower CC is still an "upgrade" from a B&B low OMV but higher CC. Brand - I think the main problem here is that it's arguable whether one brand is better than the other, so you won't get your answer easily. e.g. Merc vs BMW, Toyota vs Kia (can of worms)... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...