Coolad 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 Have u guys observed this trend? "Newly Minted" Singaporeans that do not stay in Singapore and family also not in Singapore but reside in home country. Well my office has 1 and he pays no taxes (u know y) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porkerchong Neutral Newbie May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 Have u guys observed this trend? "Newly Minted" Singaporeans that do not stay in Singapore and family also not in Singapore but reside in home country. Well my office has 1 and he pays no taxes (u know y) your office one is from cowboy land? if not i can't think of any that can reside in home country and yet still appearing in your office everyday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I dun stalk ppl hence I can tell you I dunch noe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 ask your HR dept lor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 ask your HR dept lor? HR will know meh? I thought pay tax is quite personal, letter goes to your home address one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Author Share May 21, 2013 your office one is from cowboy land? if not i can't think of any that can reside in home country and yet still appearing in your office everyday. I will just clarify on this .. family resides in home country with no intention of coming here. He converts to local citizenship (Singapore) and transfered himself back to his home coutry, sort of like an expat back in his home. Cool idea... no need pay taxes somemore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I will just clarify on this .. family resides in home country with no intention of coming here. He converts to local citizenship (Singapore) and transfered himself back to his home coutry, sort of like an expat back in his home. Cool idea... no need pay taxes somemore tiagong taxes is payable to the country in which the income is earned leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 if you think he zhao tax, please poh zheng hoo here: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/page.aspx?id=6510#Contact_Us If you are aware of someone who has evaded tax in Singapore or have information about some fraudulent activities, please contact us through this email template <Reporting Tax Evasion> Send an email to [email protected] File a report at Investigation and Forensics Division (IFD) Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore 55 Newton Road, 14th Storey, Revenue House, Singapore 307987 Your information could help make the tax system fairer for everybody. Your identity and all information / documents provided will be kept confidential. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 your office one is from cowboy land? if not i can't think of any that can reside in home country and yet still appearing in your office everyday. I think TS mean the colleague might be from a regional branch in his own country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 (edited) transferred is amateur la should resigned and return to home country to become "local born foreign talent" ... earn expat package and live in GCB and drive ferrari/lamboghini with no coe and arf I will just clarify on this .. family resides in home country with no intention of coming here. He converts to local citizenship (Singapore) and transfered himself back to his home coutry, sort of like an expat back in his home. Cool idea... no need pay taxes somemore Edited May 21, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I think the authorities should do a periodic checks with the immigration dept. And decide whether to let them continue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I think the authorities should do a periodic checks with the immigration dept. And decide whether to let them continue you cant take away the citizenship just like that once give, very hard to take back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I think the authorities should do a periodic checks with the immigration dept. And decide whether to let them continue I would think the bigger issue is that they are not paying tax rather than whether they are physically staying here or not. And of course that their male offspring to do NS. Other than that, less a few people staying here nothing to complain about right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 It's true dude there are so many ppl juz rent their property and live another country...while local watch and workx all day to support family...Should stop this kind of activities... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I would think the bigger issue is that they are not paying tax rather than whether they are physically staying here or not. And of course that their male offspring to do NS. Other than that, less a few people staying here nothing to complain about right? income tax is payable to the country that a person is working in. regardless of nationaility. meaning, if your colleague a 'new' singaporean had been transfer back (either by chance or plot) to its home land, say India, he have to pay the income tax base on india government taxes rate. nothing wrong with that. if you work outside singapore permantly, you will also not required to pay taxes in Singapore but the taxes of the country you work in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Author Share May 21, 2013 if you think he zhao tax, please poh zheng hoo here: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/page.aspx?id=6510#Contact_Us If you are aware of someone who has evaded tax in Singapore or have information about some fraudulent activities, please contact us through this email template <Reporting Tax Evasion> Send an email to [email protected] File a report at Investigation and Forensics Division (IFD) Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore 55 Newton Road, 14th Storey, Revenue House, Singapore 307987 Your information could help make the tax system fairer for everybody. Your identity and all information / documents provided will be kept confidential. He is not "evading" taxes... just no need to pay legitimately... coz he is "physically" not working in Singapore. (FYI, its a tax incentive given by Sg govt for Singaporean working overseas to be tax exampted) And in his home country... I guess most would agree its even easier to evade taxes in FT land.... kinda of a shitty feeling to me and leaves a bad taste... he has no intention of growing his root in Singaland, family has never been or want to be here... he is holding our citizenship... what does that leave us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I will just clarify on this .. family resides in home country with no intention of coming here. He converts to local citizenship (Singapore) and transfered himself back to his home coutry, sort of like an expat back in his home. Cool idea... no need pay taxes somemore Dude.. he still pay tax.. maybe not Singapore tax but sure the country where he is working in.. tax are paid either based on country of residence or domicile. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 He is not "evading" taxes... just no need to pay legitimately... coz he is "physically" not working in Singapore. (FYI, its a tax incentive given by Sg govt for Singaporean working overseas to be tax exampted) And in his home country... I guess most would agree its even easier to evade taxes in FT land.... ... Why do you say that?? I think in other countries they also pursue taxes in the same way as done here. As long as a person is working and having a permanent address, it is a simple matter for the tax authorities to track him down. If what you say is true, i.e. easy to evade taxes in foreign countries, then those foreign govts will run out of money long ago... The only people who are very good at evading taxes are those rich entrepreneurs, and some do it via "legal" means some more, exploiting technicalities and loopholes in the regulations, and this is true no matter what country you're in. As for normal salaryman receiving regular wage... very hard to escape. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...