Tonyng 4th Gear May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130 I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers. Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table. Otherwise I am not for tray return for now. Anyone disagree? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 2:52 AM, Tonyng said: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130 I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers. Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table. Otherwise I am not for tray return for now. Anyone disagree? I disagree. Every time I go food court and those old uncle auntie having to clear my table, my heart feels bad. At that age, they should be retired and enjoying their life. Then again, some may not have the privilege of blissful retirement. If the operators continue to employ them and our simple act of tray return can lessen their workloads, I have no qualms doing that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 2:52 AM, Tonyng said: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130 I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers. Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table. Otherwise I am not for tray return for now. Anyone disagree? Agree. The savings won't be passed to consumers. Instead, the foodcourt operators will kong lan jiao wei - like, if not because of try return, we would have to raise price even higher...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 20, 2013 Author Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 2:57 AM, Vid said: I disagree. Every time I go food court and those old uncle auntie having to clear my table, my heart feels bad. At that age, they should be retired and enjoying their life. Then again, some may not have the privilege of blissful retirement. If the operators continue to employ them and our simple act of tray return can lessen their workloads, I have no qualms doing that. I agree with you. But how do you know operators with keep their employment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 2:58 AM, Kangadrool said: Agree. The savings won't be passed to consumers. Instead, the foodcourt operators will kong lan jiao wei - like, if not because of try return, we would have to raise price even higher...... Got savings meh? Someone still have to send the tray and plates for cleaning. Someone still have to clean the table. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 there are still stuff like wiping tables from spills. Moving the trays to collection points. I don't tink they will be out of a job cos there is a self clearing tray campaign. Usually i hand the tray to the uncle/aunty at the collection point. Rather than having them to trot over and carry it back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 In coffee shop one should return tray also ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:00 AM, Vid said: Got savings meh? Someone still have to send the tray and plates for cleaning. Someone still have to clean the table. maybe lesser headcount required. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 dun talk like ALL the staff working as cleaner are LOCAL old uncles and aunties.... 90% of them i see today are FW On 5/20/2013 at 2:52 AM, Tonyng said: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130 I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers. Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table. Otherwise I am not for tray return for now. Anyone disagree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:00 AM, Tonyng said: I agree with you. But how do you know operators with keep their employment? As it is, there aren't enough cleaners in food courts already. Sometimes during peak times, nobody clears the table for good 5-10min. If the operators are to sack those existing cleaners, don't think the situation will improve much. If it gets worse, patrons will jolly well bring their business to restaurants instead. I don't really think they are trying to reduce the number of cleaners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 20, 2013 Author Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:00 AM, Lala81 said: there are still stuff like wiping tables from spills. Moving the trays to collection points. I don't tink they will be out of a job cos there is a self clearing tray campaign. Usually i hand the tray to the uncle/aunty at the collection point. Rather than having them to trot over and carry it back. I also agree with you. But as an example, operator I need 5 staff before - 3 old ah aunties, 2 young FTs. Now I need 3 since work is less. 2 will need to go - who should I ask to leave? Any F and B people here to shed light? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:02 AM, Kangadrool said: maybe lesser headcount required. Don't think will lessen the numbers but definitely won't increase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:03 AM, Jman888 said: dun talk like ALL the staff working as cleaner are LOCAL old uncles and aunties.... 90% of them i see today are FW Don't think it's as high as 90% lah. Maybe 50-60%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 20, 2013 Author Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:03 AM, Jman888 said: dun talk like ALL the staff working as cleaner are LOCAL old uncles and aunties.... 90% of them i see today are FW I give you 10% are locals then - though I am not sure. But these 10% really really really need their jobs. So how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hibeam2 4th Gear May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 2:57 AM, Vid said: I disagree. Every time I go food court and those old uncle auntie having to clear my table, my heart feels bad. At that age, they should be retired and enjoying their life. Then again, some may not have the privilege of blissful retirement. If the operators continue to employ them and our simple act of tray return can lessen their workloads, I have no qualms doing that. Act of tray return will not lessen their workload. In fact, it'll "eliminate" their workload. Operators will find them redundant and they'll be out of job in no time. Its all about dollars and cents to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 On 5/20/2013 at 3:08 AM, Hibeam2 said: Act of tray return will not lessen their workload. In fact, it'll "eliminate" their workload. Operators will find them redundant and they'll be out of job in no time. Its all about dollars and cents to them. Someone still have to wipe tables, no? At present, they have to clear AND wipe tables. That's so slow. If the tables are cleared, they can just wipe and diners can order food and eat quicker and then leave. More people can then eat there. In a way, it's already a win-win situation for operators. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 (edited) On 5/20/2013 at 2:52 AM, Tonyng said: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130 I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers. Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table. Otherwise I am not for tray return for now. Anyone disagree? many many years ago, there were many illegal hawkers to better public health and maybe for any other reasons , the Govt built hawker centres after that for some reason, the garmen stop building hawker centres and starting tendering for coffeeshops i only got to know of this from the newspaper! later to combat higher food prices, the Govt declared that it was going to resume building hawker centres building hawker centre is easy, looking for hundreds of people to staff the 8 new hawker centres is hard! no one want to be hawker, everybody want to be banker so the Govt tried to persuade people to be hawker but it was badly received, esp edmw people the publicity was so badly receivedthat people thot that the Govt was encouraging seng gah poh lang to take on blue colour jobs and let foriegners take on white colour jobs! not easy being the Govt say anything only also kena bash Edited May 20, 2013 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged May 20, 2013 Share May 20, 2013 how abt starting a campaign to return all trays at fast food joints so that the pinoy staff will be out of job as there is nothing for them to do? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...