CamholicX

Should go early like me. [grin]

8.45am - arrive n bought tickets

9.00am - waiting for them to open gate

9.25am - finished all exhibits on right side

9.30am - at panda enclosure, both panda were visible n having breakfast

9.45am - queue for boat ride

10.15am - take boat ride

10.35am - out of boat ride n at panda cafe (not much ppl yet, can choose seats)

11.15am - finish lunch n move on to left side exhibits

12noon - Exit River Safari n visit the souvenir shop

12.20pm - Drove out liao

Yes, food there is very expensive. Advisable to bring own food or tarbao from outside.

Err... I thought I saw somewhere that the boat ride only opens at around 12 noon? How come can take at 10.15 am leh??

SINGAPORE - It will cost more to visit the Singapore Zoo next year as admission prices will be increased from $22 to $28 for each adult. Children between 3-12 years old will have to pay $4 more as prices go up from $14 to $18 with effect from Jan 1, 2014.

The price revision exercise was announced on Tuesday by the Wildlife Reserves Singapore (WRS) and the changes will affect three of its parks, including the Singapore Zoo, Night Safari and Jurong Bird Park; but this excludes the group's newest attraction, the River Safari.Admission charges to the Night Safari will go up from $35 to $39 per adult, and from $23 to $25 per child (3-12 years).

Adults visiting the Jurong Bird Park will have to pay $25, instead of $20; whereas kids, aged 3 to 12 years, will have to pay $16, instead of $13.Entry fees for senior citizens will not be affected. -

See more at: http://www.relax.com.sg/article/news/entry-fees-for-3-singapore-attractions-to-go-up-in-2014#sthash.TZjNt4lF.dpuf

lucky i'm going there on passes.

i like the red panda. most interactive.

Dugong and the otters were not bad as well.

Panda, my kid managed to see the panda come out and rub it's backside against the tree haha. front row seat... rest of the time it was just hiding away from the crowd.

anyway this is a zoo, it's not like aquarium whereby the fish no choice to swim in the tank.

Think the animals are not comfortable with the invasion in privacy. Makes sense.

Err... I thought I saw somewhere that the boat ride only opens at around 12 noon? How come can take at 10.15 am leh??

From 16th to 20th Dec then start from 12noon. Other days, it starts from 10am. Boat ride starts hourly, from 10am.

See :

post-2654-0-84108100-1387505754_thumb.jpg

Anyway, while I was queuing for the boat ride, quite a few ppl were turned away cos of their kid were not taller than the marker board, 1.06m. Also one heavily pregnant lady kena turn away. Dont know what she thinking man. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Adrianli

lucky i'm going there on passes.

i like the red panda. most interactive.

Dugong and the otters were not bad as well.

Panda, my kid managed to see the panda come out and rub it's backside against the tree haha. front row seat... rest of the time it was just hiding away from the crowd.

anyway this is a zoo, it's not like aquarium whereby the fish no choice to swim in the tank.

Think the animals are not comfortable with the invasion in privacy. Makes sense.

My visit was opp of urs.

- red panda just lie flat on the tree n look at visitors. No move at all.

- Kai Kai n Jia Jia were active and in full view of everyone, lie on their back and chewing the bamboos.

I took a few photos and wana zhao but wife pull me to snap a few pics of her in front of the pandas. [:|] Everyone was snapping away. The staff was on hand to tell us no flash.

My visit was opp of urs.

- Kai Kai n Jia Jia were active and in full view of everyone, lie on their back and chewing the bamboos.

I took a few photos and wana zhao but wife pull me to snap a few pics of her in front of the pandas. [:|] Everyone was snapping away. The staff was on hand to tell us no flash.

so crowded. cant self pose definitely. hahaha everyone wnats a piece of them pandas.

I can't understand why PRCs come to singapore to see panda [lipsrsealed]

From 16th to 20th Dec then start from 12noon. Other days, it starts from 10am. Boat ride starts hourly, from 10am.

See :

attachicon.gifScreenshot.jpg

Anyway, while I was queuing for the boat ride, quite a few ppl were turned away cos of their kid were not taller than the marker board, 1.06m. Also one heavily pregnant lady kena turn away. Dont know what she thinking man. [sweatdrop]

You're right... Alamak... how come i chose the time to go is the special exception (start late) time...

Oh yes, those with kids in stroller surely kanna turned away, or someone has to stay back to look after kids while rest of family go for boat ride... Then afterwards change over. One family in front of me just dropped the idea altogether...

My visit was opp of urs.

Talking of flash, in the dugong area, there was this Indian who brought his family there, used his SLR kept flashing (and he just pressed and hold the button so there's multiple flash). I normally can't be bothered, but felt annoyed enough to tell him courteously flash is not allowed. He meekly acknowledged a bit, but 1 min later when i walked away and back, he was at it again. Felt so much like screaming at him don't understand English is it...

SINGAPORE - It will cost more to visit the Singapore Zoo next year as admission prices will be increased from $22 to $28 for each adult. Children between 3-12 years old will have to pay $4 more as prices go up from $14 to $18 with effect from Jan 1, 2014.

The price revision exercise was announced on Tuesday by the Wildlife Reserves Singapore (WRS) and the changes will affect three of its parks, including the Singapore Zoo, Night Safari and Jurong Bird Park; but this excludes the group's newest attraction, the River Safari.Admission charges to the Night Safari will go up from $35 to $39 per adult, and from $23 to $25 per child (3-12 years).

Adults visiting the Jurong Bird Park will have to pay $25, instead of $20; whereas kids, aged 3 to 12 years, will have to pay $16, instead of $13.Entry fees for senior citizens will not be affected. -

See more at: http://www.relax.com.sg/article/news/entry-fees-for-3-singapore-attractions-to-go-up-in-2014#sthash.TZjNt4lF.dpuf

sigh... more and more ex...

think should use the money and buy more national geographic videos watch at home liao...

Can anyone advise - for the boat ride can we book online for the time slot, or can only book it when we are at the entrance ticketing booth ?

Call them to ask. When I was there last year, only can book when u are they.

Just a tip, if ur birthday falls on the day of visit, it is free entrance and 10% off at their souvenir shop.

I felt the boat ride is a scam...reached there at 10+am and already fully booked for the day!

U are too late. Should reach there earlier, before the gates open, ard 8+am. The tourist ppl will snap up the seats very fast. Must be early early bird.

Forget the boat ride. I didn't feel it was worth the 2-hr queue, and no i don't think they allow online booking - why would they?

ticketing booth will also not allow booking. You just go to the place and join the queue (and start to wait long long...).

Queue 2 hr, and just for a like 10-min ride, where you see some animals (quite a few sleeping) on the banks. I confirmed won't be doing it again, unless the wait is less than 10 min, which will never be the case, cos it takes quite a while for the visitors to embark/disembark, and each round is only 10-12 people, and takes about 3-4 min each. This being the only 'ride' or 'star attraction' of the place, almost everyone will go there. Sure crowded one...

And have they started to charge? I already felt it was not worth it when i went in Dec when it was free. If they charge, forget it...

reckon the admission tix includes the boat ride 'cos when I was there before the official opening, the tix price is "discounted" due to boat ride not ready.

They should continue to sell tix at "discounted" price and those who would like to take the boat should pay additional for it. This should alleviate the bottleneck.

Noticed Jurong Bird Park also need to pay extra for the tram ride.

Forget the boat ride. I didn't feel it was worth the 2-hr queue, and no i don't think they allow online booking - why would they?

ticketing booth will also not allow booking. You just go to the place and join the queue (and start to wait long long...).

Queue 2 hr, and just for a like 10-min ride, where you see some animals (quite a few sleeping) on the banks. I confirmed won't be doing it again, unless the wait is less than 10 min, which will never be the case, cos it takes quite a while for the visitors to embark/disembark, and each round is only 10-12 people, and takes about 3-4 min each. This being the only 'ride' or 'star attraction' of the place, almost everyone will go there. Sure crowded one...

And have they started to charge? I already felt it was not worth it when i went in Dec when it was free. If they charge, forget it...

Boat ride was free when i was there 2 weeks ago, just visited webby and now they charge. Didn't sit cos daughter is restricted ride by height requirement.

U are too late. Should reach there earlier, before the gates open, ard 8+am. The tourist ppl will snap up the seats very fast. Must be early early bird.

so what to do from 8am to 10am ?? can take que number then go off and come back later ? should be visiting there on 3 aug ... complimentary tixs ...

any other places(nearby) to have economical food rather than the tourist traps - river safari teahouse and mama panda kitchen ?

so what to do from 8am to 10am ?? can take que number then go off and come back later ? should be visiting there on 3 aug ... complimentary tixs ...

any other places(nearby) to have economical food rather than the tourist traps - river safari teahouse and mama panda kitchen ?

Visit the exhibits lah. Visit one side and it will be time for your ride.

Food wise, not much choice unless u bring ur own. U can bring ur own food.

No point go off n come back again, waste time...

Just roam around the exhibits first, take photos, slow stroll, admire the river creatures....very fast it will be 10am liao!

oh .. so its not a routine tour ...I thot its something like those transformers ride in sentosa where you just sit on the boat and then sail through the sights.

so we can actually walk around to all the sights instead of taking the boat is it ? is the place very open or covered (shady) ?

Can walk lah, very walkable. The walkways along most exhibits are covered.

Never sit on the boat ride before, but I reckon it's similar to the Genting Dinasaur's boat ride. Transformers one more exciting....

oh .. so its not a routine tour ...I thot its something like those transformers ride in sentosa where you just sit on the boat and then sail through the sights.

so we can actually walk around to all the sights instead of taking the boat is it ? is the place very open or covered (shady) ?