Chickenfarm Turbocharged December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 After you donated your Red arowana, it will be S'pore Zoological Garden first 'house breaking' case for theft of your 'Red' arowana .... Thats why they only place 'silver' arowana inside the tanks..... Too many home breeders liao...now arowana market is saturated. Can get good quality red ones at below $200 if you got kang tao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 (edited) Too many home breeders liao...now arowana market is saturated. Can get good quality red ones at below $200 if you got kang tao Taiwan is currently hot in Red & Golden arowana but they only interested in those below 4 inches one... 2 inches Red arowana fetching the price from S$500/- ~ S$1000/- depending on the Redness of the fish. Edited December 17, 2013 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 Taiwan is currently hot in Red & Golden arowana but they only interested in those below 4 inches one... 2 inches Red arowana fetching the price from S$500/- ~ S$1000/- depending on the Redness of the fish. Then you should learn how to breed and micro-chip...then export to Taiwan. I can teach you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 Taiwan is currently hot in Red & Golden arowana but they only interested in those below 4 inches one... 2 inches Red arowana fetching the price from S$500/- ~ S$1000/- depending on the Redness of the fish. 10 inches and below no distinct coloration one leh. Getting small arowanas are a gamble. Under Cites, only tagged arowana are allowed. 6 inches then can tag the fish otherwise the fish will die from the tagging process. Anyway, I think River Safari should learn from Sea Aquarium. At Sea Aquarium, got staff walking up to you to tell u more abt their exhibits. River Safari, only see staff at panda enclosure, boat ride and entrance only. No one come n tell u more abt the exhibits. I just went Sea Aquarium two weeks ago only. So two weeks ago see sea water fishes, last Sat see freshwatrer fishes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 Then you should learn how to breed and micro-chip...then export to Taiwan. I can teach you So many fishfarms had started 5 years ago leow. If I start now, I go burst very fast cos it takes 3 ~ 4 years before a pair could breed and need many pairs just to get 500 baby fishes to export...... Furthermore, need a big farm to keep those pairs of arowana.... Heavy investment although returns are good per fish if sucessful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 So many fishfarms had started 5 years ago leow. If I start now, I go burst very fast cos it takes 3 ~ 4 years before a pair could breed and need many pairs just to get 500 baby fishes to export...... Furthermore, need a big farm to keep those pairs of arowana.... Heavy investment although returns are good per fish if sucessful. NB! Even my chicks needed initial investments and time You think you can lie down there open legs and arowana swim out from your kkj issit ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 17, 2013 Share December 17, 2013 10 inches and below no distinct coloration one leh. Getting small arowanas are a gamble. Under Cites, only tagged arowana are allowed. 6 inches then can tag the fish otherwise the fish will die from the tagging process. Anyway, I think River Safari should learn from Sea Aquarium. At Sea Aquarium, got staff walking up to you to tell u more abt their exhibits. River Safari, only see staff at panda enclosure, boat ride and entrance only. No one come n tell u more abt the exhibits. I just went Sea Aquarium two weeks ago only. So two weeks ago see sea water fishes, last Sat see freshwatrer fishes. River Safari got no space for the staff to stand to explain lar (base on your video).... And furthermore, the boat on constant moving. By the time the staff said "Ladies & Gentlemen", the boat about 1 meter away leow ... NB! Even my chicks needed initial investments and time You think you can lie down there open legs and arowana swim out from your kkj issit ? Your chicks & ducks only need 9 months, arowana need triple that if lucky .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 Why I visit, I keeping thinking of bringing fishing rod. ... Time to visit bsr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 Too many home breeders liao...now arowana market is saturated. Can get good quality red ones at below $200 if you got kang tao yap. Qian Hu bleed heavily for their arowana portfolio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 yap. Qian Hu bleed heavily for their arowana portfolio. Not only the commercial entities. Many of my friends, i.e., arowana hobbyists, rented ponds in LCK or Seletar Farmway to do breeding of Crossbacks to sell. The fish comes with microchip so it is allowed under Cities. But a good red can easily come below $200 when there are too many competitors in the market. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 When i was in JC and my friend was into arrowana. His red arrowana cost $350+ then. Now $200 lol ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 too many breeders, esp from the north. but the quality has drop too. this is a good time to do comm tank. also, many hobbyists also give up this hobby as it eat a lot and the price keep dropping. no value liao. poor ROI. Not only the commercial entities. Many of my friends, i.e., arowana hobbyists, rented ponds in LCK or Seletar Farmway to do breeding of Crossbacks to sell. The fish comes with microchip so it is allowed under Cities. But a good red can easily come below $200 when there are too many competitors in the market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 Visited River Safari last Sat. Not bad. Mostly fresh water fishes and animals. Got to see Jia Jia n Kai Kai. Just like any panda, nothing interesting. The boat ride was good thou. They also got a Squirrel Monkey enclosure where the monkeys were really tiny and run around freely. Thou got sign say no touching of monkey, I managed to pat one of them. Lucky I was there early, managed to catch some of the exhibits w/o much ppl crowding the fish tanks. But later in the day, got to squeeze ur way to the front of the fish tanks to view the fishes. The panda exhibit was worse, long long long queue. The number of baby prams parked outside was amazing. Me early bird so no queue at panda enclosure, just walk thru n saw both pandas having breakfast. Ticket : $25 (with boat ride so worth it) Parking : $3 first hr, $2 subsequent hr, cap at $8 per day (expensive for such ulu place) Food : Cost me $37+ for two set meals + drinks + one panda pao (Wanton mee n beef mee set) Overall : Not a bad place to visit but please bring ur own food n be early bird or visit during off-peak hours. panda pao?? made of panda meat? hehe nice review! how early is a good time to visit to avoid the crowds? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 (edited) panda pao?? made of panda meat? hehe nice review! how early is a good time to visit to avoid the crowds? I reached there ard 8.45am. They open at 9am. So just seat ard and wait for them to allow us in. From the map, majority will go to the left of the map. A few of us went to the right side first to see the otters, dugongs, squirrel monkeys, etc. Then move on to the panda enclosure across the long bridge. Ppl walking from the left of the map move slowly cos lots of exhibits + very long way. So we get to see the Panda first. No queue, no crowd and just nice their feeding time. Panda pao is just ur normal chinese tau sar pao shaped of a panda face. It cost $2.90!!! http://riversafari.com.sg/assets/pdf/parkmap.pdf Edited December 18, 2013 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 I reached there ard 8.45am. They open at 9am. So just seat ard and wait for them to allow us in. From the map, majority will go to the left of the map. A few of us went to the right side first to see the otters, dugongs, squirrel monkeys, etc. Then move on to the panda enclosure across the long bridge. Ppl walking from the left of the map move slowly cos lots of exhibits + very long way. So we get to see the Panda first. No queue, no crowd and just nice their feeding time. Panda pao is just ur normal chinese tau sar pao shaped of a panda face. It cost $2.90!!! http://riversafari.com.sg/assets/pdf/parkmap.pdf i don't agree. walking to panda enclosure from the left is very fast if u move thru the River exhibits 1st. If u walk the other way round. its a route easily 2 times longer than the going from the left. But yes i walked in from the right to see the dugong first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 18, 2013 Share December 18, 2013 i don't agree. walking to panda enclosure from the left is very fast if u move thru the River exhibits 1st. If u walk the other way round. its a route easily 2 times longer than the going from the left. But yes i walked in from the right to see the dugong first. Yes, the route on the right is longer. But not congested at all. So u can reach the panda enclosure much earlier than the ppl walking in from the left side. Ppl will take their time to view the various fishes, esp the mekong river tank with its huge carp, catfish n stingray. If u just wana view the panda enclosure n nothing else, then just walk in from the left and ignore all exhibits. It will be shorter distance but depends on how u squeeze thru the crowd. Shortest route may not be the fastest way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 I went there with family last fri the 13th... took leave to go thinking sure quite empty, but the boat ride already long queue when we reach about 12.15 pm. Read that queue is 2 hr, and it turned out to be just 15 min shorter. In my opinion, it is totally not worth the long queue, as the ride is only about 10 min or less (don't think it was 15 min leh...). And the animals along the river are not fantastic, and worse, often sleeping. The jaguars inside the glass, one was sleeping, and the other one hidden. So where there was a sign to say 'look out for the jaguars', we didn't see much. As for the other exhibits, they are not bad, but not really fantastic, perhaps because of the weather: my kids are spoilt and didn't like the mostly-outdoor exhibit areas (as we went to Australia 2 wk ago and even though it was outdoor and summer, it was still much more comfortable in terms of weather... The pandas were sleeping too when we were there. Kai Kai at least slept outside let us see, and moved a little now and then to assure onlookers it was alive. Jia Jia slept in its den out of sight... The place is not very big, and the signboards/directions are not good, when walking from right side to left. The right way to go at a 'junction' is actually the one marked 'exit', although we wanted to go and see the panda. The other one actually leads to a dead end. When we were in Australia, we thought the food at the theme parks (movie world, water world) was expensive, but that's understandable. We were surprised that the food at the panda cafe looks to be even more expensive than in Australia... family of 4 (2 pri kids), and we bought 2 set meals, 2 drinks, 2 dim sum and one panda (tau sar) pau, and it was $50! Told kids eat a bit tahan, then later go elsewhere eat again... My take on it: tickets are a shade expensive now given the size is not huge. If they intend to charge more for the boat ride later, it makes the place not worth it. And if the highlight is the boat ride, then to me the place is not fantastic. The long queue for the boat ride is simple not worth it. I'm not sure they can improve the wait time there, given the limited capacity. And if you wanna bring your family there, i'll suggest you go mid morning aim to reach around 10 am, and target to finish around 3-4 pm. Go have a very heavy breakfast beforehand, so that it can last you till 3-4 pm, perhaps bring some cheap tau sar pau along to tide over lunch too, so as to avoid bleeding at the cafe there. Shorts are better given the many outdoor exhibits but i'm not sure whether there will be mosquitoes. I sprayed 'Off' just in case. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 19, 2013 Share December 19, 2013 Should go early like me. 8.45am - arrive n bought tickets 9.00am - waiting for them to open gate 9.25am - finished all exhibits on right side 9.30am - at panda enclosure, both panda were visible n having breakfast 9.45am - queue for boat ride 10.15am - take boat ride 10.35am - out of boat ride n at panda cafe (not much ppl yet, can choose seats) 11.15am - finish lunch n move on to left side exhibits 12noon - Exit River Safari n visit the souvenir shop 12.20pm - Drove out liao Yes, food there is very expensive. Advisable to bring own food or tarbao from outside. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...