Local actor Dai Peng passes away..

VellfireS

(PS: how come the word kopi -C is banned???)

kopi -c banned? Can clarify further?

Edited by TonyStark123

kopi -c banned? Can clarify further?

the word "kopi -c" without the space, become like that ---> k----c

I will forever remember first scene of Kopi-O and Dai Peng was in it. He was trying to squeeze the last bits of toothpaste from a tube that was almost finished. Was acting as a kiam kana.

I remember this scene too!

Dai Peng has 2 sons. The elder one is hong peixin, younger one is lin mingzhe. I think it was one of the sons who was brushing teeth and the toothpaste tube was almost gone and he lamented that there was no more paste. Then Dai Peng (or was it Hong peixin character? Also very frugal type) scolded the guy for wasting and used a hammer to hammer the remaining juice out.

Haha, think in that show dai peng family sell bak gut teh, and the rival stal with daughters sell pig organ soup.

oh... i must have missed that drama last time

anyway part II of Kopi-O should be named kopi -C or Kopi-Peng [laugh]

(PS: how come the word kopi -C is banned???)

the word got banned mah? where? tot I saw it everywhere in food court stalls selling drinks.

Haven catch that show yet, now still on part 1. I like old shows...all old man here. :D

haha think all those old serials we will remember better than those recent shows.

Alot of the artistes in the serial no more acting liao too..

洪培兴 now looks very old and is a bit part actor. 林明哲 is now a producer. The rest of the family selling pig organ soup duno go where except for 向云.

The kopitiam boss and her wife also retired I think. Those still around are 二姑, 云苍凑, 周全喜 etc which are all 3rd stringers liao.

Maybe they will come up with kopi -O part 3 trilogy? all become ah gong ah ma liao? :D

I think only 二姑 still quite active, she still do some hosting and do some group travelling.

haha think all those old serials we will remember better than those recent shows.

Alot of the artistes in the serial no more acting liao too..

洪培兴 now looks very old and is a bit part actor. 林明哲 is now a producer. The rest of the family selling pig organ soup duno go where except for 向云.

The kopitiam boss and her wife also retired I think. Those still around are 二姑, 云苍凑, 周全喜 etc which are all 3rd stringers liao.

Maybe they will come up with kopi -O part 3 trilogy? all become ah gong ah ma liao? :D

Yes, i agree that the old serials were more memorable. Somehow, they had more 'flavour' and 'soul' than the serials nowadays and were more engaging.

Not sure what is lacking nowadays.

Yes, i agree that the old serials were more memorable. Somehow, they had more 'flavour' and 'soul' than the serials nowadays and were more engaging.

Not sure what is lacking nowadays.

i guess the old (SBC) dramas are more "Singaporean", like Kopi-O, Tufu Street, Son of Tekong (filmed in Tekong), Good Morning Teacher (which was filmed in Ubin), etc