TonyStark123 Neutral Newbie May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 (edited) (PS: how come the word kopi -C is banned???) kopi -c banned? Can clarify further? Edited May 15, 2013 by TonyStark123 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 kopi -c banned? Can clarify further? the word "kopi -c" without the space, become like that ---> k----c Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 I will forever remember first scene of Kopi-O and Dai Peng was in it. He was trying to squeeze the last bits of toothpaste from a tube that was almost finished. Was acting as a kiam kana. I remember this scene too! Dai Peng has 2 sons. The elder one is hong peixin, younger one is lin mingzhe. I think it was one of the sons who was brushing teeth and the toothpaste tube was almost gone and he lamented that there was no more paste. Then Dai Peng (or was it Hong peixin character? Also very frugal type) scolded the guy for wasting and used a hammer to hammer the remaining juice out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 I remember this scene too! Dai Peng has 2 sons. The elder one is hong peixin, younger one is lin mingzhe. I think it was one of the sons who was brushing teeth and the toothpaste tube was almost gone and he lamented that there was no more paste. Then Dai Peng (or was it Hong peixin character? Also very frugal type) scolded the guy for wasting and used a hammer to hammer the remaining juice out. Haha, think in that show dai peng family sell bak gut teh, and the rival stal with daughters sell pig organ soup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 oh... i must have missed that drama last time anyway part II of Kopi-O should be named kopi -C or Kopi-Peng (PS: how come the word kopi -C is banned???) the word got banned mah? where? tot I saw it everywhere in food court stalls selling drinks. Haven catch that show yet, now still on part 1. I like old shows...all old man here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 I remember this scene too! Dai Peng has 2 sons. The elder one is hong peixin, younger one is lin mingzhe. I think it was one of the sons who was brushing teeth and the toothpaste tube was almost gone and he lamented that there was no more paste. Then Dai Peng (or was it Hong peixin character? Also very frugal type) scolded the guy for wasting and used a hammer to hammer the remaining juice out. haha think all those old serials we will remember better than those recent shows. Alot of the artistes in the serial no more acting liao too.. 洪培兴 now looks very old and is a bit part actor. 林明哲 is now a producer. The rest of the family selling pig organ soup duno go where except for 向云. The kopitiam boss and her wife also retired I think. Those still around are 二姑, 云苍凑, 周全喜 etc which are all 3rd stringers liao. Maybe they will come up with kopi -O part 3 trilogy? all become ah gong ah ma liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 I think only 二姑 still quite active, she still do some hosting and do some group travelling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpeh23 2nd Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 haha think all those old serials we will remember better than those recent shows. Alot of the artistes in the serial no more acting liao too.. 洪培兴 now looks very old and is a bit part actor. 林明哲 is now a producer. The rest of the family selling pig organ soup duno go where except for 向云. The kopitiam boss and her wife also retired I think. Those still around are 二姑, 云苍凑, 周全喜 etc which are all 3rd stringers liao. Maybe they will come up with kopi -O part 3 trilogy? all become ah gong ah ma liao? Yes, i agree that the old serials were more memorable. Somehow, they had more 'flavour' and 'soul' than the serials nowadays and were more engaging. Not sure what is lacking nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 Yes, i agree that the old serials were more memorable. Somehow, they had more 'flavour' and 'soul' than the serials nowadays and were more engaging. Not sure what is lacking nowadays. i guess the old (SBC) dramas are more "Singaporean", like Kopi-O, Tufu Street, Son of Tekong (filmed in Tekong), Good Morning Teacher (which was filmed in Ubin), etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 R.I.P..I still remember his classic phrase 给我一点吃的吧? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysportwish 1st Gear May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 rip..... condolences to the family of the late ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...