VellfireS 4th Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 LONDON: Roberto Mancini was sacked as manager of Manchester City on Monday-- a year to the day after leading the club to the English Premier League title. City's shock FA Cup Final defeat by Wigan at Wembley on Saturday meant they ended this season without any silverware and strengthened rumours Mancini, who replaced Mark Hughes in 2009, was about to be dismissed. The club's Abu Dhabi-based owners confirmed Monday the end of the Italian manager's three-and-a-half years at Eastlands, with a City statement saying: "It is with regret that Manchester City Football Club announces that Roberto Mancini has been relieved of his duties as Manchester City manager. "This has been a difficult decision for the owner, chairman and board to make and it is the outcome of a planned end-of-season review process that has been brought forward in light of recent speculation and out of respect for Roberto and his extensive contributions to the football club. "Despite everyone's best efforts, the club has failed to achieve any of its stated targets this year, with the exception of qualification for next season's UEFA Champions League." "This, combined with an identified need to develop a holistic approach to all aspects of football at the club, has meant that the decision has been taken to find a new manager for the 2013-14 season and beyond." City's Champions League qualification has been overshadowed by the uninspiring nature of their title defence, with the club a distant second to already crowned English champions Manchester United and 13 points adrift of their local rivals. The 48-year-old Mancini's time at City saw the club win a first major trophy in 35 years with the 2011 FA Cup, while last season's Premier League title was their first top-flight crown since 1968 and saw the manager rewarded with a new five-year deal. "Roberto's record speaks for itself, he has clearly secured the love and respect of our fans," said City chairman Khaldoon Al Mubarak. "He has done as he promised and delivered silverware and success." But City's second successive group stage exit in as many seasons from the lucrative and prestigious European Champions League appears to have weighed heavily against Mancini, for all that fans were chanting his name during the FA Cup Final at Wembley. Those shouts of support cut little ice with City owner Sheikh Mansour, clearly demanding more from a colossal investment in a club whose reported wage bill of ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 what happen to your avatar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Seems like sheiks and Russian boss are difficult to work with... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 hahahaha Mancini can talk to Chelsea or Everton liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 In the modern game, no one can last as long as SAF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 on a sidenote, RM asked for ancelotti but rejected by PSG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 wow imagine JM goes to City. woohoo, race is on! I think the Man City team is quite similar to his earlier teams at Chelsea, he should be able to make them perform better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 sacked as expected... since mourinho fails to go to Man Utd... Man City most probably now and it suits him... a 3 year stint pattern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 1:21 AM, Lala81 said: wow imagine JM goes to City. woohoo, race is on! I think the Man City team is quite similar to his earlier teams at Chelsea, he should be able to make them perform better. thought it's pellegrini? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 12:52 AM, Chucky2007 said: Seems like sheiks and Russian boss are difficult to work with... They dun become millionaires by begin nice guys... Unless you have a proven track record like Wenger or SAF...want more time ? Wait long long lor...they are investors...not buy outta pure love for the club...they want to see ROI. (if anyone argues Wenger no track record...let me just say this...without him buying cheap and polish those gems and the board happy happy go sell all his diamonds...you think Aresnal can afford the new stadium while staying in Champion League year in year out ?) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 you come back to life after one day away............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 12:52 AM, Chucky2007 said: Seems like sheiks and Russian boss are difficult to work with... you think the city owners are difficult to please by sacking mancini? I would have done the same if I am the owner. how much did mancini spend on player transfer fees and salaries? what has he delivered? and why when results didn't go his way, he is blaming everyone but himself? eg - city bosses didn't give him kitty to allow RVP to join neigbhours Man U instead of Man City - players like hart, nasri are often blamed by him when results are not going their way. but he got to remember part of his job is also to manage the players even the only meaningful title he won for the club last year was through a huge dose of good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 12:50 AM, Galantspeedz said: what happen to your avatar? Got sacked by him ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 hmmmm....... Rafa B to the rescue of ManC ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 1:28 AM, Ghostrider said: They dun become millionaires by begin nice guys... Unless you have a proven track record like Wenger or SAF...want more time ? Wait long long lor...they are investors...not buy outta pure love for the club...they want to see ROI. (if anyone argues Wenger no track record...let me just say this...without him buying cheap and polish those gems and the board happy happy go sell all his diamonds...you think Aresnal can afford the new stadium while staying in Champion League year in year out ?) No arguments on that... IMO Wenger is the most successful Manager in the BPL after SAF... every club would love a manager like that and honestly without him Gunners surely would have become gooners long time back... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 1:39 AM, Picnic06 said: hmmmm....... Rafa B to the rescue of ManC ... Yup, Rafa more likely IMO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 On 5/14/2013 at 1:40 AM, Calvin79 said: No arguments on that... IMO Wenger is the most successful Manager in the BPL after SAF... every club would love a manager like that and honestly without him Gunners surely would have become gooners long time back... David Moyes...you forgotten that he had Everton punching above well above its weight. With a transfer kitty a fraction of what Liverpool has...he has managed to lead a team to a consistent top 8 finish. Everton squad is too thin to take part in European football...that is why they never do well in Europe. (I not saying this cos he is new Man Utd manager...cos I Man U fan...but its a fact) I hope he does well in Man U... Praying for him cos I like him as a manager...but fear he screw up at Man U with a small club management...he should be in for a shock when he go ask for players signatures...suddenly he become Robert Head....hahahahaha...becos his namecard is Man U and not Everton. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 a shame they did not win anything this season.. city has a very solid team with very impressive players ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...