Proton_neutron 1st Gear May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 No ah. Many cars copied the i45's tail-lights including Lexus GS (somewhat), and the Mazda 6. So where got outdated design? Kia K5 and i45 totally different styling lor; K5 gives me a feeling like it's a Robot, whereas i45 is like a budget Mercedes CLS/ VW CC - A low roofline 4-door family saloon. If you think the interior is dated, the new facelift model will surprise/ shock you with its toned down centre console, which to me is a disappointment from the pre-facelift Volvo-look a like air-con controls. Wonder why Hyundai did such a thing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 I45. at least they are not use as taxi . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 Whoa lao. K5 now taxi leh. But true lah. I've test driven the 2013 facelifted Hyundai i45 2.0L with 162bhp, and I must say, the engine does sound strained once above 2000rpm. It's just very reluctant to rev, and when it does, it still don't want to go fast. But I suppose the taxis are using the 1.7CRDi, if not the updated 2.0CRDi engines. And the turbo-diesel engines are a gem (I've also tested the Kia Sorento 2.2CRDi with 196bhp). I'm currently driving the Elantra GLS, and I must say above 120kph the whole car is floating away. Can't blame it as it only weighs 1190kg. Pathetic right? I know. So much for good looks. Parking is difficult as well thanks to plenty of blind spot due to the shallow windows and thick C-pillar. I believe the same is with the i45 and K5. Something's gotta pay with design right? Elantra will float above 120? Even worst than altis ar? The car looks heavy and big to me?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged May 13, 2013 Share May 13, 2013 (edited) k5 and i45 are built on the same platforms, no? I got one of the first batch k5 when it was first launched. Pros: Spacious inside, even for my size (1.9m, 100kg). Only front seat base a little short, lacking abit of support for the thighs. Even at my height i didn't have to push the driver's seat all the way back. Big boot Looks great (subjective) Ride quality decent, damping rates pretty good Cons: Engine power average, not very torquey so you gotta rev the nuts off it if you're in a hurry. 6 speed auto likes to shift up early, lazy crusing but coupled with lack of low end torque makes the car feel sluggish when you want to pick up speed, esp on the highway Very numb and vague steering, scarily so after 180 Poor sound insulation for cabin, stock tires were very noisy and you could hear them clearly. Rolling at low speeds sometimes i thought my wheel bearings were gone. Can hear stones and even water bouncing off the undercarriage if you drive through puddles (don't know if they've improved this for the newer models). Also engine noise quite loud if you rev it hard. Burning smell coming through the air-con everytime after revving hard, told C&C but they couldn't find the problem. irritating. Overall a decent and pretty comfy car with loads of room. Only sold it because i had to start travelling up and down to kl regularly and it didn't have enough power and high speed stability for me. Alright for someone who isn't brand conscious and is an easy going driver. Happen know whether these cons also applicable to Mazda6 2L or Camry 2L? These 2 are priced higher. Edited May 13, 2013 by Camrysfa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 (edited) Happen know whether these cons also applicable to Mazda6 2L or Camry 2L? These 2 are priced higher. I believe most of the 2L Asian made Executive/luxury saloons are like that, 2.5L will fit nicely. Edited May 14, 2013 by GLZT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Elantra will float above 120? Even worst than altis ar? The car looks heavy and big to me?! Float not literally lah, but can feel the car like lifting off and losing traction from tires. Haha. What do you expect from a car that weighs just 1190kg and on 15" factory tires and rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishxsr 2nd Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Bro..we are talking taxi in sg la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Float not literally lah, but can feel the car like lifting off and losing traction from tires. Haha. What do you expect from a car that weighs just 1190kg and on 15" factory tires and rims? Wondering when facelift for elantra, will they increase the weigh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Wondering when facelift for elantra, will they increase the weigh? Hyundai Korea actually launched the facelift for Elantra; LED tail-lights and Projector style headlights. No weight increase though. The K3 is also this light apparently. But Kia's engineers do know their job luh; I bet it'll be noticeably quieter, and better to drive (less chassis flex and body roll). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Hyundai Korea actually launched the facelift for Elantra; LED tail-lights and Projector style headlights. No weight increase though. The K3 is also this light apparently. But Kia's engineers do know their job luh; I bet it'll be noticeably quieter, and better to drive (less chassis flex and body roll). Looks like K3 is better than elantra?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Looks like K3 is better than elantra?! Definitely. Higher OMV, more features. Should be better to drive too lah. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 (edited) Definitely. Higher OMV, more features. Should be better to drive too lah. Haha. Looks like KIA cars are better than hyundai cars?! But dont know why i dont really like the KIA name and logo as compared to hyundai. Not saying that KIA cars no good. Edited May 14, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 (edited) Looks like KIA cars are better than hyundai cars?! But dont know why i dont really like the KIA name and logo as compared to hyundai. Not saying that KIA cars no good. Haha. Can always change out the logo on your own mah. Replace it with 3 rings or your own design or your own face can be done what. Edited May 14, 2013 by Proton_neutron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Haha. Can always change out the logo on your own mah. Replace it with 3 rings or your own design or your own face can be done what. Lol, like this no longer consider stock liao?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Lol, like this no longer consider stock liao?! Considered ah. Just change logo nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 if you like chrome (shiny) go for he i45. I'd vote for optima Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 the full-equipped K5 is really amazing!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 K5 indeed nice car but too bad not very popular here. You dont really find many K5 on the road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...