Another out of context Quote?

no lah this one is taken out of context one lah

that fellow was quoting someone else who said something like when democracy goes to the extent that it imposes the will of the majoirty on the minority, it becomes like gang rape

he makes some sense with the second sentence you put here.

then again, it seems like he is trying to justify pap's brand of democracy with illustration of an extreme example of gang rape.

if we reject pap's socialist democracy doesn't mean we are adopting the most extreme form of freeform democracy. the world is not made up solely of 1 and 0. one who loves to eat, doesn't mean he like to eat turd.

Think hes trying to say democracy with anarchy is bad.

But many miw ppl always believe things should be run the way miw wants. Diversity would lead to chaos.

I beg to differ cos history has shown time n again absolute power corrupts. Democracy is not perfect, but its the best in this imperfect world.

I don't like the way they select extreme examples to try to win the argument.

we don't like pap brand of socialist democracy doesn't mean we embrace the most extreme free form of democracy.

who knows this may be the MIW propaganda machine working to test the social media responses.

at the end of the day, if they can do enough to discredit this platform, more may choose to be converted to stick to the traditional print media for the so called "truth". could be a crucial test before the next GE IMHO.

Edited by Xefera

A democracy is nothing without mechanisms to protect the interests of the minority - rape is an example of "Tyranny of the Majority"

Why is that so hard to understand and glean from Zainudin's quote? Seriously, I read all the posts (and there are a lot) saying things like

"Zainudin supports rape"

"or

"Zainudin doesn't support democracy"

And just shake my head in bewilderment -

In any democracy, for it to succeed, there must be balance between the wishes of the majority, the protection the minority and balance between "what is good for us" and "what we want". Zainudin (IMHO) was simply trying to bring forward that idea for discussion.

What interests me more is if there is a subtext with what he is saying as regards the Malaysian Election, the protests and the "tyranny of the majority" to enact any sort of action there.

HWZ already talking about this yesterday.

fancy a MP using gang rape to describe democracy.

well, i'm sure there is no other example more apt than gang rape for commoners like us to relate democracy to.

cos we are constantly getting F in the arse

Maybe he trying to be deep and intellectual by quoting Goodkind (want to be intellectual write your own) but now backfired.

You'd think by now these public figures would have realised that they need to be careful with what they say/post because a) the general public is not very bright and doesn't seem to read past the first few lines and b) there are many people out there just waiting to jump on their cases.

PAP ppl shld avoid posting any comment or opinions on FB... doesnt work well for them

similar yo KBW's recent.....oh well, maybe they shd not speak at all

Think hes trying to say democracy with anarchy is bad.

But many miw ppl always believe things should be run the way miw wants. Diversity would lead to chaos.

I beg to differ cos history has shown time n again absolute power corrupts. Democracy is not perfect, but its the best in this imperfect world.

Yep, in a "pure" democracy, the decision of the majority trumps all -

But any democracy must be balanced by rules to protect the interests of the minority for it to succeed and flourish (I assume you are using anarchy to mean the absence of rules?)

no lah this one is taken out of context one lah

that fellow was quoting someone else who said something like when democracy goes to the extent that it imposes the will of the majoirty on the minority, it becomes like gang rape

peasants who boh tak cheh won't know what he's quoting from... only those who read, will know.

then again... when he's addressing to peasants, shouldn't he use something that can be easily understood (and not misunderstood)?

imo... quoted out of context or not, imo, this is a FAIL.

Edited by Solar

But what is true democracy?

I think even in ancient Greece, true democracy was never performed. It was theorised, but not wholly practised.

Singapore is not a democracy, we are closer to being a republic with leanings towards various political thinking. Sometimes, we become so emotionally charged towards our goals that we end up missing it.

similar yo KBW's recent.....oh well, maybe they shd not speak at all

They shld outsource all comments/ script writing in social media to PR professionals..

oh wait, baey was a MD in Hill & Knowlton right? [laugh]

try to act elite and atas maybe? say something not everyone understands?

imo, failure with communication skills.

one of the important aspects is to make sure your audience know what you are trying to deliver across to them. otherwise it is a FAIL

peasants who boh tak cheh won't know what he's quoting from... only those who read, will know.

then again... when he's addressing to peasants, shouldn't he use something that can be easily understood (and not misunderstood)?

So now MPs must cater to the lowest common denominator?

To my mind that is very very sad/ When the day arrives that every single statement has to be calculated so as to avoid any possible offence is the same day that people stop talking, discussing and exchanging ideas and start mouthing empty statements that mean nothing.

Which is a bad thing - it is only when people put something of themselves out there, that we can understand them and get a better grasp of what they offer. I'd much rather have Zainudin posting a statement that we must think about, than he retires into himself, runs away from facebook and hides.

And what is so wrong with saying that a democracy requires rules and protections for the minority for that democracy to succeed? It's hardly a controversial thought, nor one that is difficult to grasp.

Elites who didnt read Terry goodkind book wont know what he talking about lah.

his novel show what both extreme could do.

Anyway, this proof that Facebook is not a good thing. no one know how to use it properly.

be it peasant, elites, or genius. all kenna...

or maybe, the only thing that is fair in the world is face book. [lipsrsealed]

try to act elite and atas maybe? say something not everyone understands?

imo, failure with communication skills.

one of the important aspects is to make sure your audience know what you are trying to deliver across to them. otherwise it is a FAIL

yeah. perhaps better to go back to XO carrot cake type of communication. Easier for low class ppl like me to understand

But what is true democracy?

I think even in ancient Greece, true democracy was never performed. It was theorised, but not wholly practised.

Singapore is not a democracy, we are closer to being a republic with leanings towards various political thinking. Sometimes, we become so emotionally charged towards our goals that we end up missing it.

I am not sure what the great philosophers say is a true democracy.

To me - it means that the wishes of the majority prevail. Full stop.

So gang rape - in that instance, would be a true democracy - the wishes of the majority (in this instance the rapists) have prevailed.

Most of us would agree however, that a "better" view of democracy is that the interests, rights etc of the minority are "reasonably" protected.

I am not sure what the great philosophers say is a true democracy.

To me - it means that the wishes of the majority prevail. Full stop.

So gang rape - in that instance, would be a true democracy - the wishes of the majority (in this instance the rapists) have prevailed.

Most of us would agree however, that a "better" view of democracy is that the interests, rights etc of the minority are "reasonably" protected.

actually, if we examine it.. all political ideals when pursue to the max will have disadvantages.

the best is still roja here and there to find the meeting point.

he makes some sense with the second sentence you put here.

then again, it seems like he is trying to justify pap's brand of democracy with illustration of an extreme example of gang rape.

if we reject pap's socialist democracy doesn't mean we are adopting the most extreme form of freeform democracy. the world is not made up solely of 1 and 0. one who loves to eat, doesn't mean he like to eat turd.

No lah, in fact he subtely saying the opposite [sly]

He want to say something but yet cannot say

So use trick lor

Donno which policy he unhappy :huh:

For eg: 6.9 - is it a case of imposising majority will on minority?

Don't want to say much wait Kena subversion catch by mata [sweatdrop]