On 6/11/2013 at 11:22 PM, SPT27 said:

Many pple like myself oso thinking will come down by 2014/15

My boss tell me, it will only go up up n up

Cos their motive is to make singaporeans take public transport

City like hk oso very seldom majority got cars

Sg really tok kong, majority >21 got car Liao

My sis is one gd strawberry haiz

I doubt the coe price will come down much even in 2014/15. Cause like you said, their plan is to make people to take public.

the public transport here is like sh*t.

have to wait for 2-3 mrt train to pass then finally got chance to board.squeeze like sardine and breakdown like nobody biz and still they want to force people to take public transport?

these people should wake up their fxxking idea.

  On 6/12/2013 at 12:46 AM, Porkerchong said:

have to wait for 2-3 mrt train to pass then finally got chance to board.squeeze like sardine and breakdown like nobody biz and still they want to force people to take public transport?

Actually it is normal and common to wait for 2-3 trains in order to board during peak hours, even in other countries la. The only differences is how long is the interval between the 2-3 trains?! [:p]

absolutely. i have tried the morning peak mrt (people go to work) in seoul and taipei.

singapore situation is far less compare to these 2 countries. i don't even need to mention tokyo ... you can imagine that

On 6/12/2013 at 12:49 AM, 13177 said:

Actually it is normal and common to wait for 2-3 trains in order to board during peak hours, even in other countries la. The only differences is how long is the interval between the 2-3 trains?! [:p]

  On 6/12/2013 at 12:53 AM, Wt_know said:

absolutely. i have tried the morning peak mrt (people go to work) in seoul and taipei.

singapore situation is far less compare to these 2 countries. i don't even need to mention tokyo ... you can imagine that

taipet mrt

[rolleyes]

On 6/11/2013 at 11:05 AM, Hydrocarbon said:

Yep! Every seller of course wants a high selling price. But some are quite deluded. Met a lancer glx seller, car got into minor scrapes, never groom, got bird s--t on the car (park outside their landed property), and want a similar price to dealer, maybe less 1k or so. The engine not so good, and they also cannot assist with anything else, so I told my friend, go find other cars better.

Thanks for the input on Lemon Law! [thumbsup]

Dunno if all dealers does this...but the workshop I go to...they have regular cars that dealers send to them for servicing...repairs etc...minor repair before they are put up for sales. So dealers do make an afford to make the car presentable...just dun expect them to do major repairs for you.

Some even go to the extend to change tyres (2nd hand ones).

On 6/12/2013 at 12:02 AM, Wt_know said:

kind of agree with you that there is no reason for govt to soften the coe

1. high coe = high income

2. high coe = only the rich can drive (minority)

3. high coe = can say promote public transport

4. high coe = high inflation = can easily brush off saying if you are not buying a "new" car you are not affected

5. high coe = can say is an effective tool to control car population, high coe = less congestion ... LOL

high get higher .... it's not going to come down easily unless there is a HUGE trigger point like Lehman collapse or SARS that freak the world out

i not so smart, its my boss. hahhahaha kind of agree with him

so, me will be out of car by 2016

maybe got to go take 2A, pgm4 andy lau hahahhaah

On 6/12/2013 at 12:34 AM, 13177 said:

I doubt the coe price will come down much even in 2014/15. Cause like you said, their plan is to make people to take public.

so sad but i choose to move on

taiwanese n hk can do without cars

y r we so special???

jus getting used to me nia hor

im not a cry baby hahhaaa

On 6/11/2013 at 9:39 AM, JaneF said:

Just keep calm and buy new cars can oreddy. [:p]

And some more buy new car no drama one. Used car sibei zhuay drama one.

On 6/12/2013 at 1:55 AM, Ghostrider said:

Dunno if all dealers does this...but the workshop I go to...they have regular cars that dealers send to them for servicing...repairs etc...minor repair before they are put up for sales. So dealers do make an afford to make the car presentable...just dun expect them to do major repairs for you.

Some even go to the extend to change tyres (2nd hand ones).

The dealers that I went down to shop for cars with my friends, when they take in the car, they send to do grooming. Not all will do servicing, but sometimes they will change timing belt (if older cars) and then say that previous owner changed it, so we can save time, and justify the price like that.

Major repairs, no la, if the car bang until mad, they probably wouldn't take in, unless ex-owner repair and sell off.

What I get annoyed with, is direct sellers, try to get similar price as dealers, but never do similar work. So, how to justify the price?

  On 6/12/2013 at 12:53 AM, Wt_know said:

Precisely, even though there are even much more people taking train during the peak hours in those countries, but the train interval is so much reliable and faster. Till now i dont understand how come the train operator here dont realise this underlying problem here?! Only until recently then they realised and tried to remedy the issue?! [:/]

On 6/12/2013 at 12:46 AM, Porkerchong said:

If you take public transport during peak hours, when going home, that is NORMAL. I can accept that.

  On 6/13/2013 at 12:29 AM, Simplecar said:

If you take public transport during peak hours, when going home, that is NORMAL. I can accept that.

they are paid the world highest salary and still make the commuters suffer.

this is not acceptable.

On 6/12/2013 at 10:13 AM, Hydrocarbon said:

The dealers that I went down to shop for cars with my friends, when they take in the car, they send to do grooming. Not all will do servicing, but sometimes they will change timing belt (if older cars) and then say that previous owner changed it, so we can save time, and justify the price like that.

Major repairs, no la, if the car bang until mad, they probably wouldn't take in, unless ex-owner repair and sell off.

What I get annoyed with, is direct sellers, try to get similar price as dealers, but never do similar work. So, how to justify the price?

Its normal mah...seller want to sell at highest price possible...and buyer wanna buy at lowest price possible. Wanna put a non realistic...can put the car there till the cows come home...

was wondering, I just got my car a year ago when COE was at $58k for 1.6cc below.

And due to the change of family plans and living condition, we don't really need the car for our daily transportation anymore. And looking at how the COE is going up still and will ever be (because gahmen wants us to go public), Do any of you think it is a good time to sell my car...say in 2 years time? Assuming the COE hovers at $60k-$70k+.

I know the chances of me having to top up a few thousands more when selling is high, but is it possible? will there still be demands from dealers for used car given the situation above?

Thanks in advance for the reply guys

On 7/23/2013 at 9:09 AM, Gnatab said:

was wondering, I just got my car a year ago when COE was at $58k for 1.6cc below.

And due to the change of family plans and living condition, we don't really need the car for our daily transportation anymore. And looking at how the COE is going up still and will ever be (because gahmen wants us to go public), Do any of you think it is a good time to sell my car...say in 2 years time? Assuming the COE hovers at $60k-$70k+.

I know the chances of me having to top up a few thousands more when selling is high, but is it possible? will there still be demands from dealers for used car given the situation above?

Thanks in advance for the reply guys

In 2 years time, COE prices has a high probability to be lower than today's prices due to the higher quota. We have the minister's assurance and statistics for this. The quota will gradually increase every 6 months. We only see a very slight increase for the 2nd half of 2013. In 2 years, there will have been 4 revisions. Have not taken into account economic recessions, which historically is a sure thing every x years.