Used car price went up? How? How? How?

TJX

don't give chance to used car dealer

when they take in your old car ... talk until your car is a piece of junk ... take in your car is like doing national service

when they sell you used car ... talk until it's the best deal in town including jb and batam

They are doing their job lah...the lower the squeeze you...the more margin they can make...

If you think they squeeze you...dun sell to them lor...

Its like selling stuff on internet...some bargain $10 off the asking price they also shiok...not as if they need the $10...

I sell myself before...7 early 8 early people call you to ask for price lah...then some come test drive for fun...burn my precious Sat n Sun....and then there are those before test drive price is ok...after test drive bua kia lang TL asking for 5K off...waste time.

So dealer have to entertain some of these clowns for you leh...but seriously...if they wanna strike a chunk off your price...dun sell to them lor.

i saw an ad which states 28.8k. go down liao the person sell me 30.8. well, i didn't deal

Don't buy. I hate it when people aren't honest. Usually when I go down to the dealers, I will bring along my iPad, and check the prices they quote with the one online. Some will give pattern and say that the price is to entice the buyers down. I just say thanks and walk off.

They are doing their job lah...the lower the squeeze you...the more margin they can make...

Its like selling stuff on internet...some bargain $10 off the asking price they also shiok...not as if they need the $10...

I sell myself before...7 early 8 early people call you to ask for price lah...then some come test drive for fun...burn my precious Sat n Sun....and then there are those before test drive price is ok...after test drive bua kia lang TL asking for 5K off...waste time.

So dealer have to entertain some of these clowns for you leh...but seriously...if they wanna strike a chunk off your price...dun sell to them lor.

I rather buy from direct seller, coz at least you can see who the person is, get a feel for whether the person knows cars or not. If they don't know how to take care of cars, means maybe never proper servicing or stuff like that, I rather not buy. If they had sold to dealer, the dealer would send the car to be cleaned nicely and it will look good, but other than a short test drive, you wouldn't know whether how the car was previously.

if really really like the car and want to pull the trigger liao

insist on getting the car to your own workshop for assessment especially wear & tear parts that like almost up lorry and need immediate replacement, accident, flood, etc

i'm wiling to pay for own assessment

I rather buy from direct seller, coz at least you can see who the person is, get a feel for whether the person knows cars or not. If they don't know how to take care of cars, means maybe never proper servicing or stuff like that, I rather not buy. If they had sold to dealer, the dealer would send the car to be cleaned nicely and it will look good, but other than a short test drive, you wouldn't know whether how the car was previously.

+1, tried selling car myself, end up entertaining lots of low ballers, and for 2nd dealers, usually I would go to those reputable ones, Performance Premium Select, Wearnes Pre-owned. Pricewise is slightly higher but you could nego for a higher trade in value. Most importantly, hassle free.

i believe all depends on how desperate you wanna sell ur car.. if u plan to sell, advertise earlier.. set a acceptable price and stick to it..

i think most dun have a fix figure to sell.. then later it's very hard to sell.. those low ballers come..

if u fix a price, reasonable price for u.. and buyer then u just stick to it..

normally u can just straight away tell the dealer.. no such amount, i won't sell, so dun waste ur time and my time.. [cool] [cool]

if really really like the car and want to pull the trigger liao

insist on getting the car to your own workshop for assessment especially wear & tear parts that like almost up lorry and need immediate replacement, accident, flood, etc

i'm wiling to pay for own assessment

Yup, I do it too. Got a family friend working as a car mechanic for a long time, so he will check those stuff for the car before anything. And that's before deposit or anything, coz the assessment is ownself pay. But aiyah, no matter what, you will still see dealer put "Lady Driver, use only for sending kids to school, or Tai tai driver". I wouldn't say all is faked, but I also wouldn't trust.

So for meeting the previous owner, it's just a preference. Can better, cannot then nvm lor.

Who say that prices for used cars would drop when the new MAS ruling for car loans ?

Hence, dont assume. Prices can still shoot up as proven in the recent COE exercises. There are a lot of cash rich consumers in Singapore.

+1, tried selling car myself, end up entertaining lots of low ballers, and for 2nd dealers, usually I would go to those reputable ones, Performance Premium Select, Wearnes Pre-owned. Pricewise is slightly higher but you could nego for a higher trade in value. Most importantly, hassle free.

most of these wearns, premium automobiles all mostly is volvo, audi, bmw, merc. not relly friendly for people hunting for jap makes.

Who say that prices for used cars would drop when the new MAS ruling for car loans ?

Hence, dont assume. Prices can still shoot up as proven in the recent COE exercises. There are a lot of cash rich consumers in Singapore.

Just observe the total number of bids in each CAT during each round after the loopholes were closed.

A lot of people are assuming that the 100% high loans orders were holding up the COE prices but yet after 5 rounds the total number of bids are still hovering around 800 for CAT A and B.

That shows that orders are still coming in even with the high COE prices around $60k.

Hopefully the last big jump will cool down the orders a little.

Or maybe not?

Some are worried about additional restriction after first car or further quota cut in August?

I think car brands here like Mercedes, BMW and VW are keeping the high COE prices due to demand for their cars.

New E200 just launched.

I've been seeing more 1-Series on the road (116i and 118i using 1.6T engine)

VW Golf Mark 7 also selling like hot cakes.

That's why demand for the limited COE supply is still relatively high. Singaporeans are really rich, so you don't have to worry about COE prices falling anytime soon. These 800-bidders/ category A&B / bidding can jolly well afford 100% cash to buy the car de. To them able to take a 50% loan is a bonus. Of course last time 100% loan, they were mixing in the masses of quota allocation.

By the way, there are still so many used cars at Turf City leh. Still waiting for buyers to take over.

I think that there is still loopholes for finance. Dun forget 100% loan is still avail for non MAS finance companies and also new leasing scheme. Ppl still pay the high prices just as long they get to own a car. Some maybe desperate to get one quickly before MAS intervene.

i believe all depends on how desperate you wanna sell ur car.. if u plan to sell, advertise earlier.. set a acceptable price and stick to it..

i think most dun have a fix figure to sell.. then later it's very hard to sell.. those low ballers come..

if u fix a price, reasonable price for u.. and buyer then u just stick to it..

normally u can just straight away tell the dealer.. no such amount, i won't sell, so dun waste ur time and my time.. [cool] [cool]

You can put whatever price you want...still will have low baller one lah. Just some low baller are straight forward...others will choot pattern nia.

Straight forward type will ask you to lower from the start...choot pattern one true colour will come out after test drive.

I tried to weed out those kachow one by asking them if the price is ok. If not ok, then no need to test drive liao. But still will kenna. I tried selling my own car twice...once managed to sell and the 2nd time...surrender...give the dealer earn...cos this chap come want to buy...but his loan application rejected. I LPPL...LPPL...back to square one.

if demand is 2x > supply ... how can price drop? tan ku ku ...

new car dealer knew it, used car dealer also knew it

see who blink first ... buyer always blink first .... ALWAYS

if demand is 2x > supply ... how can price drop? tan ku ku ...

new car dealer knew it, used car dealer also knew it

see who blink first ... buyer always blink first .... ALWAYS

In a way that could be a good thing too?

It means that economy is still going strong and everyone is securely employed. [:)]

Not that everyone is happy that the car prices went up across the board last weekend. [:p]

even economy crash ... coe will not crash because of very limited coe supply

each month only got a total of < 1000 coe for cat a + b + e

even economy down ... there is easily 1000 rich people or not so affected by poor economy in a 5M population to buy car every month

lta cannot control the world economy ... one thing for sure they can control is coe quota

i would say economy has little direct impact on coe ...

In a way that could be a good thing too?

It means that economy is still going strong and everyone is securely employed. [:)]

Not that everyone is happy that the car prices went up across the board last weekend. [:p]

Lol same like me, I tried to sell it myself at 1k more than dealer price in the end I get silly questions. I rather dump it to agents and throw away all my maintainance records and warranty from workshop.