University degree not VITAL for success!

People will agree with him UNTIL they cannot land their "dream" job OR kenna bypass for promotion.

But then again...the elites are having less shoulders to step on to climb ?? Why need to tell pple degree is as good as toilet paper when you dun have a job (which is true lah).

I say...get a degree...it maybe toilet paper now...but when the right opportunity comes around...then you go search for toilet paper is too late liao.

but how come non scholars CEOs can run their companies more successfully than scholars in the end if potential everything is factoring when choosing..i mean till date statically

Edited by Freestylers09

  On 5/6/2013 at 6:38 AM, Turboflat4 said:

It is true that a Uni degree may not be "vital" to success, but it takes a very special sort to be hugely successful in the absence of formal higher education.

While it's true that quite a few businessmen can get by without much formal education, tech genius "dropouts" (or at least those without tertiary education) like Bill Gates and even Sim Wong Hoo are vanishingly rare. Not everyone can fill these shoes.

For the rest of us, formal education is a rather important crutch of sorts. It doesn't guarantee anything in life, but we are almost certainly better off with it.

Disregard nonsensical proclamations from MIW who don't put their money where their mouth is. For me to take his words seriously, KBW's kids should have forgone a Uni education (and still emerged successful).

i believe most, if not all, Ministers' kids are receving foreign education........

On 5/6/2013 at 6:58 AM, Freestylers09 said:

but how come non scholars CEOs can run their companies more successfully than scholars in the end if potential everything is factoring when choosing..i mean till date statically

i suppose the drive and motivation is different when running your own company?

even within the civil service, every year there are so many safos scholar and president scholar, not everyone will be the CDF or COA or minister.

along the way some of those will drop out of the race due to performance issue or different motivation or what ever reason.

going back to your question, of the successful ceo running their own company, statistically, 95% of all start ups will fail. the so called example of ceo who sucessfully run their own companies are actually 1 in 20. not a very high rate of success by any means. for every suceessful business owner you read about , there are 19 more that fail. just remember that.

On 5/6/2013 at 6:58 AM, Donut said:

i believe most, if not all, Ministers' kids are receving foreign education........

daddy can afford mah [laugh]

besides, most of the time, they will ride on daddy's connection to secure a prestigious scholarship. [laugh]

i mean non self business CEOs

compare to scholars CEOs

of coz i not comparing self made CEOs ,that one no nid degree also can..lol $100+ u can be 1..lol

On 5/6/2013 at 7:13 AM, Freestylers09 said:

i mean non self business CEOs

compare to scholars CEOs

of coz i not comparing self made CEOs ,that one no nid degree also can..lol $100+ u can be 1..lol

as in successful corporate CEOs who are not scholars? in singapore context?

any example?

On 5/6/2013 at 7:20 AM, Chrispie said:

he forgot to add that Attitude and drive is more impt than degree.

attitude and drive can't get you thru the door for the interview. [laugh]

i totally agree though. it's more important to have a good attitude as well as work hard. i'll have no qualms employing a poly grad if he/she demonstrates willingness to learn.

True.. one must enjoy a bit of life... But a degree will give your resume a bit more oomph and having many skills means that you might be more valuable to your employer...

  On 5/6/2013 at 8:14 AM, MikeT said:

i totally agree though. it's more important to have a good attitude as well as work hard. i'll have no qualms employing a poly grad if he/she demonstrates willingness to learn.

are you willing to give him a starting pay as good as a Degree holder??

  On 5/6/2013 at 7:20 AM, Chrispie said:

he forgot to add that Attitude and drive is more impt than degree.

dunno....but tink i would prefer a doctor, lawyer or engineer wif a degree than juz an attitude. [laugh]

  On 5/6/2013 at 9:14 AM, Soya said:

dunno....but tink i would prefer a doctor, lawyer or engineer wif a degree than juz an attitude. [laugh]

good one. [thumbsup]

[smash][smash][smash]

u can have a degree n masters n if u r desperate for a job, can declare u r PSLE only when applying for cleaner job.

Ask those Jia Liao bees not to send their kids to overseas university to study. Somemore take scholarship from our pockets

On 5/6/2013 at 3:15 AM, Little_prince said:

last time my time from poly to uni is top 5% nia.

now it's top 20%.

if they really wanna let poly grads into uni then it'll overwhelm the system and resources of the university... and the quality of the teaching will drop exponentially.

sorry even now still the same, less than 20% in my class get into local U. I came from Business School and my class is the best performer among the whole cohort with highest gpa average. so tell me is it top 20% now?