Infant milk powder recommendation

Panerex77

Don't be stingy on the little $$ from Medisave... Always remember so difficult to use those $$, might as well upgrade max to private hospital and also buy seperate plan for baby, don't be fooled by the FREE plan from Aviva. If kid develop any illness, then no more coverage for baby lifetime after he turn 18 and the FREE plan expire

Private hospital and government hospital is like Audi and VW service centre... Both are expensive and technologically both competent, however one is overwhelmed by the sheer number of cases day in and out, one has lesser customer... Of course service will be better.

Personally I don't go government hospital... By the time wait and manage to see doctor, may see god first bec waited toooooo looong bec toomany patients. Of course bec insurance max liao so the bill difference is complimentary from insurer

i got ntuc enhanced incomeshield for my child. Probably will look at some life insurance when she gets older. defray some of the cost for her.

Breastmilk too late to help you liao lah. Now, it can only give u erection not wisdom :D[:p]

Thanks bro for taking my comment light-heartedly.... ^_^

thanks all here..i finally got time to reply now...really really tiring for a first time dad here...

currently i already have free PLan 2 AvivaShield coverage because myself and wife are under Aviva Shield Plan 1. The bane abt the free plan 2 is that it does not cover PTE hospitals.

Shd i ask my PD whicch hospital she usually operates in?

And if it is a PTE one, then i go on with buying a separate shield plan for the baby?

I have the beansprout pillow too. But no matter how tight i swaddle him, he still eventually to free himself from the swaddle, with his 2 hands raised high high next to his ears. So the risk of placing the beansprout pillow is that he may somehow flip the pillow over and cover his face...

sianz...to swaddle or not to swaddle?

By swaddling, he could be wasting his precious sleeping time trying to struggle out from the swaddle.

By not swaddling, wonder what dangerous things he will do when our eyes are not him.

if you can afford it, always go for PD and not those neighbourhood GP for checkups and stuffs. PDs are more experienced with newborn/toddler symptoms.

Eg, my 2-yr-old been having running-nose on and off for past 2 mths. during the two visits, the neighbourhood GP diagnosed as flu/cold and prescribed med. symptoms went away after awhile but came back again. 3rd time, we went to our PD who managed to narrow it down to allergy after asking some questions and observations on my boy. we were advised to avoid certain food and it cured the running nose without even any med.

for the first 12 mths, always be over cautious and visit the PD whenever the baby is not well as their immune sys is still not strong. don't "wait and see how" whenever things like fever happens, go straight to the PD. my wife told me about one of her friend's newborn who had a fever and they waited a few days, making do with GP's prescription before going to the PD. the newborn ended up with some brain damage by the time the PD recommended hospitalisation. it's a very sad case.

do check if your company medical insurance covers your child (mine does). it helps to pay for majority of the outpatient visits and immunisation shots. if you're taking up paid insurance, check the T&C to ensure it pays for these minor stuffs which can be very frequent and adds up to a lot of money. some insurance only pay for big ticket item like hospitalisation and is generally not relevant 99% of the time, although you will still need coverage of this type.

we didn't use pillow for the first 9 mths as we're worried about potential suffocation issue. newborns are generally ok to sleep without pillow. we let our boy wear mittens to avoid him scratching himself. they do scratch themselves very easily on the face. struggling out of the swaddle is ok but we still swaddle anyways. if on aircon, our PD advice is to set it to 26degrees.

hope this helps.

Anyone knows if we should leave baby pimples alone or to apply certain cream suitable for babies? Understand baby pimples developed due to hormones passed from thr mother to infant just before birth.

Only a Few days old.. better be bring to hospital if suspect anything wrong...go to pte if u have means... cos kkh waiting time is long and many sick kids there... not sick later become sick...I usually head down to raffles hospital.

If I am not wrong, too young use ear thermometer not accurate. .

But raffles hospital got adult germs and viruses... [rolleyes]

Babies might not be able to heck it.

Anyone knows if we should leave baby pimples alone or to apply certain cream suitable for babies? Understand baby pimples developed due to hormones passed from thr mother to infant just before birth.

my boy had some "white heads" on his nose from birth. we left them alone and they naturally disappeared after some time.

Congrats to a new daddy!!!! Recently like alot of newborns ard me haha

Even I went to a wine shop, the boss also joked babies born this year are said to have leadership qty

I'm thinking, u meant all the babies these year r leaders, then who's the worker???

Hahaha

Breastmilk is said to be better for immunity n makes bb stronger

But mummy tends to be more tired lor

Too long ago oreadi, isn't s26 under similac infant range?????

My boy oso all the way similac I tot s26 then similac then different stages

Formulae milk with rite qty wil last 4 hrs like my boy ba

40 ml too little??? Pls chk your milk instructions or doc

But it oso depends on the child hor

Recently got 2 nb from my sils

One can slp long the other with 150 ml oso last 1+ hr

I duno but I'm thinking something wrong n over feeding

Hahaha

Anyway it's shag but totally worth it later stage

Jia you

To glantspeed bro,

Mt A, is that simon from bb n children??

Mine during infant stage oso by his care then if something more serious

Doc angs from tmc

All r great docs

Thanks all for your helpful comments and feedback.

Btw do you buy infant milk from Ntuc/ cold storage, or from neighbourhood shops (decent aircon environment) which are selling at Lower prices?

I compared and the distributors and place of manufacturing is all the same. Safe to go for cheaper options?

Thanks again

Btw do you buy infant milk from Ntuc/ cold storage, or from neighbourhood shops (decent aircon environment) which are selling at Lower prices?

I compared and the distributors and place of manufacturing is all the same. Safe to go for cheaper options?

Thanks again

no promotions or discounts on milk powder for infants up to 6 months.

as the manufacturers have to support breastfeeding

so no difference where or when you buy

Thanks again

I always buy from the neighbourhood medical hall, its cheaper (quite significantly).

Congratulations to your newborn, I use the milk of the month that the hospital using, but my daughter still prefer mummy's milk. But very tiring for the mum to feed almost 1hr every 2-3hrs, so we use formula milk to supplement at night.

For me, it's only only 3rd day home and I already feel the lack of sleep.

We also swaddle the baby, wear mittens to prevent scratches. Bean bags too. Think it helps the baby to have more secure feeling like in the womb.

I set a/c at 26 deg and fan at lowest speed. Enjoy your parenthood. I'm can't wait to go home early now.

I usually buy from ntuc or Cs or giant when there's a promo on

If normal days will be from the medical shop duno ren wat tang

But last x these medical shops carried those formulae from overseas same as super market stocks

Then recently they carry think Malaysia ones while super marts carry is it Finland or I forgot

My boy big oreadi so I think switch to cheap ones ok Liao

If I were to buy for infant, I may buy the overseas one

Do note got one bro mentioned hot water to dissolve milk

Big no no as another bro pointed out

Water must be right before u mix milk in

Test water with skin not jus feel bottle

Feel free to ask Any of the fathers here

But we not pro, we only speaking from our own experience

Hahaha

Thanks again

kim siang medical hall... cheaper and free delivery above $200... and can order online , pampers, milk powder etc

Kim Siang Online Link

clothes, shoes, etc, as long as not makan... i buy from taobao

I usually buy from ntuc or Cs or giant when there's a promo on

If normal days will be from the medical shop duno ren wat tang

But last x these medical shops carried those formulae from overseas same as super market stocks

Then recently they carry think Malaysia ones while super marts carry is it Finland or I forgot

My boy big oreadi so I think switch to cheap ones ok Liao

If I were to buy for infant, I may buy the overseas one

Do note got one bro mentioned hot water to dissolve milk

Big no no as another bro pointed out

Water must be right before u mix milk in

Test water with skin not jus feel bottle

Feel free to ask Any of the fathers here

But we not pro, we only speaking from our own experience

Hahaha

so far test water i use feeling nia [sweatdrop]