What's wrong with today's new condos?

Riverfish

  On 5/7/2013 at 5:22 AM, Galantspeedz said:

siglap V just built finish... finishing touches liao... i think no one stay yet...... that should be showroom.. opposite siglap centre

looks like an industrial building to me

On 5/7/2013 at 2:58 AM, Passat57 said:

Windy Heights' current bank valuation already $1K psf. The newly launched mass market condo around Bedok and Tanamera are going for about $1.5K psf (with 99 years).

what is attractive is the condo is not packed and the surface carpark but abit far to walk to mrt... about 15-20mins

I drive past Siglap V frequently and it is a serious eye sore. On a good day, it looks like a condo in Geylang. On a bad day, it looks like a Malaysian industrial park.

Location wise, the junction is far too busy for any peace and quiet. There are plenty of nice condos in Siglap with lots of character (eg Hacienda) to consider - Siglap V is not one of them.

above 2000 psf for 99 year LH condo liao

Far East opens The Siena for preview

Prices are said to start from $1.28m for a 538 sq ft unit

[sINGAPORE] Far East Organization, which sold seven units of its ultra-luxury development Ferra, is also privately previewing The Siena.

Comprising 54 compact SOHO apartments, unit sizes of The Siena's one to three-bedroom apartments range from 538 to 980 square feet (sq ft).

The majority of the units are two-bedroom apartments to cater to families.

BT understands that prices start from $1.28 million for a 538 sq ft unit, which translates to about $2,380 per square foot (psf).

Edited by Acemundo

On 5/7/2013 at 6:10 AM, Kreampuff said:

I drive past Siglap V frequently and it is a serious eye sore. On a good day, it looks like a condo in Geylang. On a bad day, it looks like a Malaysian industrial park.

Location wise, the junction is far too busy for any peace and quiet. There are plenty of nice condos in Siglap with lots of character (eg Hacienda) to consider - Siglap V is not one of them.

Same feeling generally

On 5/7/2013 at 6:31 AM, Acemundo said:

[sINGAPORE] Far East Organization, which sold seven units of its ultra-luxury development Ferra, is also privately previewing The Siena.

Comprising 54 compact SOHO apartments, unit sizes of The Siena's one to three-bedroom apartments range from 538 to 980 square feet (sq ft).

BT understands that prices start from $1.28 million for a 538 sq ft unit, which translates to about $2,380 per square foot (psf).

Better buy my D9 freehold full facilities condo from me... :D

The Siena's one to three-bedroom apartments range from 538 to 980 square feet (sq ft).

980 sqft for families? Have we become hobbits?

Edited by SLSAMG88

On 5/7/2013 at 8:24 AM, SLSAMG88 said:

lol...and if u try to imagine the inclusion of balconies, planter areas, bay windows and big aircon ledges in the 980ft.. :blink:

  On 5/7/2013 at 7:59 AM, Throttle2 said:

brother, this one district 10 theoretically not much different from your district 9 hor.

anyway, not like I going to buy this one also

Edited by Acemundo

hehe.......from far east le .........what you expect......

they are always first mover in setting prices......

On 5/7/2013 at 8:24 AM, SLSAMG88 said:

1 child per family.

  On 5/7/2013 at 4:47 AM, Alfc said:

I think it boils down to what do you want to acheive in life. Both have its ups and downs.

Investing in property may yield financial gains say 30 years later and give u better retirement finances but it comes at a price for many. That price is the lock-in of your life for the next 30 years servicing that instalment. Forget about early retirement, changing job for less stress/interest, more time for family, constant concern abt job security, allowing wife to stop working to fulfill fully the role of motherhood etc.

On the other hand, buying a HDB (assuming much cheaper instalment) mean being debt free much earlier which frees up one's life option to do the above and be less hang-up over how life sucks if u have to stay in job for next 30 years, like it or not. Of cos, the flip side is the loss of potential financial upside vs a pte property and all the good things associated with higher disposal income later in life to do things you like.

That is why i always believe life is fair, u win some , u lose others. Just which one you choose and dun complain later on. There is no such thing as "zao zi dao" aka "if i know earlier" when people always like to think back...

Ermm.. buying a private property doesn't mean needing to work no day no night and sacrifice family time... There are people who earns in excess of 300k per annum who stays in a hdb with no other properties and have millions of dollars in savings account, there are also people who earn in excess of 300k p.a who lives in a private property, and ahs a few other private properties and have not few millions bit maybe a million or so in savings account. There's no right or wrong, its matter of preference.

However for youngsters who are not 30s who thinks that having private property is sacrificing life, then most likely he will be learning much lesser in future.

Some people who owns private properties are not paying thru their noses... They simply let others pay for them for the next 30years....

  On 5/7/2013 at 5:01 AM, Viceroymenthol said:

By the way, if you are in your 50's or 60's and you wish to do a re-mortgage of your fully paid up bungalow, eg: bungalow worth $15m and you wish to take out a mortgage of $5m, the bank will require you to pay back within a very short tenure. And they will still require income statements. This is what I was told by a mortgage banker.

That's mass market mortgage banking. Talk to your private bankers, for accredited investors, guidelines are different... Some mass mortage bankers knowledge not good, talk to the right ones.

  On 5/7/2013 at 7:59 AM, Throttle2 said:

U wanna sell $3000psf so others how to afford?

alamak.....how come the name sounds so sian ah? :D

maybe after launching Ferra ... they also wanted to use ayrton senna ... but scared tio sue haha .. so become siena lo.

maybe next time got schumacher place also ..

On 5/7/2013 at 5:13 AM, Riverfish said:

A good illustration of my point about not having to lay laminate/timber/whatever floor in your bedroom as your bed already covers the whole area. And you can open/close your curtain without having to get off your bed.

Won't need TV remote either as you can reach your TV panel from sitting in the sofa!

Haha true. So it may not be a bad thing to live in a shoebox apartment. It is suitable for couch potato. Everything is within reach!