What's wrong with today's new condos?

Riverfish

When I compare today's private properties for the mass market with those older ones, I can't help but to notice the disturbing trends:

1) Disproportionate balconies and aircon ledges --- I understand there was that 10% bonus GFA thing but aren't all the building plans supposed to be approved by authority? When you can barely fit a L-shaped sofa in your living room, what do you plan to do with that gigantic balcony? Outdoor dining for all 3 meals in tropical Singapore?

2) Cheaper material --- homo tiles in livng/dining halls and laminate floor in bedrooms?

3) Mini bedrooms -- I've seen 4-bedroom units for <1300 sqf and I was already amazed, and I think newer ones now come with even smaller sizes??? Better still, in that tiny space there are still 4 toilets (incl. the maid WC), one (sometimes two) balcony and at least one big A/C ledge! So why the need to even lay the floor with laminate since it's all gonna be covered by your bed and mini-wardrobe anyway?

4) Convert every inch of open space into a pool --- there is hardly any walking space in many new condos today as it's all taken up by pools, square, round, oval, and you name the shape. I guess all residents are expected to roam around in swimming attire between say, your block and club house and BBQ pits. While I can understand the incentives for developers to be obssesed with bay windows and balconies, what on earth is the incentive for so many pools? Cheaper to build pools than pathways/gardens/play grounds?

Any other unpleasant trends?

Got sunlight/sun shine anot?

Newer HDB flats are shady shady one.

But, can don't buy lor. [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

  On 5/3/2013 at 8:31 AM, Riverfish said:

When I compare today's private properties for the mass market with those older ones, I can't help but to notice the disturbing trends:

1) Disproportionate balconies and aircon ledges --- I understand there was that 10% bonus GFA thing but aren't all the building plans supposed to be approved by authority? When you can barely fit a L-shaped sofa in your living room, what do you plan to do with that gigantic balcony? Outdoor dining for all 3 meals in tropical Singapore?

2) Cheaper material --- homo tiles in livng/dining halls and laminate floor in bedrooms?

3) Mini bedrooms -- I've seen 4-bedroom units for <1300 sqf and I was already amazed, and I think newer ones now come with even smaller sizes??? Better still, in that tiny space there are still 4 toilets (incl. the maid WC), one (sometimes two) balcony and at least one big A/C ledge! So why the need to even lay the floor with laminate since it's all gonna be covered by your bed and mini-wardrobe anyway?

4) Convert every inch of open space into a pool --- there is hardly any walking space in many new condos today as it's all taken up by pools, square, round, oval, and you name the shape. I guess all residents are expected to roam around in swimming attire between say, your block and club house and BBQ pits. While I can understand the incentives for developers to be obssesed with bay windows and balconies, what on earth is the incentive for so many pools? Cheaper to build pools than pathways/gardens/play grounds?

Any other unpleasant trends?

cannot put piano in living room LOL.

yea its called maximizing profits by squeezing everyone on the psf :)

everyone in Sg wants to be a home owner .. what better way than to sell 500sqft at an extremely high psf, just so one can say they are a home owner in Singapore ... ><

you forgot the most important thing .. void areas! you too, can be charged for an area that you can never hope to use!

  On 5/3/2013 at 8:40 AM, Fuelsaver said:

no la .. i went to see 1 apartment .. the owner had 2 grand pianos in the living room (in lieu of a dining table) he even covered the entire apt in soundproof material so he could play his piano anytime he wanted.

pity the guy was asking a stupid price ... until now still on the market for sale ...

if i'm shopping for a condo for own stay, i would only look for those built in the early 2000s

On 5/3/2013 at 8:40 AM, Fuelsaver said:

That's a good one. Was in a showroom one day and I thought left and right, couldn't figure out where to put the piano (mind you it's just an upright piano, not a grand one).

How about limited carpark lot. Gam gam ho one lot per household. Those having 2 cars or more siao liao.

On 5/3/2013 at 8:50 AM, RadX said:

Me looking landed....quite a few nice townhouses coming up

Where?

LCK still got plots meh? :D

sounds shiok sia... i still got long way to smell landed... i finally bought a condo with my future wife. but less than 1000sqft. but ok for 2 of us ... (and maybe 1 kid down the road first)

Yes, many things wrong

4 bedder condo smaller than 3 bedder HDB

wanna have a room for each of 3 kids but living space much smaller than HDB

might as well stay put

[hur]