Recommend Dim Sum makan place

Windwaver

On 5/5/2013 at 11:03 PM, WTF said:

swee choon is opp the Mcdonald's at Jln Besar......

Yup this place is good especially after clubbing.

On 3/20/2014 at 1:51 PM, Darthrevan said:

黑社会 @ VivoCity dim sum is pedestrian at best..I only like their 流沙包 which is my favorite amongst all in Sinkapor..their Peking Duck is crispy but its not a dim sum dish..so to speak

Royal China @ Raffles Hotel has above average dim sum but the service is lacklustre & sluggish

Lei Garden @ Chijmes is above average in dim sum and excellent in service

Thanks. Will try Lei Garden next. I only had a department lunch there once very long ago.

So far i like Royal China the most. But convenience wise, i usually eat Peach Garden.

On 3/20/2014 at 2:50 PM, Little_prince said:

Personally my fav are wah lok. Lei garden.

These 2 still the best and most consistent

I like wah lok's glutinous rice. Other than that, everything else not bad only.

On 3/21/2014 at 1:44 AM, Icedbs said:

Yan Teng at St Regis. Not only nice, but look aesthetically pleasing as well.

quite good but not really value for money I feel.
  On 3/21/2014 at 2:50 AM, Yrvsport said:

I only know the Halal Tang Tea House at Simpang Bedok serve one of my favourite DimSum Halal From Hongkong....

halal dim sum just doesn't cut for for me.

Char siew isn't char siew if it isn't made from pork. Chicken siew mai just tastes weird too...

On 3/20/2014 at 10:41 AM, Vhtfhwlego said:

Any reviews on Asia Grand Restaurant @ Odeon Towers?

Beijing duck is one of the best I had - $38 ++

My folks say the fish foe & crab glutinous rice is also very good - middle $45++

Ordered a wanton noodle for my boy, can say one of the better ones out there.

The best dim sum dish, goose liver dumpling.

On 3/23/2014 at 5:26 AM, Vhtfhwlego said:

Beijing duck is one of the best I had - $38 ++

My folks say the fish foe & crab glutinous rice is also very good - middle $45++

Ordered a wanton noodle for my boy, can say one of the better ones out there.

The best dim sum dish, goose liver dumpling.

that's true. forgot about this gem. agree about the beijing duck.

I got it! We lost the art of dimsum because we no longer enjoy it at our own sweet time.

Dimsum is supposed to be eaten stress free. Not worrying if CTE would be jammed or if you can find a car park lot at Ngee Ann City. Or even a table after you've made your reservations. And the crazy crowd on weekends just drives it over the limit. Bad service, busy waiters. Eating dimsum is no longer enjoyable.

I suppose a leisurely, own sweet time dimsum at most places will be very enjoyable. Right, this is what i am going to do in the next few weeks. A weekday morning dimsum.

One of my fav dim sum breakfast is Tak Poh, about once every 2 weeks i visit here and weekend better as easier to find parking lot along temple st and more importantly its affordable and wallet friendly :D

post-61366-0-38267600-1395594657_thumb.jpg

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

On 3/21/2014 at 3:30 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Anyone tried before in west coast recreation centre?

If you are referring to the restaurant right next to the carpark, I remember it was so-so only (no cravings thereafter!). Price was reasonable.

It is more seafood than tim sum.

On 3/23/2014 at 5:13 PM, Volvobrick said:

If you are referring to the restaurant right next to the carpark, I remember it was so-so only (no cravings thereafter!). Price was reasonable.

It is more seafood than tim sum.

Oh i see cos i thinking to go there this coming weekdays, i think there is one good one in orchid club by peach garden, that one i ate there twice and nice quality of dim sum

Just tried Dian XIao Er @ TBP last week. Verdict - 1st & Last time :mellow:

On 3/23/2014 at 5:08 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

One of my fav dim sum breakfast is Tak Poh, about once every 2 weeks i visit here and weekend better as easier to find parking lot along temple st and more importantly its affordable and wallet friendly :D

hmmm, never hear before but thanks for the heads up. Shall try it sometime

On 3/23/2014 at 4:57 PM, Bavarian said:

I got it! We lost the art of dimsum because we no longer enjoy it at our own sweet time.

Dimsum is supposed to be eaten stress free. Not worrying if CTE would be jammed or if you can find a car park lot at Ngee Ann City. Or even a table after you've made your reservations. And the crazy crowd on weekends just drives it over the limit. Bad service, busy waiters. Eating dimsum is no longer enjoyable.

I suppose a leisurely, own sweet time dimsum at most places will be very enjoyable. Right, this is what i am going to do in the next few weeks. A weekday morning dimsum.

which good places have weekday morning dimsum? Got recommendations?

On 3/23/2014 at 4:57 PM, Bavarian said:

i doubt you can find such places for leisure enjoyment, not even in HK.

but then the dim sum place here mostly open 10-11am, not 8am (except for that 24-hour one) [:(]

On 3/24/2014 at 1:30 AM, Jman888 said:

i doubt you can find such places for leisure enjoyment, not even in HK.

but then the dim sum place here mostly open 10-11am, not 8am (except for that 24-hour one) [:(]

Then we shall go at 10-11am and slowly enjoy ourself [:)]