Rayleigh 6th Gear June 4, 2013 Share June 4, 2013 (edited) That's besides the point...think about it S'pore guys who serve NS during 1990 to 2012, what practical skills did you pick up in NS? Im afraid i have to disagree with you. Back then I was a specialist in combat vocation. Yes the training has no directly practicality to my job. But the experiences I gained enabled me to mature faster, shouldering heavy responsible and experience people management skill. Skillset like planning for exercise in ensuring all SOP are in order, execution of machinery and yet ensuring the safety of my men, able to motivate my men and complete the exercise together, able to overcome all adversaries in meeting the exercise schedule.......and many more.....aren't those skills important in life? Share share leh, what was your vacation in the army. Many bros should be able to help you to recall and retrace the work/experience you have gained. Edited June 4, 2013 by Rayleigh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged June 4, 2013 Share June 4, 2013 I have always maintained that fulltime ns men should be paid more than last time when it was $200 to $300 . What is the range of allowance now for fulltime ns men ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 4, 2013 Share June 4, 2013 Im afraid i have to disagree with you. Back then I was a specialist in combat vocation. Yes the training has no directly practicality to my job. But the experiences I gained enabled me to mature faster, shouldering heavy responsible and experience people management skill. Skillset like planning for exercise in ensuring all SOP are in order, execution of machinery and yet ensuring the safety of my men, able to motivate my men and complete the exercise together, able to overcome all adversaries in meeting the exercise schedule.......and many more.....aren't those skills important in life? Share share leh, what was your vacation in the army. Many bros should be able to help you to recall and retrace the work/experience you have gained. Yup, it wasn't the combat / technical skills that mattered, but learning to take responsibility, leading others, managing time and projects. I think these were more important than the actual technical skills in practical day to day life. Also learnt how to eat snake, 125, amongst others. And the most important rule of all. Army's golden rule. Do anything, don't ...................... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BrianT Neutral Newbie June 4, 2013 Share June 4, 2013 Yup, it wasn't the combat / technical skills that mattered, but learning to take responsibility, leading others, managing time and projects. I think these were more important than the actual technical skills in practical day to day life. Also learnt how to eat snake, 125, amongst others. And the most important rule of all. Army's golden rule. Do anything, don't ...................... Acherly is 'can do anything, don't kena caught'. But SWEE AH! After my IPPT nxt week I go there makan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Wa....prosperity giving....hehehe "China Rice" sibo Dunno leh. But still nice to see pple still got heart in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaneF Clutched June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Our NSmen all like severely underpaid... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LennyLeo Neutral Newbie June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Our NSmen all like severely underpaid... 'Like'? Eh xiao jie, we are FARKING underpaid ok... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DanialH Neutral Newbie June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 'Like'? Eh xiao jie, we are FARKING underpaid ok... 100% agreed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Im afraid i have to disagree with you. Back then I was a specialist in combat vocation. Yes the training has no directly practicality to my job. But the experiences I gained enabled me to mature faster, shouldering heavy responsible and experience people management skill. Skillset like planning for exercise in ensuring all SOP are in order, execution of machinery and yet ensuring the safety of my men, able to motivate my men and complete the exercise together, able to overcome all adversaries in meeting the exercise schedule.......and many more.....aren't those skills important in life? Share share leh, what was your vacation in the army. Many bros should be able to help you to recall and retrace the work/experience you have gained. He's oreadi banned U still reply to him??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 'Like'? Eh xiao jie, we are FARKING underpaid ok... Ty say its not pay. We r only given an allowance cos we doing our duty as sporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DanialH Neutral Newbie June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Ty say its not pay. We r only given an allowance cos we doing our duty as sporeans. Den dat means...our mps all not doing duty as Singaporeans lar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Dunno leh. But still nice to see pple still got heart in SG. True. When a driver gives way to me after i signal, I usually acknowledge back by waving my hand. BTW, recently i do see more drivers showing kindness. As said, it takes both hands to clap. It is never too tall or too low or too difficult or too late to say thank you or sorry or in kind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomar Neutral Newbie June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 True. When a driver gives way to me after i signal, I usually acknowledge back by waving my hand. BTW, recently i do see more drivers showing kindness. As said, it takes both hands to clap. It is never too tall or too low or too difficult or too late to say thank you or sorry or in kind. Must spread the kindness around especially these days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 True. When a driver gives way to me after i signal, I usually acknowledge back by waving my hand. BTW, recently i do see more drivers showing kindness. As said, it takes both hands to clap. It is never too tall or too low or too difficult or too late to say thank you or sorry or in kind. Ya more courtersy on e road wil make our daily runs more bearable. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Den dat means...our mps all not doing duty as Singaporeans lar Theirs also allowance but much much bigger. [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 5, 2013 Share June 5, 2013 Acherly is 'can do anything, don't kena caught'. But SWEE AH! After my IPPT nxt week I go there makan. Haha, ya. Learn a lot of taichi skills in there too. A lot of life lessons that will stick with me forever, hopefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Girl_powerful Neutral Newbie June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 Practical ways to reward our National Service boys! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...