Farrer Road Flyover Death trap

Mockngbrd

i was scared my wheel will drop inside the longkang if the grill gives way..

if the whole axle and wheel come off the car then seow leow [laugh]

Perhaps they could spend some money to have these gratings comply to EN124 and be of non-rock versions.

i'm pretty sure the LTA guys will comply to the standards. (otherwise, they could be opening themselves lawsuits if those gratings give way, cause accidents etc)

however, knowing and complying doesn't really mean they get it right all the time.

esp when some of the people who design the roads, exits, entry etc dun really go on those road they design on a daily basis.

some/most things will go according to plan, as per design n build.

but many a times, the actual build is another. with that, it will need corrective action/fix to make it good.

i travel that road quite frequent

u can avoid the grill and yet stay in the lane

the lane quite big actually

yup, drive there everyday on the way home. got to say that the lane is very BIG, can drive more on the left and still in the lane.

and also, there's TP on the overhead bridge almost everyday. what for speed? drive 60-70 even on drain grills still safe IMO

Do you guys really think speeding is the only reason for accidents? Or have we been conditioned to think this way?

I reckon this is what really happened:

1) Driver got shocked by the vertical oscillation when the tyres hit the drain covers, and abruptly applied brakes. As a result, weight is transferred forward and the rear tyre carries less weight.

2) At the same moment, the road curves to the right and the lightened rear tyres loses traction. The car oversteers towards the central divider and crashes into the barrier.

Can the above happen to a normal driver who drove there for the 1st time? Remember, the road is built for normal commuters who have the sole intention to travel to and fro their destinations. Are we letting our ego get in the way when we exclaim that those who crashed are simply kayu? Don't forget our mother, father, sister, brother, wife, aunties, uncles, son and daughter may one day take that road too.

Is it the RESPONSIBILITY of LTA to design, build and maintain roads that are usable and safe for normal drivers. Should they set a desired speed limit, design the road to accommodate or should they design roads whatever manner they like then set a speed limit to suit?

Edited by Powersteer

Do you guys really think speeding is the only reason for accidents? Or have we been conditioned to think this way?

I reckon this is what really happened:

1) Driver got shocked by the vertical oscillation when the tyres hit the drain covers, and abruptly applied brakes. As a result, weight is transferred forward and the rear tyre carries less weight.

2) At the same moment, the road curves to the right and the lightened rear tyres loses traction. The car oversteers towards the central divider and crashes into the barrier.

Can the above happen to a normal driver who drove there for the 1st time? Remember, the road is built for normal commuters who have the sole intention to travel to and fro their destinations. Are we letting our ego get in the way when we exclaim that those who crashed are simply kayu? Don't forget our mother, father, sister, brother, wife, aunties, uncles, son and daughter may one day take that road too.

Is it the RESPONSIBILITY of LTA to design, build and maintain roads that are usable and safe for normal drivers. Should they set a desired speed limit, design the road to accommodate or should they design roads whatever manner they like then set a speed limit to suit?

Nice theorycrafting, my previous posts in this thread says it all. And "can the above happen to a normal driver who drove there for the 1st time", i don't believe so if he/she was driving within the limits, being observant (so they wouldn't have gone into the depressions in the first place) and barring poor vehicle maintenance (worn out shocks, worn out/improperly inflated/mismatched tires).

Like i said, so many people drive through that lane day in day out, why only the special few cannot handle it?

Edited by Myxilplix

yup, drive there everyday on the way home. got to say that the lane is very BIG, can drive more on the left and still in the lane.

and also, there's TP on the overhead bridge almost everyday. what for speed? drive 60-70 even on drain grills still safe IMO

really got TP?....wat time of the day? (share share info leh, hehe)

just drive outwards a bit to avoid the metal...whats so difficult?

And also one thing to add - there is always a patch of yellowish alagae kind of wet patch on CTE 1st tunnel towards havelock, right lane....that one is dangerous especially during rainy days...if go over it can feel right tyres lose traction...

Edited by Ooosh

Drive along that road everyday when I was in poly. No problem with it at all cuz that lane is wider than the other lanes. More than enough space to avoid the drain covers while still keeping well within the lane markings.

Nice theorycrafting, my previous posts in this thread says it all. And "can the above happen to a normal driver who drove there for the 1st time", i don't believe so if he/she was driving within the limits, being observant (so they wouldn't have gone into the depressions in the first place) and barring poor vehicle maintenance (worn out shocks, worn out/improperly inflated/mismatched tires).

Like i said, so many people drive through that lane day in day out, why only the special few cannot handle it?

please re-read post one i don't understand how hundreds become a SPECIAL FEW

So you agree going into the depression can give the driver a shock? Are all drain covers meant to create a depression to shock the driver, or are they supposed to be flushed with the surrounding road surface? So you think that drivers should be alert and drive their cars on the left edge of the lane to avoid the covers ... and the lane is wide enough anyway??

So you think its correct to design and build roads that you need to take avoidance actions?? Maybe LTA can take note of your points and build more roads like that [laugh]

Heads up to all - I have seen accidents there an average of about once a week.

From minor ones to major car pile ups with injuries.

And its always at the same section and lane in the same direction.

I have gone to the LTA and my MP. 2 years and hundreds of accidents later -

Edited by Powersteer

Blaming the driver for speeding is the easy way out for the TP.

Just like they blamed the Silkair pilot for committing suicide when the plane fell. Eventually the whole world found out Singapore just likes to blame the easiest victim to aviod doing proper investigation.

That is what you get for voting the same lightning over and over. They get very complacent.

Kudos to Mockingbrd for bringing up this thread> Lawyers for those accidents should file a class action.

I too often pass that stretch but I completely aviod the metal drain grills. They are a death trap.

Even at slow speed and esp wet you may skid and lock up in the event you apply your brakes.

Keep the letters to LTA about this. Eventually tey will wise up.

There is also another stretch with the same issue on the other side of the road just after the juction to the golf club.

i tot it was the same as benjamin sheares bridge until i check google map and realised it is because i always drive very close to the divider [laugh]

1st Gear

I got worried over this gratings too, and tried not to drive too close to the sides. But driving at the posted speed of 70km/h, created another stress from tailgaters.

No worry, they will overtake from your left when time is ripe. [:p]

Like what some pointed out, it's easy to avoid those drain covers and yet not drift into the left lane, even if u r driving a big SUV going at 90-100. That's where driving skill comes into play.

However, some people panic when they take the corner at a speed they are not confident and encounter these "bumpy" drain covers and accidents happen as a result of their last minute evasive actions.

My advise is if u r not confident, just don't use that lane. Don't have to die die use the right most lane and slow down so much just because u r scared. Give way to those who are more confident. But some Sinkies ego too big to do that lah. Everyone thinks they are the best drivers.

The trick is, to look far enough ahead. Your car will always steer where you look. This is a MUST for bikers, else will crash big time. For drivers, it's still applicable though not as critical as bikers.

Average one accident a week? How many thousands of drivers use that stretch in a week? The percentage of those encountering problems is miniscule, i'm sure there are other stretches of road that average more accidents/week than this place (curves outside mbs come to mind).

This sounds harsh but why pander to incompetent and complacent drivers? Why pander to the special few? There are three lanes on that road, if they are not confident, feeling tired or distracted why are they in the rightmost lane?

Driving a vehicle is a goddamn big responsiblity but alot of people seem to take for granted their right to operate 1-2 tonnes of metal around around public roads and potentially place other people in danger. Maybe it's because they've had their license for a long time or have just spent so much time and money to get the license or perhaps paid so much money to buy a car that they feel a sense of entitlement that they do not need to be responsible anymore. Got problem handling road conditions that so many people can handle without issues everyday? Nvm blame LTA, pointing fingers at others is always easier than pointing fingers at themselves.

Oh yah like somebody mentioned, benjamin sheares bridge also has derepessions.