Farrer Road Flyover Death trap

Mockngbrd

Oh yah like somebody mentioned, benjamin sheares bridge also has derepessions.

Not only depressions, it's higher up, got sea, got very tall buildings, the barricade wall is plastered with dizzy looking luminous yellow green paint, makes driving very groggy leh..... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

i tell where is farking dangerous n LTA can b blamed... that farking chicane along zion rd outside great world city due to some construction... bloody crazy so many drivers confused n cutting across lane markers coz the turning is so weird... nobody expects a formula 1 chicane along that road... hahahaha

Can practice nego bends.

Just use 2nd lane if not confident, leave lane one to those who are used to the road conditions there. It's not the road or car, it's the speed and the driver

when i drive there i dont even worry about the drain & I use lane1 mostly rain or shine so wonder whats all this fuzz for

LOL so many roads like that affected due to cuntruction. At Tampines (turn into Safra) the lanes shifts one lane over after the traffic lights, perfectly aligning with the next lane....BUT most driver dont know cause there is no lane markings at the junction. Also got filter lane to turn right so it adds to the confusion.

So naturally, those in the outer lane will end up in middle lane, those in the middle lane will drive straight and will end up in lane 1, thinking the lane to their right before the traffic lights will turn right. the lane 1 drivers will have to jam brake.

And even with full lane marking, most drivers dont know how to follow the lane..

Edited by Ungtiong

hmm... usually around 5pm when i go home ba... morning around 930 sometimes can see. most epic encounter was got caught by over head bridge camper on a sunday morning. lols

Beg to differ..driven there before many times..to Siam the drains n move closer to then explains is quite dangerous..will be too near to the car on the side..best advice is dun drive that lane..or drive n slow down alot

hmm... usually around 5pm when i go home ba... morning around 930 sometimes can see. most epic encounter was got caught by over head bridge camper on a sunday morning. lols

sunday is a favourite choice for the catchers....i kenna warning letter b4 n it was also a quiet sunday morning at 9 am on PIE....

All my warning letters are from Sunday... PIE.. towards tuas at 8-9am in the morning.

Nowadays.. guai guai liao.. 80km/h 2nd lane all the way.

Just a heads up to all drivers. I use that road every weekend and have to agree, whoever designed lane 1 is a blockhead.

http://www.bmw-sg.com/forums/bmw-singapore...death-trap.html

For those lazy to click thru:

Heads up to all - I have seen accidents there an average of about once a week.

From minor ones to major car pile ups with injuries.

And its always at the same section and lane in the same direction.

I had a look at the flyover at that spot and I found a series of metal grills

to evacuate water. I have at one time almost suffered the same fate but my

CSC5P held it together. And I was travelling at 70kmh.

I have gone to the LTA and my MP. 2 years and hundreds of accidents later -

NO ACTION.

The best I could do is to warn all the guys here ..... be careful when you use

this flyover in the direction of Holland Road (Downwards).

The red line marks the area where it has occured for the last 2 years.

The sound of the accidents wakes the whole area up ....... ususally the vehicle would screech for 3 secs then ram into the wall ... bounce off followed by a skid or spin. Then another vehicle or 2 would finish it off by ramming into the first vehicle.

Those gahmen agencies ...... did nothing. Quite sickening sometimes when I see the TP come to clean up the mess. Shouted at the driver. Scold him why speeding. Driver said he did not speed. TP said cannot be ...... no reason why he can lose control if below speed limit there. Arguments between TP and driver quite loud. And those living near that area can hear clearly.

You sure the accident was caused by the grilles-drain covers?

Both accidents had the USUAL tyre screeching then silence (sometimes if I happen to be at my window and I hear the screech - I can catch glimpse of the car like its doing ballet on stage) followed by the bang (metal on wall - deeper tone).

Sometimes you get a few more bangs (metal to metal as in cars crashing into that car - higher tone). Normally you would see the car facing the opposit direction in the end. I experienced it personally as well ....... But I managed to control my car.

To answer your question - yes. The metal grills because the screeching alludes to a lost of traction. And being that rubber has bad traction on metal and in this case strips of metal (contact patch of tire is not full) arranged in the same direction as the vehicle's travel route on .... Next to the divider - And that the cars always seems to end up hitting the divider ..... It points to those grills.

End of the day ...... Look at the number of accidents at that spot since I started the post ....... And it just keeps happening.

Yesterday i drove past, just saw the entire flyover closed off because of another accident.

I drive there everyday bo taiji leh...

So far did anyone die? If not, Govt won't take action one lah. :D

Some minister's wife or child or some relative must die first then action will be taken la.

One of my transporters told me the speed limit for heavy vehicles was imposed because a tipper truck rammed into some minister's wife. Not sure how true it is.

i'm pretty sure the LTA guys will comply to the standards. (otherwise, they could be opening themselves lawsuits if those gratings give way, cause accidents etc)

however, knowing and complying doesn't really mean they get it right all the time.

esp when some of the people who design the roads, exits, entry etc dun really go on those road they design on a daily basis.

some/most things will go according to plan, as per design n build.

but many a times, the actual build is another. with that, it will need corrective action/fix to make it good.

LTA comply doesn't mean contractors will comply. That's the difference.

Walao. As if the farking hydroplaning on that flyover not bad enough, they still have to install metal longkang covers dat bleddy big.

can someone explain why i drive there everyday at high speed over the grill but i don't feel lose of control?

i mean, in terms of physics, as long as you are constant speed, the grill should not affect right? but if suddenly let your turbo kick in AKA hard acceleration, then the grill being less friction will slip your tires right?